We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”
Review of Hotel Belmar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Belmar
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The reception area and restaurant are exquisite. Although we dressed casually for dinner, you felt like you should have on your Sunday best. However, you were never made to feel that way. The welcoming desk and the restaurant staff was friendly and courteous. Our room was in the second building across the driveway and had a beautiful view with a jacuzzi that overlooked the forest. Room was quite large with walk in shower and separate room for sink and toilet area. Room had two sofas. Beautiful room and elegant furnishings. Breakfast was a typical buffet - omelets made to order, scrambled eggs, bacon, fruit, cereal, juice. Good and filling. Would stay again if visiting Monteverde.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,342)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Belmar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

676 - 682 of 1,343 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

Try this property and be sure you get a room in the new part of the hotel, far away from noisy dining room and reception desk.
The prefect, very green hotel in the middle of Costa Rica. Staff is very friendly.
Excellent massage, okay breakfast and very good dinner.
No AC in the rooms.
Very very poor own guide for their own forest trekking in the cloud forest (take another company tour).
Anyway, the best choice in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexzhdanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedro B, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Belmar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear alexhdanov,
Thank you for complimenting our restaurant and staff, and for assessing us as the best choice in Monteverde. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed our restaurant, our spa services and environmental practices.

We were surprised however by your comments about our guide because we have received a lot of positive feedback about our guides since we started working with them. The hotel has two official, certified guides with years of experience. Mostly we love working with them because they share our deep passion for Monteverde wildlife. I will be sure to look into this to make sure that it was indeed with one of our guides that you had this experience with. Take care and we hope to see you again when you are in Monteverde.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This place was amazing- incredible views of distant ocean and mountains. It was our honeymoon and we got upgraded, which was great- our room was jaw dropping- we couldn't believe it. Our shower was on the balcony and had an unreal view, and we had a hot tub with the same view and the ability to open all the windows around it- felt like hot tubbing in the middle of the jungle. The bar was also awesome, and the sunset from the restaurant balcony cannot be beat. Restaurant was a little pricey, and you need to take a cab into town, but it was easy to arrange everything we wanted to do right from the hotel. Overall just an amazing place- would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is located in a very small mountain town. The main building reminded me of a lodge from the 1950's. It had beautiful wood work and sculptures that lead out to a nice deck that overlooks the property. Very pretty. Our room was in the second building on the property, which was across the driveway. Our room was great, beautiful wood paneling everywhere and a small deck for us to sit on. The best thing was the Jacuzzi hot tub that fit both my husband and I, we are both over 6 ft so that's not an easy find. The only draw back about the room was that there were not black out curtains on all of the windows. The sun comes up at 5 am and were did not sleep in much. The food and drink here was amazing! They do a happy hour everyday and you get a boca (small appetizer) with each drink. The Monteverde stuffed chicken that I had for dinner was beyond my expectations! Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Twice now, I have had the pleasure of staying at Hotel Belmar.

This lovely and beautifully crafted, boutique Hotel sits amidst the mountainside just minutes from downtown Monteverde. On a clear day from most balconies, one can see the Gulf of Nicoya and Puntarenas. The Alpine style was influenced by the owners', Pedro Belmar and Vero Zeledon, time in Austria and the chalet is now being run by their children, Pedro, Jr. and Soledad Belmar.

The attention to detail is always there, from the welcome drink and hot towel upon check-in to the evening turn-down with a chocolate on your pillow. The bedding is comfy and the rooms are warm and welcoming. Speaking of welcoming, the staff is always incredibly gracious and helpful in every way.

The food at Celajes, the in-house restaurant is OUTSTANDING... why go OUT for dinner when you have such a wonderful variety and quality to choose from. I've had several different dishes (fish, chicken and pasta) and all were consistently prepared and presented with excellence.

On top of all this, Hotel Belmar is an eco-lodge that weighs in with high scores on all levels of sustainability... just another added plus that makes you want to go.

Hotel Belmar will always be my choice for accommodations whenever I visit Monteverde. It feels like coming home again.

Thank you Pedro, from the bottom of my heart, for your generous hospitality and for helping to create and sustain a most beautiful and well run mountain respite.

Room Tip: If you are going to Monteverde and want a "sure thing", this is your place.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ahki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This hotel is extremely eco-friendly. There is no air conditioning but it's not necessary! The staff is so helpful and nice. We got lots of dinner recommendations and they were always helpful with calling ahead for reservations and arranging taxis. A buffet breakfast is included. It is not like an American buffet breakfast but still pretty good! The view from the dining room is stupendous! You can see out over the rainforest and get a great view of the mountains. Rooms are spacious and very clean.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Lovely eco-lodge built in Alpine style into hillside and looking out over the cloud forest. We had a peninsular superior room with balcony and excellent view. Great for watching storms in the distance and the wildlife. Beautifully decorated throughout, good-sized rooms. Restaurant serves great food. You can eat in the dining room or order from the bar menu and sit outside. A juice bar in the second buildings serves delicious smoothies and also has wonderful views. Staff is cheerful, courteous, and extremely helpful. Arranges good tours in the area. No complaints at all. You can walk to the Bat Jungle which is well worth a visit and has an upstairs cafe and homemade chocolate shop. CASEM, a women's art cooperative is close by and has some lovely locally made crafts.

Room Tip: There are two building. One looks out over cloud forest and other looks out to a garden area which i...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacqueline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedro B, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Belmar, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Jackie T,
Thank you for this great review. It makes us genuinely happy when people have a great experience at the Hotel and Monteverde in general. I will certainly let our staff know that you found them courteous and helpful, as knowing clients feel that way really motivates them.
We are also glad you were able to visit CASEM, a wonderful women's cooperative that we are very happy to support as part of our community outreach and sustainability program. Their mission is to support and better the economic well being of local artisan women, which they've been successfully doing for many years now. Visiting them is a great way to support the community.
We hope to see you again if you are ever back in town.
Warm regards,
The Hotel Belmar staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.7 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
0.5 mi away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
491 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
#13 of 20 in Monteverde
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belmar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belmar

Address: 300 Meters East of the Gas Station,, 5655, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range: £111 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belmar 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Costa Rica's lush cloud forest, nestled in the mountaintops of the Monteverde Reserve, the venerable, world-renowned Hotel Belmar offers its guests truly unique experiences full of natural wonder, elegance, and warm friendly service - all within an unprecedented sensitivity to the preservation of the environment. With the coveted award for 5 levels of sustainability, Hotel Belmar's commitment to the environment as well as the local community has been unyielding for over 30 years. With recent upgrades aimed at presenting an even better Hotel Belmar, guests can expect a variety of exciting room styles, features, and amenities designed for exclusive, unforgettable comfort, quality, and experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Belmar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmar Hotel Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing