We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Hotel Belmar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Belmar
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This was our favorite hotel on our trip to Costa Rica. We were looking forward to the cloud forest, but the hotel grounds provided a taste of it without having to go to the parks. There is a nature trail around one of the buildings going past a stream. Above the main building is an organic garden providing fresh greens for the restaurant. The food was so good. We had a filet mignon that was the best we ever ate. The restaurant could be a destination unto itself. They offer yoga classes twice a day. It is within walking distance of town and some nature hikes and attractions if you are serious about walking. Everyone there was friendly and helpful, making sure our stay was the best it could be.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melanie709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

693 - 699 of 1,390 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

This was by far the best place of the 3 hotels we stayed while in Costa Rica for our honeymoon in mid-June 2014. The hotel itself is stunning - higher up on a mountain with beautiful wood everyone and a European feel. The staff was on point - Paula at the front desk was so helpful, from helping recommend tours, setting them up, recommending food places, and even sending out a driver to get a last minute emergency product I needed from the pharmacy! We stayed in one of the Belmar rooms, which had an awesome open shower with big windows everywhere and great view of the area. The hotel is only a 5 minute cab ride to the center of the town, which is nice, and it not only has it's only little 20 minute walking trail on the property, but is right at the start of an 1 hike to the top of a mountain. We had an AMAZING couples massage (I've had quite a few in my lifetime, and this was one of the best!), the yoga class was a nice comp, and honestly, the food was AMAZING - both the free breakfast (awesome bread, fruits, balcony view, cheese, etc.) AND the hotel dinner. We even ate twice there for dinner - it's just as expensive as other nice restaurants where we ate while in Costa Rica, but the quality and preparation of the food were just on point. If you cannot tell, we highly recommend! Will definitely be going back on our honeymoon :)

Room Tip: Belmar room was lovely - great views! Only rooms that would have been better were sunrise/sunset ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBmedia, Owner at Hotel Belmar, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Diane P.,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Hotel Belmar. We’re so glad you enjoyed your stay! Our staff works very hard to make our customers feel at home, and we will let them know you appreciated their service. We’re also happy that you took advantage of our spa services and free yoga classes. We try to provide our guests with a truly relaxing experience, and this is one of the best ways to do it! Thank you as well for the great comments on our restaurant. Many of our ingredients that we use in our dishes are grown in our very own organic garden, giving guests a healthy and delicious farm-to-table experience. We would greatly appreciate it if you could also review us on the Restaurante Celajes Trip Advisor page.

We hope you will stay with us again soon!

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for three nights and think it was our best stay in Costa Rica. The room was a nice size with a balcony overlooking the trees, and with a view of the Pacific. We arrived late, yet the staff was still willing to make us a bit of dinner after the kitchen closed. The grounds are beautiful, but it was the service that really made our stay at Hotel Belmar so nice. While we ate several delicious meals in the hotel restaurant, the waiters/waitresses also offered perfect suggestions for other restaurants in the area. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful, making tour arrangements for us, helping us navigate a closed road, etc. The staff really worked to get to know us and to make our stay wonderful. I would definitely recommend Hotel Belmar to anyone visiting Monteverde!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LimaBean1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This was the first place we went on arriving in Costa Rica. If we had known how wonderful and accommodating the hotel was we would have stayed a few more days. They lined up a great knowledgeable bird guide (Jorge Lizano with Curi-Cancha reserve) for us who spend some time with us ,gave us suggestions for other trails to take . We are seasoned birders so it was an amazing place to be. After our lovely day I went for a relaxing massage at there lovely small spa.
We only had breakfast and dinner at there comfortable restaurant and had lunch in town. The food was fresh and creative and they were accommodating to my vegetarian husband. Will be going back when we can.

Room Tip: the top floor looking out over the valley is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBmedia, Owner at Hotel Belmar, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear AGNelson,
I am very happy to hear that as experienced bird watchers, you and your husband highly enjoyed the guided bird tour at Curi-cancha. Many people come here just to see the many interesting bird species that live in our unique cloud forest. I will be sure to compliment Jorge on this. I am also glad to know that you found our food fresh and creative. Most of it is harvested daily from our own garden, right next to the hotel. I hope you were able to visit it, and if not, please do if you are ever back in town. We have a free greenhouse and sustainability tour that guests have expressed truly enjoying in the past.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Wow, what a great hotel...My family and I decided at the last minute to travel to Monteverde to experience the cloud Forrest. Discovered this hotel on T/A, called to secure two rooms. Upon arrival we were greeted by a exceptional staff with a cool washcloth and drink. Showed us our rooms with a spectacular view. We arranged to eat at their restaurant for dinner, all of our entrees were excellent. Highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank George F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Belmar offers a truly authentic experience with its cozy rooms and friendly staff. We stayed at the Belmar for 3 nights from 6/23-25 after spending two nights in the Arenal area. Our room, the Peninsula Superior, had an awesome view of the Nicoya Peninsula and Pacific Ocean. We dined at the hotel restaurant several times and the food was delicious, especially the complimentary breakfast. We also tried out the spa services with a deep tissue massage, which was well worth the price. Karen and Luke, the massage therapists, are top notch. We couldn't have asked for a better home base when exploring Monteverde, and I would highly recommend the Belmar to anyone spending time in this area.

Also, check out the 15-20 minute hike on the trail maintained by the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ritter77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBmedia, Owner at Hotel Belmar, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Ritter77,
Thank you for writing this great review and letting us know what you loved about your experience at the hotel. It helps us maintain the high level of excellence that we strive to provide our guests with, which to us is about people's experience in their rooms, our spa and yoga services, and their overall dining experience. I will make sure to let Karen and Luke know you enjoyed the massage!
Thanks again for the review and we hope to see you again next time you are in Monteverde.
Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed 3 nights (2 adults and 2 kids 10-13) in the canopy room and in the Sunset room. Both of these rooms are great. They are located in the chalet building just beside the main Hotel building.

The canopy room is very large and is facing the mountain it is located on the higher floor (3rd) in the trees, There is a jacuzzi inside the room and a mini bar that we used as a mini fridge for our own needs. The rooms is having floor to ceiling full windows and there is a large balcony going around the corner with outside table and sunbed. Great!!! We had monkeys coming directly on our balcony in the morning eating whatever fruit we left outside.

The sunset room is a bit smaller, but there is a jacuzzi outside, on the balcony. It is also located on the 3rd floor. Great to watch the stars at night. It is facing the Pacific side. On clear days, you can see the Ocean from the balcony.

We had maybe the best lunch of our 2 weeks trip in CR at the Belmar. The cocktails are also very good. However the Dinner was a hit and missed. Some of our meals were either too salted or just ok. Given the price above what you will find in this area in other restaurant, we would expect a bit more precision in the preparation of the meals.

The beds are comfortable but the pillows are too thick...This is personal, but i like tin or very fluffy pillows

The included breakfast is nice, but after 2-3 days, it becomes redundent since they don't change the offer. (same fruits, same bread, same little hot buffet, one kind of cereal and always the same) .

Good to know: From time to time, in the chalet building they have some hot water pressure problems. The first night we didn't complain about the situation, but the second night we did since we were coming back from a horseback riding tour and we wanted to go out in town for dinner. They admitted it was happening from time to time. They were able to resolve the issue in 2 hours. However, it was getting late for diner and our kids were extremely exhausted to go out for diner...As a compensation they offered us an upgrade..wich was very nice of them an expected. We were already paying for one of the most expensive room of the hotel and you don't expect these problems to occur 2 days in a row when you stay 3 days.

The staff is great, smiling and always doing their best to help!

I would recommend this hotel for people looking for luxury in the mountain at 5 minutes drive for the town center. However, if i am going back i will be looking for something a bit more "rustic" to better live the local cloudforest experience.

Room Tip: Canopy room for forest views and monkeys on your balcony. Sunset room for jacuzzy on your balcony a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tetrault001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.3 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.7 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,153 reviews
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#5 of 20 in Monteverde
516 reviews
0.8 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
0.5 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#9 of 20 in Monteverde
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belmar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belmar

Address: 300 Meters East of the Gas Station,, 5655, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range: £160 - £398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belmar 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Costa Rica's lush cloud forest, nestled in the mountaintops of the Monteverde Reserve, the venerable, world-renowned Hotel Belmar offers its guests truly unique experiences full of natural wonder, elegance, and warm friendly service - all within an unprecedented sensitivity to the preservation of the environment. With the coveted award for 5 levels of sustainability, Hotel Belmar's commitment to the environment as well as the local community has been unyielding for over 30 years. With recent upgrades aimed at presenting an even better Hotel Belmar, guests can expect a variety of exciting room styles, features, and amenities designed for exclusive, unforgettable comfort, quality, and experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Belmar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmar Hotel Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing