We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish I can stay there”
Review of Hotel Belmar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Belmar
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I wish I can stay there”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Wonderful hotel, with stunning views.

Rooms walls are glasses so you can see the green mountain surrounding with rainbow and birds. as a dream.

Since I could not get there at the first time the hotel agreed to keep the me the voucher for another date, and even upgraded us to a fantastic suite with jacuzzi on the balcony.

Wonderful place
Amazing atmosphere
Great views
And very romantic

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dafna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    933
    284
    62
    22
    12
See reviews for
283
786
36
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights during April 2014 as part of a wider tour of Costa Rica. The hotel is located on the outskirts of Monteverde off the road towards Monteverde Cloud forest Reserve and approximately 2km from the centre of Santa Elena although there are a few restaurants located closer to the hotel. The trek to Monteverde from Arenal took about 3.5 hours with the last 1.5 hours being over very rough roads.

Arriving at the hotel we were checked in by a very friendly and helpful guy and that set the tone generally for all the staff we encountered who were thoroughly pleasant and helpful.

The bedroom was large enough with fantastic views from the balcony down to the pacific ocean (particularly impressive at sunset or during a storm). The bed was comfy and there was a safe which was a little on the small side. The bathroom was a little small and basic but perfectly adequate and the whole room was kept clean and tidy. Just so you are prepared, the room had no TV, no Aircon (just a ceiling fan) and no tea/coffee making facilities. Noise also travelled fairly readily through the walls so its probably just as well there were no TV's! There was a nightly turn down service which was a nice touch and decent Wi-Fi reception which was free to use.

We used the restaurant for breakfast, some lunches and dinner. Breakfast was ok but the choice wasn't huge. Lunch was good with decent sized portions to keep you going for the rest of the day and Dinner was very good from the a la carte menu. Again, the service was very friendly.

Outside, the grounds were very pleasant and there was a short walking trail where we saw a number of birds but not much else. The hotel doesn't have a pool.

We booked a couple of excursions through the hotel only to find out later that the same thing can be booked much more cheaply elsewhere. If you want a guided tour of any of the reserves (we went to Monteverde, Santa Elena and Curricancha) my advice is to just turn up at the gate and hire an official guide when you get there. Of the 3 parks we visited Monteverde was the most rewarding in terms of the amount of wild/birdlife we came across.

I would probably have given the hotel 3 stars if it hadn't been for the excellent service we received from all the staff we encountered which I feel makes it worthy of that extra star.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HighWycombeTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this enchanting hotel two nights between 8-10 February. The staff at the reception, bar and restaurant were all very welcoming, attentive and friendly. We loved the peaceful aspect including no tv in the room, amazing views, grounds to wander about in and attention to environmental impact. The Restaurant served excellent food that was well thought out and offered a wide range of wines. All in all, a very enjoyable experience only marred by a particularly grumpy tourist when checking out.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Diana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We just finished up our honeymoon in Costa Rica. Belmar was our second stop. From the moment we walked in the door we were blown away. This hotels layout is beautiful, the property was gorgeous and the staff was just crazy good. We checked in with Paula at the front desk. She was truly amazing we must have called her 20 times in 3 days asking questions, so helpful about local places in the area and the tours to try. We mentioned that we actually forgot a toiletry item at our last hotel when we were checking in and she had it delivered to our room from in town so we could relax after the long trip to get there. Paula is AMAZING!! Dylan took our bags to our Chalet and showed us around. The room was crazy! Panoramic views of the area and you could see the ocean when it was clear enough. Glass in cased shower on the balcony. Tons of natural light. The first night we ate at their restaurant and it was great! We like to eat at local places but this was so good we ate their 2 out of our 3 nights. Very romantic atmosphere and all the food is local. The view from inside was unreal. I do not know everyone's names but the staff was truly amazing. If you are going to Monteverde this is a must stay. Cabs into town are like 2 bucks. It is even a good walk if you choose to. They have 2 nature trails right there as well.

Room Tip: I would stay in the Chalet. It is a bit more but well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyler B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBmedia, Owner at Hotel Belmar, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Tyler B,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and for choosing Hotel Belmar as one of your hotels on your honeymoon! I appreciate you recognising our staff, as they work very hard to ensure guests feel welcome and at ease during their time here. I will tell Paula and Dylan about your kind comments. I am also glad to hear you enjoyed our restaurant! We feel very satisfied to be able to provide our guests with a Costa Rican farm-to-table experience. We also have a TripAdvisor page for Restaurante Celajes and would greatly appreciate you taking the time to review us there as well.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

I would definitely recommend this hotel for honey mooners or just couples wanting to celebrate love. Food is delicious and organic, they have their own farm where they harvest some of the veggies. It is also a good place to take tons of pictures in different areas, they have a small lake where you can have a picnic or just relax. Rooms are spacious, bed is very comfy and always a view to the woods. Visit the yoga class, have a healthy juice afterwards at the juice bar. Then you can go to the jacuzzi and don't forget to take some beers or wine to relax and meet awesome people. If you go downtown grab a cab it cost 2,000 colonos. Visit "bar amigos" for a good dance. If you feel for a pizza we went to "Johnny's" and it is a very good option. Hope this review was helpful and enjoy!!!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wizkonzin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My family stayed at three different hotels while we were in Costa Rica and Hotel Belmar was by far our favorite. It was beautiful inside and out and the atmosphere was so serene and warm. The property was lovely and sizable--they even have their own nature trail. The staff was friendly and very helpful and the restaurant made the best food that we ate in Costa Rica. We loved it and can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: Every room had a great view. We were on the lowest floor and could still see to the Pacific and wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Th0mps0n2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My friend and I we stayed in the penthouse suite Sunset and the room, the balcony, jacuzzi and panoramic windows were overwhelming. There was a view to the peninsula Nicoya and to the cloud forest. The staff was wonderful every time very helpful. The hotel is a good place to explore the Monteverde area. The staff helps you to book all possible adventure activities which you can do in the Monteverde area. You can find very existing canopy tours or easy going hikes with very skilled guides. We were very sad to leave this wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: We would recommend the penthouse rooms because you stay in a separate house a view meters away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IPMun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.7 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,095 reviews
0.3 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
0.8 mi away
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
#13 of 20 in Monteverde
676 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belmar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belmar

Property: Hotel Belmar
Address: 300 Meters East of the Gas Station,, 5655, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belmar 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Costa Rica's lush cloud forest, nestled in the mountaintops of the Monteverde Reserve, the venerable, world-renowned Hotel Belmar offers its guests truly unique experiences full of natural wonder, elegance, and warm friendly service - all within an unprecedented sensitivity to the preservation of the environment. With the coveted award for 5 levels of sustainability, Hotel Belmar's commitment to the environment as well as the local community has been unyielding for over 30 years. With recent upgrades aimed at presenting an even better Hotel Belmar, guests can expect a variety of exciting room styles, features, and amenities designed for exclusive, unforgettable comfort, quality, and experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Belmar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmar Hotel Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing