We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Sunsets!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Belmar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Belmar
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Monteverde
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Sunsets!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Hotel Belmar has a great happy hour, made especially amazing by the breathtaking sunsets of Monteverde. The Belmar dining room faces the pacific, overlooking greenery like that seen in the movies. Having drinks on the veranda, watching the sun slowly set, and sipping Costa Rican microbrews (YES! made in Monteverde) was the perfect way for us to end each of our days on the green mountain. Also, staff was extremely helpful in setting up our activities and transportation to and from Monteverde. This hotel is worth a visit!

Room Tip: Don't miss the happy hour!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank perlanyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    880
    278
    56
    22
    12
See reviews for
264
746
34
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

After a long rocky drive up the mountain we arrived at this beautiful hotel! You are greeted with a towel and very refreshing juice. It was the perfect welcoming! Everyone is so helpful and nice here. We had the sunrise room and it was absolutely amazing! The views were breath taking and the room was tastefully decorated and very sustainable. I loved that aspect of the hotel. They really care about the environment and all their products are wonderful. I had to go to the hotel gift shop to purchase the shampoo and conditioner for home. My hair has never felt this amazing. The quality of food at the restaurant was also wonderful! We enjoyed every meal we ate here. I read some reviews about the thin walls, we had no problem with that and every room around us was booked. Maybe because we were on the top floor? The only problem I had on this trip was sleeping because the wind is so fierce and loud at night. There were times where I thought the walls were going to come down, but that is just nature and what happens when you stay that high up so just bring ear plugs. Take advantage of the activities the hotel has to offer. We booked zip lining and a night hike through them. Both of those were wonderful experiences I will never forget. We saw the rest of the mountain, this is by far the best hotel. You won't go wrong staying here. Everything is excellent! The staff is one of best! When we come back to Costa Rica we are absolutely staying here again! Get the sunrise room, it was worth every cent!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mzelek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ebelmar, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Belmar, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Mzelek,

Wow! What a glowing review! We live and love to make our guest's stay in Monteverde as pleasurable, memorable, and rewarding as possible. We absolutely love to hear from guests on how we succeeding in doing this, so thank you!

The wind can be loud, not just here, but in all parts of Monteverde and Santa Elena. It's part of the life when you live in an exposed mountain village. However, many of our guests and locals feel that the wind is an easy trade off for having such an amazing view out west and residing in such a unique and beautiful ecosystem.

Glad to hear you took advantage of some of our activities. Next time you come back, you'll have to participate in some of our other offerings like one of our coffee tours or a guided trip to Curi-Cancha Reserve.

Thanks again for sharing with us your experience and your kind words. We are very appreciative that you took the time to give us your feedback and hope to see you when you return to Costa Rica!

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

My mom, brother and I stayed at Hotel Belmar in July 2013 and absolutely loved it. It was their first time in Costa Rica and they both agreed that this was their favorite city and hotel we stayed in during our vacation. Some of the reviews others have left here mention bugs, a damp atmosphere and an unhelpful staff - we did not find any of these things to be true. As far as bugs and damp weather go in Costa Rica (and especially in a cloud forest), it's incredibly typical, but we did not find that there were an unusual amount of insects in our room or even around the vicinity. The room was very comfortable, it's a beautiful atmosphere, the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful to us, and the excursion additions they offer are set up really well. We did both the night hike and ziplining and they both were fantastic - my family loved it. I would have a hard time staying elsewhere with my family if we were to ever go back!

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor in the hotel and it was lovely. We didn't hear noise from anywhere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Stayed here on a tour of Costa Rica. it is a beautiful hotel, lovely rooms, great service from Receptionists and Dylan on arrival, lovely breakfast and great service from Carla. The forest trail is great and the hike up the TV aerials viewpoint worth all the considerable effort.

My only comment would be to flag up that dinner, although delicious, is very much nouveau cuisine, if you get hungry have a starter and sweet as I finished my main each night in about 5 mins.

Room Tip: A room with views if the bay of Nicoya will be stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MArk S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ebelmar, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Belmar, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear MArk S,

We really appreciate your wonderful review of our hotel. Excellent work on finishing the Cerro Amigos trail! The trail is certainly challenging, but pays off with a stunning view, from the highest peak in the Monteverde region. The entrance to the trail is on our property, so it's very convenient for our guests to take full advantage of Cerro Amigos. It also gives you a finish line of sorts, you can reward yourself for your hard work by having a refreshing natural juice at our juice bar, a cocktail in our lounge or some nourishing food in our Restaurante Celajes.

Speaking of which, it is imperative to us that our guests find the food in Restaurante Celajes delicious. It is a standard we always strive to uphold, therefore we are happy to hear we succeeded on this front. Thank you for pointing out our portions. Our mains are intended to be paired with either an appetizer, soup, or salad to make for a more varied experience. In the future, our knowledgable and friendly service staff will be more than happy to inform any guest on which portions are more filling and larger than others.

Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to share them with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Arriving after a long journey on a bumpy dirt road, The Belmar feels like a little gem, hidden away from the buzz of touristy Monteverde. From its terrace, it offers stunning views and is nestled into the forrest. This family run hotel offers great service and the second generation management is continously making improvements. We had one of the best massages in a long time - fantastic therapists - and nobody should leave the hotel without having tried a juice from the new juice bar, great menu. The restaurant offers really good food, some of the best that we had on our trip through Costa Rica. The newly renovated rooms in the Chalet are nice. We had a canopy room and it felt like we were living in the trees ourselves. Very cosy. But the best thing about the Belmar are the people, committed, smiley, helpful and there to fulfil one's every wish. That's what makes a good hotel a great hotel.

Room Tip: Choose in room in the adjacent Chalet, the rooms here are newly renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sebastianluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rocky mountain house, alberta
Level Contributor
101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

The Belmar has every last detail perfected. When we arrived, the attendant was very efficient and friendly. Complimentary juices and hot towels were offered. Our room was outstanding (we qualified for a free upgrade.) The bed was super comfortable and the room was very clean. Even spa quality shampoo, conditioner and body wash was available in the room. Free yoga sessions are offered twice a day and there is even a walking path around the grounds (we spoted a paca). The restaurant is also great with happy hour (as the sun sets), full complimentary breakfasts and great suppers.
The only down side is a very bumpy, rough driveway. But the end definitely justifies the means.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

This is my first tripadvisor review, and for good reason! Our stay here was just great, Rooms big with great views, grounds were beautiful with amazing sunset views every night. The food and drinks were great. Most of all ALL of the staff were super friends and helpful!! From the front desk to waiters, bartenders - could not have asked for a better visit!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MattyB_0100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.8 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
0.3 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.8 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
1.0 mi away
Hotel Fonda Vela
Hotel Fonda Vela
#12 of 23 in Monteverde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belmar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belmar

Property: Hotel Belmar
Address: 300 Meters East of the Gas Station,, 5655, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belmar 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Costa Rica's lush cloud forest, nestled in the mountaintops of the Monteverde Reserve, the venerable, world-renowned Hotel Belmar offers its guests truly unique experiences full of natural wonder, elegance, and warm friendly service - all within an unprecedented sensitivity to the preservation of the environment. With the coveted award for 5 levels of sustainability, Hotel Belmar's commitment to the environment as well as the local community has been unyielding for over 30 years. With recent upgrades aimed at presenting an even better Hotel Belmar, guests can expect a variety of exciting room styles, features, and amenities designed for exclusive, unforgettable comfort, quality, and experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Belmar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmar Hotel Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing