We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DON'T STAY HERE!!!! RIP OFF!!!!”
Review of Hotel Fonda Vela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Fonda Vela
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“DON'T STAY HERE!!!! RIP OFF!!!!”
Reviewed 8 September 2010

DON'T STAY HERE!!!! This hotel is a total rip off. I asked them if breakfast was included and they told us it was. Then on our last morning there they charged us over $15.00 per person for breakfast everyday. Everyone who was checking out at the same time was just as surprised as us. The front desk guy was a total jerk about it and very threatening when I argued about paying! We were on our honeymoon and I didn't want to take any more of our time dealing with the problem so I just paid for it. DON'T STAY HERE!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scummins17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    260
    119
    35
    34
See reviews for
189
321
12
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

Monteverde and the cloud forest is located hours up a bonejarring gravel road in the center of Costa Rica, and a frequent destination of travellers. We (parents and 3 children, ages 22, 20 and 14) went in July of 2010 for two nights/three days. Took two rooms. I'm glad we went, but wouldn't go agian. The cloud forest is interesting, and we had a long and ultimately sucessful hunt for the elusive quetzel, but there isn't much else to do in Monteverde. Average little town. The hotel was probably one of the better ones there, and close to the forest. But it is rustic and inelegant, much like summer camp in character. The rooms in the two story block are not as nice, and you should ask for a nicer one elsewhere, which we did. Eat out at one of the nearby restarants, rather than in the hotel. Staff was cooperative, but not cheerful. Grounds were nice, but not spectacular. If I did this two week trip to Costa Rica over again, I'd spend more time elsewhere, and skip Monteverde, particularly if one is pressed for time (we weren't, but spoke to others who were doing the country in a week or less).

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Familytraveller31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2010

We spent one night at the Fonda Vela. We had a nice sized room, split into separate living and sleeping areas (1 queen and 1 single). The hotel was very quiet and reminded me of a hotel in the Smoky Mountains. The room was clean and the grounds very beautiful. Though we did not use it, the swimming pool is covered, allowing for use even when it rains--very convenient!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chugginsone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burbank, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2010

Monteverde was our last stop in Costa Rica and we opted for the Fonda Vela, while other locations were more luxurious, Fonda Vela was a very nice hotel. Our room was gigantic, with it's own upstairs. Bathroom was clean but maybe slightly dated. The hotel went to great lengths to be eco friendly,which we both appreciated.
The best thing about this hotel was actually the location, we had a wide variety of animals very close by and were able to hike on our own to find monkeys (which everyone said was rather unusual) SLOTHS (my favorite) and a bunch of other wonderful creatures.
The staff was very friendly and the food in the restaurant was pretty good. (try the Tortilla Soup!)
We were able to also walk to a great restaurant down the hill (Italian place, I forget the name) and to the bio reserve up the hill.
If experiencing nature is your deal and not super fancy hotels then this would be a great place for you.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Watsonsmom37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, TX
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2010

From the moment we checked in to the time we checked out we were stunned by Fonda Vela. It is the furthest down the road from Santa Elena but that turned out to be a great thing. The views from our room was incredible and the room itself was enormous and very comfortable. The hotel has it's own hiking trails which are wonderful. There is so much wildlife to see just on the hotel grounds. The restaurant was very good but expensive. The pool and hot tubs were gorgeous and very comfortable. The bar was great. The restaurant/bar is absolutely gorgeous with wonderful views all around. A cab from Fonda Vela to Santa Elena is only $5 dollars or you could walk up and down hills for about 25 minutes. It was comfortable and lovely. The staff was incredible and by the second day they knew our names. It's a must go.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElizaPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2010

Expecting a normal sized hotel room, we got a very large one about 32ft long and 18ft wide with large window, armchairs, tables etc etc. Good bathroom, too, plus good view from the balcony. Grounds extensive with good swimming pool (covered but open-sided) and changing facilities. Unfortunately the breakfast is rubbish, although the small restaurant at lunchtime is okay, and the expanded version for night diners is far better and recommended. Some good walks in the area, and the cloud forests are not far away. However, the town is a bit distant. Overall pretty good if you can get a suite.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PPET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuart,florida, usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2010

The room was dirty and so moldy smelling that i we couldn't stay--and we'd just come from 3 days in the jungle, so it wasn't a matter of having unrealistic expectations. The furniture and bedding is very old and worn, the sheets had holes, the blanket had cigarette burns and there were dead bugs piled in the corners of the bathroom. We told the manager the room was dirty and we'd like our money back but he refused. He did offer us another room but the mold was so bad we opted not to stay. Don't accept that you have to put up with a dirty or moldy room just because "you are in the rain forest." There are many rainforest hotels in Costa Rica that are affordable, clean, and well kept.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kls1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
1.5 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,081 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 20 in Monteverde
1,297 reviews
1.2 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Trapp Family
Hotel Trapp Family
#9 of 20 in Monteverde
617 reviews
1.1 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fonda Vela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fonda Vela

Property: Hotel Fonda Vela
Address: 1km past the Monteverde Cheese Factory and 2km before the Monteverde Reserve., Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Fonda Vela 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fonda Vela Hotel is located in beautifulMonteverde, famous for its Resplendent Quetzals,Three-wattled Bellbirds, an abundance of orchids anda gorgeous cloud forest. The climate is refreshing,often referred to as "The Eternal Spring". The views ofthe Gulf of Nicoya from the hotel’s 1400-meterelevation are spectacular. Monteverde is an idealdestination for relaxing and enjoying the wonders ofthe tropics. A visit of at least two nights inMonteverde is recommended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Fonda Vela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fonda Vela Hotel
Fonda Vela Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing