We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It felt like home!”
Review of Hotel Belmar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Belmar
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“It felt like home!”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights in the Belmar and from the moment we walked in we knew it was the right place to be. Situated about 30 mins walk from Santa Elena town it is perched on the hillside with spectacular views down the Pacific (when the cloud clears)

We stayed in a forest room in the chalet across the road and to be honest we did not feel detached from the rest if the hotel. Our room looked out over the forest and we had complete privacy even with floor to ceiling windows which gave us excellent views of the local wildlife from toucans to parrots. The juice bar downstairs acted liked a mini reception/lobby while serving excellent fresh juices made with produce from there greenhouse and farm.

This hotel truly embraces it's Eco ethic but successfully achieves, where so many fail, in not sending you on a huge guilt trip while doing it. The hotel leads by example and has invested in many energy saving/environmentally friendly process such as biodegradable soaps in the bathroom and a biodigestor to provide gas for heating. All in all it helps you support what they are doing by using the recycling bins and making an effort to turn off lights when not required.

Last, but certainly not least, are the staff. They were brilliant and could not do enough for you. We were welcomed when we arrived and made to feel at home, and throughout our stay they met and exceeded our needs. We went on the specialised bird watching tour with Jorge who was excellent at his job. The staff pre-empted our need for a boxed breakfast anytime we left before breakfast and there seemed to be nothing that was too much for them to do. The restaurant was excellent, especially the chocolate and coffee steak, and the staff were extremely accommodating when we turned up a couple of nights without a reservation.

All in all it is an excellent place to stay if you are looking for a little bit of isolation in such a busy part of the forest.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LeprechaunLarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    943
    286
    62
    22
    12
See reviews for
291
790
36
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne In
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed at the Belmar July 2014. The pictures of the outside do not do it justice at all. Inside beautiful lustrous wood everywhere including a circular staircase. The restarant had a great view and you could eat inside or outd=side on the porch. The bed was very comfortable and the jacuzzi tub in our room looked out over an amazing view, the sitting area was cozy, and we saw a Toucan from our balcony! The road getting there is is slow going, definitely need four wheel drive and for sure GPS - but worth the trip. It is a ways outside the town which was fine with us- nice and peaceful!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LynD55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Funny arriving at a chalet style hotel in Costa Rica but it works. We had the Sunrise room - beautiful views. The room was hot when we arrived due to the floor to ceiling windows, there are no air conditioners but a fan and we opened the door to the deck which cooled the room down. The room is rustic - not 5 star luxury but nice enough. Bed very comfortable. Jacuzzi in room we used both days looking at the view. Service was very personalised and friendly. We asked for an ice bucket for some champagne that we brought and this appeared quickly. The breakfast is simple but tasty. On the other hand, the dinners were outstanding. Superb food which is creative and delicious. This food could be served in any high class restaurant in the major cities of the world - we were very impressed. It is also mainly organic and they try to get ingredients from close by. The hotel is close to the main attractions of Monteverde and they can arrange tours or transport. I would recommend this hotel for a personalised experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iglortho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middletown, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel is just below the Monteverde reserve and above the town. Dinner was served first class because of our outstanding waiter. Room had beautiful views which were not always visible because of the obvious...the clouds. Rough road to get to the area, dirt roads with steep drops...being afraid of heights this was tough for me. The effort was well worth it due to the hotel's staff attention to detail.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Beautiful hotel with exceptional service. View of the Nicoya Bay. Happy Hour! Wonderful breakfast. Walk-able to downtown. The thing we will probably remember most is that you could call up the desk and have delicious coffee delivered to the room.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed at the Belmar in September 2013, and we loved it. We were here for 2 nights and enjoyed the place. They give free coffee, and their breakfasts were decent. Clean rooms, good service. Definitely will recommend it to people travelling to Monteverde. We travelled in the off-season, so it was quiet and nice.

Room Tip: A second floor room gives a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amruta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed here 2 nights and Hotel Belmar far exceeded our expectations. The accommodations were lovely and comfortable, the grounds were lush and beautiful, the staff was incredibly friendly and attentive, but not over-bearing, and the food and drinks were above excellent. We never expected to find craft cocktails in Costa Rica, but Hotel Belmar has this nailed (try their Costa Rican Old Fashioned -- amazing!). Our breakfasts, lunches and dinners were all outstanding and some of the best we encountered during our time in Costa Rica. We will absolutely be back!

Room Tip: Pennisula Superior rooms are on the top floor of the main house and have stunningly beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H0wdyYall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monteverde
0.7 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,121 reviews
0.3 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
#13 of 20 in Monteverde
688 reviews
0.8 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
15.6 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belmar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belmar

Property: Hotel Belmar
Address: 300 Meters East of the Gas Station,, 5655, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belmar 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Costa Rica's lush cloud forest, nestled in the mountaintops of the Monteverde Reserve, the venerable, world-renowned Hotel Belmar offers its guests truly unique experiences full of natural wonder, elegance, and warm friendly service - all within an unprecedented sensitivity to the preservation of the environment. With the coveted award for 5 levels of sustainability, Hotel Belmar's commitment to the environment as well as the local community has been unyielding for over 30 years. With recent upgrades aimed at presenting an even better Hotel Belmar, guests can expect a variety of exciting room styles, features, and amenities designed for exclusive, unforgettable comfort, quality, and experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Belmar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belmar Hotel Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing