We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure peace”
Review of Hotel Belmar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Belmar
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Fabulous hotel in a spectacular location. Great food and Oscar in reception is a star, he could not have been more helpful, friendly and courteous.
However, be warned, when I say the hotel is peaceful I mean it! Only sound is from the birds and animal in the adjacent cloud forest. No TV, radio noise etc.
We travelled as a couple so perfect for us but young or teenage children might find it too quiet!
If peace and relaxation are what you want, this is the place.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saraleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

785 - 791 of 1,347 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

From the moment we stepped foot through the front door it was top notch. The staff were extremely and I mean extremely good. I hope the owners appreciate them as I have stayed in a few hotels in my time and the staff here would teach alot of them a thing or two !!!! The room was very clean and had an amazing view. The breakfast was very good with alot of variety and was hot and freshly cooked. We took 2 of the hotels recommended trips and I have already written a review on one of them as it was very good. The other trip that we took was with their birdwatching guide, Jorge Lizano, who was without doubt a brilliant guide. He also made sure our 11 year old daughter was interested throughout. He was very informative and we saw lots of birds including 4 Quetzels and a bellbird. He was a very genuine guy and we were booked to go on his night hike but unfortunately the weather was foul, he rang the hotel to see if we still wanted to go or not. How many guides would do that!! Thanks for an amazing time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geraldgiraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Our group of 6 friends did the common Costa Rica trip, Arenal, Monteverde and Manuel Antonio. All of our hotels were very good, but the Belmar was the class of the group by far. All of the rooms had a great view, and the staff was very helpful with every request. One of our group had left an item in our Arenal hotel, and the staff of the Belmar arranged to have it delivered by hand in less than 24 hours. The food was excellent as was a small but quality wine selection. The spa staff was excellent also.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

The setting is beautiful and relaxing - (much needed after the rough roads to reach Monte Verde.) We stayed on the top floor of the main hotel which was a good choice. The view from there is awesome. Past the forests, you can see all the way to the Pacific ocean when the cloud cover cooperates.
The breakfast buffet was very good with wide variety, fresh fruit, omelet station and excellent banana bread. We ate our fill at breakfast and didn't need another meal until dinner. We just had a smoothie in the juice bar (highly recommended) in the afternoon after our excursions to hold us over till dinner.
Some people complained about being far from town, but it is only a $4 cab ride into town and only takes a few minutes to get there. There is a wide selection of restaurants in town that have authentic latin american food for resonable prices. I would suggest going there for dinner because the hotel dinners are expensive and they require a reservation time.
The day temperatures were mild and the evenings cool, therefore there was no need for air conditioning anyway, so we didn't mind not having it (we were there in Aug.)
Didn't get a chance to check out the spa or yoga, but the juice bar was excellent.
Only complaint was the noise and talking coming up from the restaurant below. Very "thin walls".
All in all, it was a beautifull stay in Monte Verde.
"Pura Vida"

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This hotel was very comfortable and well designed. Our balcony had an incredible view down to the valley. The staff couldn't have been nicer. Highly recommend this location. The food was of very high quality except they do have a tendency to over cook the seafood. Bartenders made very tasty drinks. All the rooms have great views and a jacuzzi in the garden gazebo was great.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Really enoyed my stay at the Hotel Belmar- wonderful atmosphere, beautiful views. Cozy feel with top notch customer service. Staff were wonderful, even helping setup something special for a friends birthday. The dinners were all very well prepared and Coffee served was fantastic! Also enjoyed the Yoga class was relaxing. Definitely worth the extra little drive out of town.

Room Tip: I loved the rooms in the separate building facing the trees, lovely patios and windowed bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starr8722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

This is a very nice hotel and very reasonably priced. If you like to be downtown, however, do not stay here. It is in a very secluded area with great views, very nice and helpful people, a cute nature walk on the property (15-20 min), and good restaurant. Best guacomole and pico de gallo
we have had so far.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.7 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,129 reviews
0.3 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 20 in Monteverde
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
0.5 mi away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
493 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
#3 of 7 in Santa Elena
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belmar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belmar

Address: 300 Meters East of the Gas Station,, 5655, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range: £108 - £382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belmar 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Costa Rica's lush cloud forest, nestled in the mountaintops of the Monteverde Reserve, the venerable, world-renowned Hotel Belmar offers its guests truly unique experiences full of natural wonder, elegance, and warm friendly service - all within an unprecedented sensitivity to the preservation of the environment. With the coveted award for 5 levels of sustainability, Hotel Belmar's commitment to the environment as well as the local community has been unyielding for over 30 years. With recent upgrades aimed at presenting an even better Hotel Belmar, guests can expect a variety of exciting room styles, features, and amenities designed for exclusive, unforgettable comfort, quality, and experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Belmar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmar Hotel Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing