We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Heliconia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heliconia Hotel
Ranked #21 of 21 Hotels in Monteverde
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
123 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

We took a trip to Monteverde, Costa Rica in mid-July of 2012. We stayed at the Hotel Heliconia and were treated so nice by all the employees. We had dinner at the hotels's restaurant that was great! They have a stone pizza oven that made the best pizza ever!!!! They lack a little with their free breakfast but if you don't mind delicious homemade jellies and toast and fruit then eat outside the hotel. We enjoyed our stay here. There rooms are just lovely!!! Our view from our room was great and the birds that visited the trees right in front of my porch was unreal! It's just a very nice hotel to stay and we'll return here for sure. We also stayed at the hotel next door, El Establo Mountain Hotel and the employees were NOT nice espically the girl/woman that works the desk. She is very rude. Our room was really nice but no door on the shower and it made a huge mess on the floor. We did not enjoy this hotel as much as the Hotel Heliconia.
We loved our trip totally!

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed to have a wonderful view of the valley and you can see the Pacific Ocean!!! I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    95
    143
    63
    39
See reviews for
80
173
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lomita, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel in May and thought it was great. We had the large family suite and found it totally comfortable. Lots of room, very spacious with enclosed patio, balcony, TV, hair dryer and very clean and in good shape. While the décor is not what I would choose for my home, it was very clean and comfortable. We had no issues with any animals or the temperature of the room. Also it looks like the new management is in the process of refurbishing some of the rooms. The shuttle service was very prompt and courteous. We had no issues in using the free internet by the lobby. The restaurant was very good, having breakfast there in the mornings made the pick up for the tours very convenient. The quality and value of the food was very good for both breakfast and dinner. We loved the views and it is in easy walking distance to some nice restaurants and a nice little market for snacks.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LomitaTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

My father and I Spent one night here. It was recommended but I was greatly disappointed.

I have to be honest we were coming from La Fortuna and spent the night in a fantastic hotelso it was hard to live up to those standards.

The service is exceptional. Friendly staff and very helpful - absolutely no troubles there. Probably the highlight of the hotel.

No wifi in the rooms - in fact I couldn't even access the network in the "computer room" I had to stand in the lobby.

The whole room was wood panelling - dark but it was clean. Our Door handle fell off. Yes, fell off.

There was a huge gap between the bottom of the door and the floor so bugs crept in our room. Found a big beatle in my bed. Thankfully I was already up and out of bed.


Breakfast was included and it was delicious.

Overall I wouldn't stay here again but the stay wasnt terrible. Given our location in Monteverde I imagine there are much worst hotels to stay at. But next time we will look elsewhere

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
All across the U.S.
Level Contributor
140 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

This is a basic nice hotel with fantastic views of the countryside. We stayed in a room on the second level which had a nice balcony for relaxing. Hotel is located near the Monteverde cloud forest preserve and rain forests which we toured. Stayed here for two nights. My daughter and I were thankful we brought our portable hair dryer since the temperature at night plummeted into the upper 40's and we were freezing. Used the hair dryer in the bathroom just to keep warm as we dressed for tours that day. Agreed with other guests they do ask that you put your "used t-paper" into the waste basket. Ecologically cool but ... ??? The restaurant for breakfast wasn't bad but not really worth the time. For dinner that night, they were offering a "fresh catch of the day" which we thought would be nice. Good thing I asked what the cost was..... $65 American. Thanks... we'll pass on that. There are a few good restaurants within walking distance from the hotel which we decided would be better.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelJewels45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. We stayed in the Junior Suites located about a 7 minute walk from the main building. The view was incredible from the room, overlooking the town. We made sure we were back each night in time to watch the sunsets. The rooms were very clean and very nice - there were no coffee makers but the hotel had a great breakfast menu and offered a fruit & toast free breakfast as well. The front desk staff was very helpful while we were planning tours, and answered all our questions. I would stay there again any time! The hotel also has a great supper menu, we also ate at De Olvino and had wonderful meals (walking distance from the hotel).

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a good view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madeforthesunAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

We stayey 1 night in this hotel, which was fairly basic but not bad. The staff were very helpful and friendly and they have free internet access.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magoye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

A reality check is required by the ownership. Our accommodation was advertised as a "Junior Suite". This was laughable. We have stayed in much larger motel rooms. There was no room for luggage or sitting. The room was dark and drafty. No fridge or coffee maker. The restaurant is another matter all together. You would be doing this place a huge favour to call what they serve food - six of us ate there the first night and not one of us had more than one or two bites. This is surprising in light of the fact we found superb restaurants within an easy walk - Sofia, De Olivo and Johnny's to name but three. Chef's and ingredients are obviously available - Heliconia should hire one.

Room Tip: We are not sure such a thing exists
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCBUD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Montana Monteverde
Hotel Montana Monteverde
#4 of 6 in Santa Elena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.4 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.5 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
1.2 mi away
Hotel Fonda Vela
Hotel Fonda Vela
#12 of 21 in Monteverde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heliconia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heliconia Hotel

Property: Heliconia Hotel
Address: Cerro Plano | Frente a la Escuela Rafael Arguedas, 10921-1000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 21 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Heliconia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Heliconia is located on a stunning 6 acre property and is surrounded by lush, beautiful and tropical rain forest, where you can see and find hundreds of exotic birds and animals. The lodge offers a one of a kind panoramic view of Monteverde and the surrounding area. Hotel Heliconia has been decorated with a fine wood finish, all contributing to the home like ambiance. Here you will find a finely decorated restaurant and bar featuring an international menu, amazing walking trails and numerous jacuzzis found around the property that can fit 2 to 5 people- great for a romantic night for two, or a few drinks with friends. All rooms come with all the amenities like flat screen tv with cable, beautiful spacious bathrooms, fresh towels, coffee maker and balconies with sitting area. All contributing to make your stay at Hotel Holiconia a very comfortable and memorable one. Whether you are looking to relax or be active, Hotel Heliconia has something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heliconia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heliconia Hotel Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing