We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So beautiful, we didn't want to leave.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Establo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Establo
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Monteverde
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“So beautiful, we didn't want to leave.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

After a lousy experience in Tamarindo, and a rough drive up to Monteverde over rocky and turbulent terrain, all we wanted was a hot meal and a quiet room. Boy did this hotel exceed our expectations!

This hotel, set up on a hill in the cloud rainforest, is (in my opinion) a luxury hotel with expansive grounds and higher end amenities. Upon arrival we had been upgraded (free of charge) to a suite. The view from our balcony allowed us to see the whole country... It was glorious. In addition to this, the view from the loft bedroom through a strategically placed window allowed us to watch the sunrise from our bed. A free shuttle transported us to and from the lobby area and was easily arranged with a quick phone call. Breakfast (included) was buffet style and was very good.

My only regret is that we weren't able to spend more time here. This hotel, and our stay in Monteverde, was the highlight of our Costa Rica vacation.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stargrrrl511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    583
    336
    137
    90
See reviews for
460
785
43
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Such a beautiful location... set up on the hill with AMAZING views from your rooms. Very nice and updated rooms. the pool is covered and heated (not super warm, but my daughter and husband loved it anyways). The hotel has a restaurant near a lagoon. Its pretty views, but too fancy and pricey for us. The food was okay. Your stay does include free buffet breakfast every morning and its pretty good.

Room Tip: i think all the rooms have amazing views. We were in the 700s building and had absolutely amazing v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMA7979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

The place was actually a little less rustic and much larger than the reviews and hotel website led me to believe, which a lot of people would probably like, but I found a little disappointing. The property is huge...stretches maybe 2-3km up a mountainside with hundreds of rooms. At breakfast and dinner there were masses of American tourists (I am American too!). However, it was a good value for the money, especially considering the generous free breakfast, and the rooms are huge, clean, and have lovely views. The restaurants were too expensive and not good enough for us to consider lunch and dinner there, but you are so close to all the restaurants of Monteverde and Santa Elena that it's no problem to pop out for meals.

If you stay here, I highly recommend two activities: 1) the hotel ziplining course. There are probably half a dozen ziplining courses to choose from in Monteverde, and the course at the top of the El Establo property is not the biggest in town, but it is the most personal and convenient. We did this course first and loved it so much my kids (age 6 and 9) begged to do it again. So the second time we did it with Selvetura, a much bigger outfit located in the St. Elena forest preserve. At El Establo, we had 3 guides go with our group of 4 people--the 6 year old had a guide do most of the lines with him, the 9 year old was able to choose if she wanted to go alone or with a guide. They showed us wildlife, joked with us, and made us feel very safe and looked after (shout out to Roy!) At Selvetura, we were in a group of probably 100+ people. The kids went with different guides every time, there were long, long waits. Granted, the Selvetura ziplines were longer and higher, but if it's your first time and you are looking for a total experience (not just a 1km long zipline) I highly recommend El Establo.

2) the night walk and/or Monteverde guided hike with Ronnie. He is a professional naturalist seeking either a Masters or PhD. Many of the guides you will find are just leading trips to make money and they don't know about anything but the huge flora and fauna. Ronnie knows about every insect and frog and plant and tree and could answer all of our questions. He was good with our kids--passing on his natural fascination for the natural world. He was our guide for both a night walk and a guided tour in monteverde and was excellent.

Room Tip: The rooms higher up on the property are apparently fancier but you have to take a shuttle to go anyw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
254 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

I could go ON and ON about my experience at this AMAZING hotel...OMG! From the moment I arrived, I felt as though I had TRULY stumbled across a gem! This hotel is ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC! Formerly a horse stable, the property was transformed into a hotel in the 80's (I believe). The property is expansive and consists of multiple different complexes spread across the mountainside. Traversing the premises is a QUITE the workout, but fortunately, the hotel operates a complimentary shuttle to get around. They have two restaurants, one for more casual dining at the base of the property, and one for more formal dining. Both are EXEMPLARY! If you're planning a trip to Costa Rica, a trip inland just to stay at this amazing hotel is WORTH IT!

Room Tip: Take the opportunity to experience dining at BOTH restaurants!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thurman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We only stayed for one night, but I wish we could have stayed longer! We booked after reading great reviews and getting a good price on a room + breakfast. The property is much larger than I was expecting and the views are amazing, especially from the basketball court area at sunset. We were a little disappointed that the concierge was gone by the time we arrived (5:05pm) and we weren't able to book a night hike outside of the hotel, but we were able to do the night walk on the property with an English speaking guide named Ronnie who was awesome! We saw some kind of monkey/raccoon creature, a walking stick, praying mantis, beautiful sleeping birds, frogs, beautiful orchids, among other things. The rooms were clean and spacious, although it was odd that there was a window in the bathroom into the hallway. They don't have air conditioning, but we didn't have a need for it anyways. Randomly in the middle of the night all of our room lights turned on and the alarm clock beeped, which was very strange, but not extremely disturbing. They have wifi available in the common areas like reception and where you eat breakfast which was great. Overall, I'd definitely go back to El Establo!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hberryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in this hotel as part of our tour in Costa Rica.
The staff in reception were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were spacious and clean. The rooms did not have air conditioning but you could ask for fan from the reception. The hotel offers shuttle service to/from your rooms down to the restaurant or reception. We only used this to move our luggage between reception and rooms as the hotel is situated on quite steep slope and perhaps also with the altitude, even climbing the stairs to the rooms from restaurant did take your breath away!
We only had breakfast in the hotel - which was good, enough choice for everyone. For evening meals we opted to go out to eat in the village instead.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We booked this hotel on the advice of our travel agent , the local company CRT. It exceeded all expectations. The room was spacious, well appointed and with lovely views. The staff could not possibly be more attentive and charming. Transport around the hotel is essential as it is on a steep hillside, one phone call and the bus is there before you can get to the door! We had great advice at reception about local bird life, tours and guides. Free coffee and pastries in reception were a thoughtful touch. Breakfast in the main restaurant was very good and the dinner at the Laggus restaurant was excellent with friendly and professional service. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: All are great but better views in the higher numbers, more convenient for reception for the lower nu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KathyB2960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monteverde
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
0.4 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
15.5 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
16.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,720 reviews
0.1 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Establo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Establo

Property: El Establo
Address: Diagonal to Escuela Rafael Arguedas | N 10° 18.7836 / W 84° 48.9587, 60109, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Establo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the misty cloud forest of Monteverde, El Establo offers the best quality services that will make your trip an unforgettable experience: The area`s best view, heated indoor pools, spa, restaurants, café-bars, special events center, internet access, souvenirs shop, tennis court, basketball court, mini soccer court, hiking trails, canopy tour and the most charming staff. This half Costarican – half Quaker, family owned hotel, will allow you to share the best of both cultures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your El Establo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Establo Hotel Monteverde
El Establo Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing