We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price - nice grounds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Swiss Hotel Miramontes
Ranked #19 of 42 Monteverde B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2013

I didn't realize when I booked that not all the rooms are in private chalets, so we had a standard room connected to the restaurant. It was still nice though, clean and comfortable enough. Thin walls though! The grounds are nice with their own gardens and some hummingbirds. They show a video at night which was nice and interesting - all the wildlife and sights of Costa Rica with music played by the owner. The food was good too, a bit pricey for Latin America but what you'd pay at any American restaurant. It's too far from the town to walk, so better if you have a car. We wished we would've had the time and means to visit the town. The price of the rooms is really good though.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelLandsPate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2012

Wonderful owner, great food, cute little cabin in the woods...my family enjoyed our stay for 2 days in Dec 2012 driving around the area. It's quiet, peaceful, natural, and Walter is a great host.
For seafood, go to El Marquez in town...delicioso!
BTW the road to Monteverde is a washboard, so be prepared to go slowly...but you don't really need 4WD. In some places you might think so, but there are lots of people without them on the same roads... Better to spend the money to upgrade to a car with better shocks and tires.

Room Tip: No swim pool or gym here...its just to crash and relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

The room was very pretty and clean and the food was original since it had been the first time we had a Röstii made with yucca root as supposed to potatoes. The beds were a little soft, but we weren't falling into the middle, so it was OK (the host did mentioned they were changing the mattresses soon, though). The room had two beds so at one point, my husband and I slept separately for a little bit which was OK too. The hostess was acknowledgeably polite but not very enthusiastic. Their self-made video of the Monteverde Cloud Forest was nice and informative of all the wildlife we didn't get to see, so at least we knew what we were missing.

Room Tip: Travel in the off season (green season, when it rains) and it wont be as hot in the room as there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank therabbit86ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manfred M, Gerente at Swiss Hotel Miramontes, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2015

Hello

Sorry for inconvenience you had during your stay in my hotel.
Starting on June 25th 2015 We are a new administration focused on customer atancion and improve many details in the comfort of the guests

Hola

Disculpe por cual inconveniente que tubieron durante su estadia en mi hotel.
Apartir del 25 de Junio del 2015 Somos una nueva administracion enfocada en la atancion al cliente y mejorar muchos detalles en la comodidad de los huespedes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

For once i must say that the reviews are unfair. Having spent 3 weeks in costa rica this was the best value hotel i stayed at and the most friendly.
For only 50$ we had a clean spacious room and a great breakfast. There was real hot water (not the boiling machine that is dangerous) and the bed was comfortable. The two owners were very friendly and had good tips about the region. They also have a restaurant which cooks delicious food for a cheap price (know that costa rica is a very expensive country). The owner also shows at 7:30pm a video that he made himslef of the animals of Monterverde. An excellent documentary!
I think this hotel is the best surprise of my trip !

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rse08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at this lovlely hotel durinb june 2012. The hotel is run by a friendly couplf from swizerland and they can help you with anything you need to know about the area. We stayed at a cabin and it was very spacious,clean and nicely decorated. Breakfast is exceptional, and dinner is very good too. The owner is a great nature lover and explains allyou want to know about aninals ans nature of the area.
The location is beautiful because you stay right next to the reserve, 1 km from the center. We didnt have a car and got along fine (the owner gave us a ride once, and taxi is about $2)

Highly reccommended!!!

Room Tip: The cabbins are great, thw balcony is in the garden and it's private and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morann77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Swiss-austrian business, run already for many years. Clean and ordered. The owner explain the local fauna by playing at dinner the film they recorded themselves. Good yuca rosti - much cheaper than in Switzerland :) Nice garden, well-functioning wifi.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Plus+
good value for price ($90 for room that sleeps 4 and included breakfast)
Very Clean- free wifi

Negative-
close to road and very noisy
too far from Santa Elena to walk
Food here was too much $$ and food was blandFemale owner Kathi needs a vacation as she is burnt out. Husband Walt was very pleasant.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tongag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manfred M, Gerente at Swiss Hotel Miramontes, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2015

Hello

Sorry for inconvenience you had during your stay in my hotel.
Starting on June 25th 2015 We are a new administration focused on customer atancion and improve many details in the comfort of the guests

Hola

Disculpe por cual inconveniente que tubieron durante su estadia en mi hotel.
Apartir del 25 de Junio del 2015 Somos una nueva administracion enfocada en la atancion al cliente y mejorar muchos detalles en la comodidad de los huespedes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.7 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
1.2 mi away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
493 reviews
1.3 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 20 in Monteverde
1,346 reviews
0.9 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,129 reviews
1.2 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Hotel Miramontes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Hotel Miramontes

Address: 60109, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Monteverde
Price Range: £38 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Swiss Hotel Miramontes 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Swiss Hotel Miramontes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing