We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room with fun location”
Review of Hotel Fonda Vela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Fonda Vela
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Reviewed 10 August 2010

Monteverde was our last stop in Costa Rica and we opted for the Fonda Vela, while other locations were more luxurious, Fonda Vela was a very nice hotel. Our room was gigantic, with it's own upstairs. Bathroom was clean but maybe slightly dated. The hotel went to great lengths to be eco friendly,which we both appreciated.
The best thing about this hotel was actually the location, we had a wide variety of animals very close by and were able to hike on our own to find monkeys (which everyone said was rather unusual) SLOTHS (my favorite) and a bunch of other wonderful creatures.
The staff was very friendly and the food in the restaurant was pretty good. (try the Tortilla Soup!)
We were able to also walk to a great restaurant down the hill (Italian place, I forget the name) and to the bio reserve up the hill.
If experiencing nature is your deal and not super fancy hotels then this would be a great place for you.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Watsonsmom37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (707)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

450 - 456 of 707 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2010

From the moment we checked in to the time we checked out we were stunned by Fonda Vela. It is the furthest down the road from Santa Elena but that turned out to be a great thing. The views from our room was incredible and the room itself was enormous and very comfortable. The hotel has it's own hiking trails which are wonderful. There is so much wildlife to see just on the hotel grounds. The restaurant was very good but expensive. The pool and hot tubs were gorgeous and very comfortable. The bar was great. The restaurant/bar is absolutely gorgeous with wonderful views all around. A cab from Fonda Vela to Santa Elena is only $5 dollars or you could walk up and down hills for about 25 minutes. It was comfortable and lovely. The staff was incredible and by the second day they knew our names. It's a must go.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElizaPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2010

Expecting a normal sized hotel room, we got a very large one about 32ft long and 18ft wide with large window, armchairs, tables etc etc. Good bathroom, too, plus good view from the balcony. Grounds extensive with good swimming pool (covered but open-sided) and changing facilities. Unfortunately the breakfast is rubbish, although the small restaurant at lunchtime is okay, and the expanded version for night diners is far better and recommended. Some good walks in the area, and the cloud forests are not far away. However, the town is a bit distant. Overall pretty good if you can get a suite.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PPET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

The room was dirty and so moldy smelling that i we couldn't stay--and we'd just come from 3 days in the jungle, so it wasn't a matter of having unrealistic expectations. The furniture and bedding is very old and worn, the sheets had holes, the blanket had cigarette burns and there were dead bugs piled in the corners of the bathroom. We told the manager the room was dirty and we'd like our money back but he refused. He did offer us another room but the mold was so bad we opted not to stay. Don't accept that you have to put up with a dirty or moldy room just because "you are in the rain forest." There are many rainforest hotels in Costa Rica that are affordable, clean, and well kept.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kls1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2010

My husband and I, both in our early 30s, stayed at Fonda Vela for 2 nights in early June. The hotel is nice and comfortable, but not luxurious. We had a junior suite, which was massive and had huge windows. It was away from the main building of the hotel and very quiet.

We had 2 breakfasts (not included in the rate) and one dinner at the hotel's restaurant. All the meals were okay, but nothing spectacular. We would recommend going to Chimera in town if you're looking for better food.

We did a private guided tour of the Monteverde Cloud Forest, which was arranged by the hotel. They worked with a number of guides, but the one we got that morning (Tano) was excellent. If you can request Tano, do so! He was a joy to be around and showed us so many different animals in the forest.

There is not much around the hotel. Santa Elena has many more restaurants and souvenir shops, but we were very glad that we chose to stay in Monteverde. The main part of Santa Elena is made up of 4 very compact blocks and I imagine staying there would have meant dealing with lots of noise and people.

The hotel was also useful in arranging for transportation to Manuel Antonio.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LBNY78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2010

This was a nice basic hotel. Nothing fancy. The rooms were large and clean, the TV had almost no reception. The grounds are very nice. When we were there it was very quiet. No internet anywhere but on the lobby computers. Breakfast not included which we thought it was. A very ecofriendly place. We had dinner in the restaurant one night and it was very good. Average for prices for the food. Didn't see any animals on the property but they could have been there but we never saw any.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toothdk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2010

The Fonda Vela provided probably one of the nicest rooms we stayed in in Costa Rica. We had one of the very large superior rooms close to the restaurant block on the first floor overlooking the pool. Though as others have mentioned, this gleaming new pool complex, however fancy, is something of an eyesore - fine in a country club context, but a bit incongruous in the cloud forest. We nevertheless enjoyed the pool and the hot tubs. Otherwise, a pleasant stay. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The restaurant was no better than average, and as usual swamped by tour groups. Wi-fi only in reception, not the rooms, and no-one seemed to be able to get the public PCs working.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
1.5 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,135 reviews
1.1 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
264 reviews
1 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 20 in Monteverde
1,372 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
#3 of 7 in Santa Elena
717 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fonda Vela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fonda Vela

Address: 1km past the Monteverde Cheese Factory and 2km before the Monteverde Reserve., Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range: £104 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Fonda Vela 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fonda Vela Hotel is located in beautifulMonteverde, famous for its Resplendent Quetzals,Three-wattled Bellbirds, an abundance of orchids anda gorgeous cloud forest. The climate is refreshing,often referred to as "The Eternal Spring". The views ofthe Gulf of Nicoya from the hotel’s 1400-meterelevation are spectacular. Monteverde is an idealdestination for relaxing and enjoying the wonders ofthe tropics. A visit of at least two nights inMonteverde is recommended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Fonda Vela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fonda Vela Hotel
Fonda Vela Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing