We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heliconia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Heliconia Hotel
Ranked #23 of 23 Hotels in Monteverde
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2006

Stayed 2 nights at the Heliconia in a junior suite. The room was huge with a upstairs bedroom and large sunroom. Large shared veranda. The employees were very friendly and helpful. A decent breakfast buffet was included but since the restaurant is open to the outdoor flies on the food made it not as appealing. You do have to walk a far distance uphill to get to your room which can be a problem for anyone with walking difficulties. Enjoyed the Don Juan coffee tour and elevated bridges at Selvatura.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank terrijulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    95
    141
    63
    39
See reviews for
80
171
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2006

If you're a fan of Costa Rican hardwood, you'll love the family suite. Panelled entirely in knotty wood, the massive two-story suite is roomy enough for a very large family and has that woody smell that is distinctly Costa Rican. The balcony stretches the length of the building overlooking the mountains and town and is a great place to regroup after a long day of hiking. As much as we loved the very beautiful room, it was far too big for just my husband and I for two nights but when we booked online we were (mis)informed it was the only room available. Once we arrived and saw all the vacancies we decided the U$20 price difference between junior and family suites was no big deal. If you're planning a stay of three days or more, base yourself in the family suite and spread out!

The sunny stone floor sitting area enlosed with louvered windows had containers of beautiful red geraniums and very comfortable porch furniture.

Although the breakfast buffet was delicious and staff delightful, the dinner menu prices are outrageous. U$25 for a shrimp cocktail? Walk down the hill into town and eat there for a fraction of the cost or buy snacks at the well-stocked supermarket. Spring for a taxi to get home because the hill is very steep!

Words of advice:
1. It's surprisingly chilly there in February and a hat and gloves would've been wonderful not only at night but in the cloud forest in the morning.

2. The February winds whip right through all that panelling and making for very noisy sleepy. It truly sounded like we were in a Nor'easter! It also made
showering is a chilling experience since there's no weatherproofing on the many windows.

2. The roads up to the hotel become horrendous just about 2 hours from San Jose. I recently read in Frommer's guide a warning to pregnant women and those with bad backs to think twice about taking the trip. I took the trip in a minivan last year when 25 weeks pregnant and can now attest to the warning!

In all, Heliconia is lovely and I'd definitely return!

  • Stayed February 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2006

Our trip to Monteverde started not so great. After getting a flat tire on our way up the mountain, we searched for a nice hotel for 5 persons (2 parents and their 3 grown-up kids). We went to the Monteverde Lodge, but found the rooms too small, so, long story short, we ended up at the Heliconia.

We visited a suite in a lodge up in the mountains and found it really lovely. The view was breathtaking and we had a big room with two king-size beds downstairs and one double-size bed upstairs. My parents took one king-size bed, my sister and brother took the other and I had the double-size bed to myself.

We went to have a meal at the hotel restaurant and found it quite expensive, considering we had eaten in marvelous restaurants for very cheap up until then. We just had a soup because the waiter told us the evening buffet wasn't going to be very good.

The bath had a black moldy substance all around it which made it kind of unappealing. Though, they left us nice soaps and called to bring more bath towels, which was appreciated.

We also booked a guide for a visit at Monteverde the next day and asked for a wake-up call at 6:00 am. Well, we didn't need the wake-up call because the whole family was up ALL NIGHT! It got very very windy at night and, considering we were at the top of the mountain, you wouldn't believe how noisy it was. Sleeping (or trying to) at the second story, I was expecting the roof to come off at any minute. My sister got so scared that she came to sleep in my bed, crying, until she realized my place was noisier than downstairs. There were pieces of wood in the wall that kept squeaking and one door of the next door suite had been left open (which we only realized the next morning) and kept banging all night. There was also a painting in the room that looked very creepy after a staying up for a whole night. We refer to the place as "Voodoo Hotel" now, because it was very scary and I was glad not to be alone in there!

We never got the wake-up call and we guessed they figured out we weren't going to need it.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank naivete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Monteverde hotels

Cypress, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2006

Very nice, seemingly new hotel. We stayed there for 2 nights at the Jr. Suite. It's right at a split road to go to Monteverde. The rooms are up a little hill, which they have vans to shuttle you and your luggage up there. We stayed on the 2nd floor and it has a beautiful view of the sunset. The only concern I had is that the balcony is made of varnished wood and can be quiet slippery. With constant rain and mist at the Monteverde area, the floor can get wet and slippery, so hold on to the handrails. The room consists of 2 king size bed, with carpeted flooring. The bed is pretty firm, but the pillow is too soft for me. There is no air conditioning or heater, but the cover will keep you warm. The bathroom is huge with tile flooring, a big shower w/tub.

The staff is very friendly - so friendly that I'm not use to it and wondered why they were so friendly. They asked us for our names, shook our hands, and introduced themselves. We got a welcome cocktail, and they carried our luggage to our room for us.

Negatives: no alarm clock, no TV, no hairdryer. It can get pretty boring at night with nothing to do.

The restaurant at the hotel was okay. We ate their just the 1st night. The food was okay, but definitely over priced. You are better off going to the nearby restaurants, which there are plenty within walking distance. We went to Sophia’s, Johnny's Pizza place - delicious. You HAVE TO go there.

I liked the hotel but really disliked the Monteverde area. The weather was horrible, really windy and misty/raining the entire time. It's actually really cold up there. The ATM didn't work and we were really low on money and couldn't even take the taxi. The roads are not paved and torturous to travel up/down there. I ended up throwing up after I left Monteverde due to the bumpy, winding road. My husband went on a walking tour at the reserve and didn't see anything.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbug821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2006

My husband and I liked this place the least on our honeymoon. The location is not bad, as you can walk into town(the way back up is a bit steep), however if you have any of the rooms past the main area, you have quite a walk. If you have young kids or any medicalk problems, as for a lower room. That being said the view is outstanding! The outside of the rooms look nice and I believe they are going for the "rustic look", but don;t quite pull it off. There is no TV(not an issue), but also not phone(which the clerk at the desk did not seem to know)We were in one of the free standing cabins first but we smelled what seemed like sewer, and asked to change rooms. (There was quite a bit of digging nearby for new rooms, so we think it was because of that.) When we changed rooms we got 300, ask for this one or the one next to it because you cannot beat the sunset view!
The staff was very nice, even during the room change, but will want to steer you towards certain tours. This is ok as we liked all the tours they reccomended.
The hotel is a short walk to a bakery across the street and Sophia's, which is excellent for dinner.
All in all not bad if you just want basics and don't want to climb, not quite the honwymoon room we had in mind however.

Helpful?
1 Thank HyperOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2006

I would not stay at this hotel again. The staff was overworked and clearly tired of dealing with the residents. When you could manage to get their attention, they would focu on trying to sell you a trip or package, but even in those efforts you could tell their heart wasn't in it. They just wanted to be left alone.

They even charged for use of the room safe -- an extra $2 a day or something like that to get the key. There was some other riduculous per minute charge if you wanted to make a local phone call. The place felt like a scam to me.

The rooms were dark -- dark wood paneling throughout -- which apparantly was an attempt to create the ambience of a rustic lodge, but ended up making the room feel like a cave. The dim lighting did not help. The bathroom had some mold issues and like the rest of the room was dimly lit. The room was noisy (We were in the large building up on the hill behind the main hotel.)

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2006

This hotel actually is a collection of lodges in buildings separate and uphill from the check-in and restaurant. Check-in was straight-forward and while doing so, you are asked for which of the several tours/attractions you wish to register, and are given a welcome juice cocktail (a nice, hospitable touch!). The lodges closest to the front desk/restaurant building (slightly uphill) appeared to contain multiple rooms. Much further uphill there also is another lodge that appeared to contain multiple rooms. I stayed in one of the detatched large family lodges, a considerable hike uphill from the check-in/restaurant area (NOTE: take a flashlight with you at night), which have a front porch with two rocking chairs and a wonderful view. (Staff drove me and my luggage up to the room and came to collect me and luggage upon check-out.) Inside, the cabin was very clean, with a king bed, large bathroom/shower, a seperate area with a soaking tub and a loft with two single beds. The room also had a convenient luggage rack and no air conditioning (wasn't necessary) and no telephone. Inclusive breakfast buffet was very good with an egg chef. The menu for dinner is extensive and Mediterranean but not inexpensive. The food offerings looked good but I decided to seek less expensive fare and went instead across the street to the Las Palmeras (sp?) restaurant, which has an extensive menu of fish (wonderful!), chicken, beef, pasta/pizza. The food there was fabulous and the wait staff extremely friendly and charming; the Caeser salad is prepared in front of your table and looked delicious (the only reason I did not order it was because it was too much salad for one person). All in all, I had a delightful, restful stay at the Heliconia and definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Taurusean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.3 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Montana Monteverde
Hotel Montana Monteverde
#4 of 7 in Santa Elena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Fonda Vela
Hotel Fonda Vela
#12 of 23 in Monteverde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jardines de Monteverde
Hotel Jardines de Monteverde
#18 of 23 in Monteverde
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
#13 of 23 in Monteverde
3.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heliconia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heliconia Hotel

Property: Heliconia Hotel
Address: Cerro Plano | Frente a la Escuela Rafael Arguedas, 10921-1000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 23 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Heliconia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Heliconia is located on a stunning 6 acre property and is surrounded by lush, beautiful and tropical rain forest, where you can see and find hundreds of exotic birds and animals. The lodge offers a one of a kind panoramic view of Monteverde and the surrounding area. Hotel Heliconia has been decorated with a fine wood finish, all contributing to the home like ambiance. Here you will find a finely decorated restaurant and bar featuring an international menu, amazing walking trails and numerous jacuzzis found around the property that can fit 2 to 5 people- great for a romantic night for two, or a few drinks with friends. All rooms come with all the amenities like flat screen tv with cable, beautiful spacious bathrooms, fresh towels, coffee maker and balconies with sitting area. All contributing to make your stay at Hotel Holiconia a very comfortable and memorable one. Whether you are looking to relax or be active, Hotel Heliconia has something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Heliconia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heliconia Hotel Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing