We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful views”
Review of Heliconia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heliconia Hotel
Ranked #20 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Reviewed 20 March 2014

A wonderful view and simmering sunset while sitting outside our room. Comfortable seating provided outside to really appreciate what is on offer. The rooms are enormous, with two huge beds and a huge shower room. Our hair drier was missing but on request was quickly provided. The room was clean and towels were exchanged daily. It is a long way from reception to the rooms, uphill, but there is a mini bus which can be ordered. The restaurant is fairly basic for breakfast but adequate and the dinner choices were satisfactory and served well. The gardens were well kept.

Room Tip: All rooms the same and all facing the same way. The top 'layer' may prove difficult to acces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzy9960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2014

The rooms are huge and so is the shower. There is no wifi in the rooms are ours had an off smell I could not identify.

There are NO temperature controls at all. It's a very long walk down to the lobby and the only wifi is down there.

The beds were hard, the walls were thin, and my bedspread had stains on the inside of the cover.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank orracle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Stayed in the upper level lodges which I can highly recommend for one thing the view of the Pacific Ocean is stunning. Sitting watching the sunset sipping a glass of wine watching the world go by what more do you want!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
Thank NJP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Simple, rustic, bordering on Spartan. Uncomfortable bed. Hot tubs not working. Limited buffet for breakfast, but some vegetarian fare. Wi-Fi in lobby only which was not convenient given the hike between the rooms and the lobby.

Room Tip: If you want the unforgettable sunset view, book a room on the north side of a building on the second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We were changed to this hotel - upgraded even and this was literal, though we didn't know it till we got there. We drove from Fortuna in our 4x4 taking the shorter route over the mountain tops using rough dirt roads. the views were spectacular. Checking in we were told to wait for the hotel driver to guide us to our room which was in a chalet complex right at the top of a curly road climb or up many steep steps. Once there the room was spacious, bathroom large, but no plug in the wash basin. there were 2 huge beds, a fridge & coffee machine & a small clothes cupboard with safe. We spent 3 nights there tucked up in the clouds. It does get windy up there, and we were disturbed the first night by a chattering door. My husband, ever the engineer, worked out how to stop it the second night. Leave the bathroom door open. Heed the advice if you're in room 512. The restaurant was far below so we made sure we had everything we needed before venturing down there. Hotel staff were efficient, waiters very good, menu for lunch & dinner were nice and we had the best pizza we've ever eaten there. Pity about the breakfasts which were standard tour fodder, beans and rice, dry scrambled egg, pineapple, papaya & melon & a dodgy toaster for the bread. But the overall experience was not bad. We were there to experience the rain forest & cloud forest, & to find the quetzal all of which we acheived. The hotel was fine for our needs.

Room Tip: Rooms in the top complex get the full onslaught of the wind and cloud. Take hairspray,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I would happily stay at this hotel again, though it is not perfect. One must remember that this hotel is located in a very isolated location in a small, poor country. The activities at Monteverde are well worth the struggle to get there. I presume that most consumer supplies must travel the same rough and twisty roads that we did to get to Monteverde. The hotel is scattered up a mountainside and requires a steep climb. The rooms are very large and attractive and the beds are good. My room had a huge shower with great pressure and hot water and I had coffee maker and refrigerator. There was no Wifi in my room and the internet at the reception was so so. Strong night winds blew down the mountain causing all sorts of noises and creaks. The first morning while dressing I found a scorpion in my sock. This is apparently not much of an issue in this part of the world. I killed him without issue and I assure you that I made certain that I did not have to go to the bathroom in the following nights. I ate a meal at the hotel and found it satisfactory. The breakfast was smaller than most hotel breakfasts I have had in Costa Rica, but certainly superior to those I typically get at US motels. Since this hotel is part of a package I cannot comment on the price.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TOG11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We booked the family suite for 2 nights to experience the beauty of the cloud forest and the amazing zip lines. When we received our room, the shower was covered in mold and the bathroom smelt foul even with the window open. When I turned on the water for the sink, it came out brown (didn't clear up even after running for awhile) and the sink leaked on the bathroom floor creating a very large pool of water. The bed spreads were old and worn looking and the hard wood flooring was excessively loud when walked on. To get to the suite, it is a very steep and long walk up the hill. We were thankful we had a car, it's really quite far. When we approached the front desk for another room, they were rude and had the "we don't care" attitude and didn't provide us with another room. The advertised jacuzzi's looked as though they hadn't been used for years, non of them had water in them and they were full of dirt and leaves.

Room Tip: There are better choices in Monte Verde.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 9_Sherry_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.4 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 20 in Monteverde
264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.5 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
#3 of 7 in Santa Elena
717 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
252 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jardines de Monteverde
Hotel Jardines de Monteverde
#17 of 20 in Monteverde
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heliconia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heliconia Hotel

Address: Cerro Plano | Frente a la Escuela Rafael Arguedas, 60109, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range: £64 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Heliconia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Heliconia is located on a stunning 6 acre property and is surrounded by lush, beautiful and tropical rain forest, where you can see and find hundreds of exotic birds and animals. The lodge offers a one of a kind panoramic view of Monteverde and the surrounding area. Hotel Heliconia has been decorated with a fine wood finish, all contributing to the home like ambiance. Here you will find a finely decorated restaurant and bar featuring an international menu, amazing walking trails and numerous jacuzzis found around the property that can fit 2 to 5 people- great for a romantic night for two, or a few drinks with friends. All rooms come with all the amenities like flat screen tv with cable, beautiful spacious bathrooms, fresh towels, coffee maker and balconies with sitting area. All contributing to make your stay at Hotel Holiconia a very comfortable and memorable one. Whether you are looking to relax or be active, Hotel Heliconia has something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heliconia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heliconia Hotel Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing