We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best place in Monteverde/Santa Elena” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Fonda Vela

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Fonda Vela
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Monteverde
Bedford, TX
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place in Monteverde/Santa Elena”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2010

From the moment we checked in to the time we checked out we were stunned by Fonda Vela. It is the furthest down the road from Santa Elena but that turned out to be a great thing. The views from our room was incredible and the room itself was enormous and very comfortable. The hotel has it's own hiking trails which are wonderful. There is so much wildlife to see just on the hotel grounds. The restaurant was very good but expensive. The pool and hot tubs were gorgeous and very comfortable. The bar was great. The restaurant/bar is absolutely gorgeous with wonderful views all around. A cab from Fonda Vela to Santa Elena is only $5 dollars or you could walk up and down hills for about 25 minutes. It was comfortable and lovely. The staff was incredible and by the second day they knew our names. It's a must go.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElizaPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    244
    107
    30
    31
See reviews for
174
296
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2010

Expecting a normal sized hotel room, we got a very large one about 32ft long and 18ft wide with large window, armchairs, tables etc etc. Good bathroom, too, plus good view from the balcony. Grounds extensive with good swimming pool (covered but open-sided) and changing facilities. Unfortunately the breakfast is rubbish, although the small restaurant at lunchtime is okay, and the expanded version for night diners is far better and recommended. Some good walks in the area, and the cloud forests are not far away. However, the town is a bit distant. Overall pretty good if you can get a suite.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PPET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuart,florida, usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2010

The room was dirty and so moldy smelling that i we couldn't stay--and we'd just come from 3 days in the jungle, so it wasn't a matter of having unrealistic expectations. The furniture and bedding is very old and worn, the sheets had holes, the blanket had cigarette burns and there were dead bugs piled in the corners of the bathroom. We told the manager the room was dirty and we'd like our money back but he refused. He did offer us another room but the mold was so bad we opted not to stay. Don't accept that you have to put up with a dirty or moldy room just because "you are in the rain forest." There are many rainforest hotels in Costa Rica that are affordable, clean, and well kept.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kls1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2010

My husband and I, both in our early 30s, stayed at Fonda Vela for 2 nights in early June. The hotel is nice and comfortable, but not luxurious. We had a junior suite, which was massive and had huge windows. It was away from the main building of the hotel and very quiet.

We had 2 breakfasts (not included in the rate) and one dinner at the hotel's restaurant. All the meals were okay, but nothing spectacular. We would recommend going to Chimera in town if you're looking for better food.

We did a private guided tour of the Monteverde Cloud Forest, which was arranged by the hotel. They worked with a number of guides, but the one we got that morning (Tano) was excellent. If you can request Tano, do so! He was a joy to be around and showed us so many different animals in the forest.

There is not much around the hotel. Santa Elena has many more restaurants and souvenir shops, but we were very glad that we chose to stay in Monteverde. The main part of Santa Elena is made up of 4 very compact blocks and I imagine staying there would have meant dealing with lots of noise and people.

The hotel was also useful in arranging for transportation to Manuel Antonio.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LBNY78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2010

This was a nice basic hotel. Nothing fancy. The rooms were large and clean, the TV had almost no reception. The grounds are very nice. When we were there it was very quiet. No internet anywhere but on the lobby computers. Breakfast not included which we thought it was. A very ecofriendly place. We had dinner in the restaurant one night and it was very good. Average for prices for the food. Didn't see any animals on the property but they could have been there but we never saw any.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank toothdk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2010

The Fonda Vela provided probably one of the nicest rooms we stayed in in Costa Rica. We had one of the very large superior rooms close to the restaurant block on the first floor overlooking the pool. Though as others have mentioned, this gleaming new pool complex, however fancy, is something of an eyesore - fine in a country club context, but a bit incongruous in the cloud forest. We nevertheless enjoyed the pool and the hot tubs. Otherwise, a pleasant stay. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The restaurant was no better than average, and as usual swamped by tour groups. Wi-fi only in reception, not the rooms, and no-one seemed to be able to get the public PCs working.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cozumel
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2010

Beautiful place in the woods to be in touch with nature and the outdoors and be pampered at the same time. The staff is phenomenal--friendly, helpful, and very personable. It is quiet and there are lots of birds and animals to see right around the hotel. There are hiking trails right on the property and it is very close to the Cloud Forest and close to town.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChuchaCaperucha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
1.6 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
1.1 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
1.2 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#9 of 23 in Monteverde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fonda Vela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fonda Vela

Property: Hotel Fonda Vela
Address: 1km past the Monteverde Cheese Factory and 2km before the Monteverde Reserve., Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Fonda Vela 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fonda Vela Hotel is located in beautifulMonteverde, famous for its Resplendent Quetzals,Three-wattled Bellbirds, an abundance of orchids anda gorgeous cloud forest. The climate is refreshing,often referred to as "The Eternal Spring". The views ofthe Gulf of Nicoya from the hotel’s 1400-meterelevation are spectacular. Monteverde is an idealdestination for relaxing and enjoying the wonders ofthe tropics. A visit of at least two nights inMonteverde is recommended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Fonda Vela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fonda Vela Hotel
Fonda Vela Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing