We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I would skip this hotel altogether” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Fonda Vela

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Fonda Vela
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Monteverde
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I would skip this hotel altogether”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2010

First of all the trip from the airport is worse than I could ever imagine up a dirt road with no barriers. 2 hours of agony to hit a paved road, then off on another dirt road to the hotel far away from town and unable to walk anywhere other than the hotel property. Rooms are dates, bugs on bedspread. Holes in the blankets and linens that were thread bare. Bathroom was disgusting and difficult to get in and out of the shower. No balcony. Mud everywhere you walked. Bar was never opened and service at the restaurant was horrible. Never again!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marguerite F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    252
    114
    34
    34
See reviews for
180
315
11
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2010

After driving from LaFortuna to Monteverde, Hotel Fonda Vela was a most welcome sight! You must drive for over one hour on the only road to Monteverde that is totally unpaved, full of incredible pot holes (and that is putting it mildly) but well worth the trip! I think my nerves were shot after spending all that time bumping along and when we arrived at Fonda Vela the nice guy at the desk offered me a drink on the Hotel! ha! We had a Junior Suite at the very end of the 2nd level which was so large you almost got lost in it! The room was extremely clean with a sitting area that was floor to ceiling windows that opened onto a lovely garden with many amusing statues and amazing flowers and trees. The grounds of Fonda Vela are surrounded by a nice little hiking trail. The grounds themselves have many hidden/tucked away little sitting areas to sit and enjoy the quiet and the nature. Fonda Vela has a great covered pool and 2 hot tubs on grounds. Unfortunately it was a little too chilly for us to get in but we enjoyed sitting at one of the many tables set up there anyway. They have a fantastic changing area downstairs also. The dining room is really cool with again floor to ceiling windows. The staff would seat you by the windows and place bananas on the statues outside which would entice many birds and wildlife that you could enjoy while having breakfast. Dinners were fantastic! Presentation and quality could not be beat. Staff also were wonderful and helped us along with our minimal Spanish -not that it was necessary to speak the language but we were enjoying trying! The hotel reception area had 2 free computers with internet access to use. Hotel Fonda Vela is right down the road from the Hummingbird Reserve which is free and not to be missed. I am a hummingbird fan and to say I was in my glory is an understatement! I actually even petted a hummer while he was perched! Hotel Fonda Vela was beyond my expectations and I would recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank April58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

I stayed there for 3 nights with friends. We're all in our early 30s. The room and bathroom were spacious and clean and given that this is the Costa Rican cloud forest there will always be bugs but they were bearable. Very good bug repellent is a absolutely necessary.
The hotel doesn't offer any complimentary meals, however the hotel restaurant is a good value and has very good food.
The hotel is far from the city center and from most activities, however the cabs are inexpensive. It's worth the trip to town as there are some great restaurants in Monteverde. The Monteverde Cloud Forest is one attraction that is close by.
The hotel haslimited free computer acccess.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mazzie077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

Mixed review. Got an upgrade. Decent room .. very large with tons of drawer space. Not the hotel's fault but extremely cold inside as was cool and rainy outside.
Wifi didn't work. Breakfast not included. Overall average place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2010

DON'T STAY HERE!!!! This hotel is a total rip off. I asked them if breakfast was included and they told us it was. Then on our last morning there they charged us over $15.00 per person for breakfast everyday. Everyone who was checking out at the same time was just as surprised as us. The front desk guy was a total jerk about it and very threatening when I argued about paying! We were on our honeymoon and I didn't want to take any more of our time dealing with the problem so I just paid for it. DON'T STAY HERE!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scummins17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

Monteverde and the cloud forest is located hours up a bonejarring gravel road in the center of Costa Rica, and a frequent destination of travellers. We (parents and 3 children, ages 22, 20 and 14) went in July of 2010 for two nights/three days. Took two rooms. I'm glad we went, but wouldn't go agian. The cloud forest is interesting, and we had a long and ultimately sucessful hunt for the elusive quetzel, but there isn't much else to do in Monteverde. Average little town. The hotel was probably one of the better ones there, and close to the forest. But it is rustic and inelegant, much like summer camp in character. The rooms in the two story block are not as nice, and you should ask for a nicer one elsewhere, which we did. Eat out at one of the nearby restarants, rather than in the hotel. Staff was cooperative, but not cheerful. Grounds were nice, but not spectacular. If I did this two week trip to Costa Rica over again, I'd spend more time elsewhere, and skip Monteverde, particularly if one is pressed for time (we weren't, but spoke to others who were doing the country in a week or less).

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Familytraveller31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

We spent one night at the Fonda Vela. We had a nice sized room, split into separate living and sleeping areas (1 queen and 1 single). The hotel was very quiet and reminded me of a hotel in the Smoky Mountains. The room was clean and the grounds very beautiful. Though we did not use it, the swimming pool is covered, allowing for use even when it rains--very convenient!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chugginsone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
1.5 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
1.1 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
1.1 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
1.8 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fonda Vela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fonda Vela

Property: Hotel Fonda Vela
Address: 1km past the Monteverde Cheese Factory and 2km before the Monteverde Reserve., Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Fonda Vela 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fonda Vela Hotel is located in beautifulMonteverde, famous for its Resplendent Quetzals,Three-wattled Bellbirds, an abundance of orchids anda gorgeous cloud forest. The climate is refreshing,often referred to as "The Eternal Spring". The views ofthe Gulf of Nicoya from the hotel’s 1400-meterelevation are spectacular. Monteverde is an idealdestination for relaxing and enjoying the wonders ofthe tropics. A visit of at least two nights inMonteverde is recommended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Fonda Vela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fonda Vela Hotel
Fonda Vela Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing