We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Heliconia Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
El Establo(Monteverde)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines(Cerro Plano)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cala Lodge(Monteverde)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Belmar(Monteverde)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monteverde Inn(Monteverde)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (410)
Filter reviews
410 results
Traveller rating
37
103
155
71
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
103
155
71
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshuge bathroomshuttle servicela fortunatowncloudsrainbowcostawildlifecabinnaturejungle
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 410 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2014

A wonderful view and simmering sunset while sitting outside our room. Comfortable seating provided outside to really appreciate what is on offer. The rooms are enormous, with two huge beds and a huge shower room. Our hair drier was missing but on request was quickly provided. The room was clean and towels were exchanged daily. It is a long way from reception to the rooms, uphill, but there is a mini bus which can be ordered. The restaurant is fairly basic for breakfast but adequate and the dinner choices were satisfactory and served well. The gardens were well kept.

Room Tip: All rooms the same and all facing the same way. The top 'layer' may prove difficult to access for some
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

The rooms are huge and so is the shower. There is no wifi in the rooms are ours had an off smell I could not identify.

There are NO temperature controls at all. It's a very long walk down to the lobby and the only wifi is down there.

The beds were hard, the walls were thin, and my bedspread had stains on the inside of the cover.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank orracle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Stayed in the upper level lodges which I can highly recommend for one thing the view of the Pacific Ocean is stunning. Sitting watching the sunset sipping a glass of wine watching the world go by what more do you want!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
Thank NJP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Simple, rustic, bordering on Spartan. Uncomfortable bed. Hot tubs not working. Limited buffet for breakfast, but some vegetarian fare. Wi-Fi in lobby only which was not convenient given the hike between the rooms and the lobby.

Room Tip: If you want the unforgettable sunset view, book a room on the north side of a building on the second or third floor.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We were changed to this hotel - upgraded even and this was literal, though we didn't know it till we got there. We drove from Fortuna in our 4x4 taking the shorter route over the mountain tops using rough dirt roads. the views were spectacular. Checking in we were told to wait for the hotel driver to guide us to our room which was in a chalet complex right at the top of a curly road climb or up many steep steps. Once there the room was spacious, bathroom large, but no plug in the wash basin. there were 2 huge beds, a fridge & coffee machine & a small clothes cupboard with safe. We spent 3 nights there tucked up in the clouds. It does get windy up there, and we were disturbed the first night by a chattering door. My husband, ever the engineer, worked out how to stop it the second night. Leave the bathroom door open. Heed the advice if you're in room 512. The restaurant was far below so we made sure we had everything we needed before venturing down there. Hotel staff were efficient, waiters very good, menu for lunch & dinner were nice and we had the best pizza we've ever eaten there. Pity about the breakfasts which were standard tour fodder, beans and rice, dry scrambled egg, pineapple, papaya & melon & a dodgy toaster for the bread. But the overall experience was not bad. We were there to experience the rain forest & cloud forest, & to find the quetzal all of which we acheived. The hotel was fine for our needs.

Room Tip: Rooms in the top complex get the full onslaught of the wind and cloud. Take hairspray,
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews