We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value hotel in Santa Elena/Monteverde”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Swiss Hotel Miramontes
Ranked #19 of 42 Monteverde B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Beautiful location on the edge of town. An easy, short walk to the centre. We were made extremely welcome by Andrea and David and enjoyed our stay in one of the 'chalets' in the lovely garden.
Food was really good and plentiful at breakfast and dinner.

Room Tip: Chalets/cabins are well worth the extra for the space and a lovely balcony to sit out on. But the...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeeJC2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
There are newer reviews for Swiss Hotel Miramontes
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

Hotel in Monteverde was a big disappointment. We have spent two nights in this hotel. We were the only guests.
Throughout our stay chalet was smelled musty. Bedding smelled musty too. It was hard to sleep in bed.
We had cobwebs on the shelves.
Breakfast was tasty, but poor - bad comunication with the staff.
We don't visit this hotel again.
Only one positive thing- Really beautiful orchids garden.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roman_Dita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manfred M, Gerente at Swiss Hotel Miramontes, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2015

Hello

Sorry for inconvenience you had during your stay in my hotel.
Starting on June 25th We are a new administration focused on customer atancion and improve many details in the comfort of the guests

Hola

Disculpe por cual inconveniente que tubieron durante su estadia en mi hotel.
Apartir del 25 de Junio Somos una nueva administracion enfocada en la atancion al cliente y mejorar muchos detalles en la comodidad de los huespedes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

We have been there for few days.
Wallter the cheff and the owner of the place makes a great indian food.
Also,he inform us about special things to do in monyeverde area (like the San luis waterfalls) which are not mentioned in the travels book...
The rooms are nice and clean.
Just a perfect place.
The Carmi's family.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liorcarmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Our room was not ready, there is no reception and the owners were busy playing cards online to care. They specifically told us to leave the restaurant (only they were sitting in it) We stood outside for 30 minutes. The room we ugraded too was better, but with a strong smell of bathroom. There are cats and dogs in and on the restaurant tables.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aarias00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manfred M, Gerente at Swiss Hotel Miramontes, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2015

Hello

Sorry for inconvenience you had during your stay in my hotel.
Starting on June 25th 2015 We are a new administration focused on customer atancion and improve many details in the comfort of the guests

Hola

Disculpe por cual inconveniente que tubieron durante su estadia en mi hotel.
Apartir del 25 de Junio del 2015 Somos una nueva administracion enfocada en la atancion al cliente y mejorar muchos detalles en la comodidad de los huespedes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

I didn't realize when I booked that not all the rooms are in private chalets, so we had a standard room connected to the restaurant. It was still nice though, clean and comfortable enough. Thin walls though! The grounds are nice with their own gardens and some hummingbirds. They show a video at night which was nice and interesting - all the wildlife and sights of Costa Rica with music played by the owner. The food was good too, a bit pricey for Latin America but what you'd pay at any American restaurant. It's too far from the town to walk, so better if you have a car. We wished we would've had the time and means to visit the town. The price of the rooms is really good though.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelLandsPate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Wonderful owner, great food, cute little cabin in the woods...my family enjoyed our stay for 2 days in Dec 2012 driving around the area. It's quiet, peaceful, natural, and Walter is a great host.
For seafood, go to El Marquez in town...delicioso!
BTW the road to Monteverde is a washboard, so be prepared to go slowly...but you don't really need 4WD. In some places you might think so, but there are lots of people without them on the same roads... Better to spend the money to upgrade to a car with better shocks and tires.

Room Tip: No swim pool or gym here...its just to crash and relax.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

The room was very pretty and clean and the food was original since it had been the first time we had a Röstii made with yucca root as supposed to potatoes. The beds were a little soft, but we weren't falling into the middle, so it was OK (the host did mentioned they were changing the mattresses soon, though). The room had two beds so at one point, my husband and I slept separately for a little bit which was OK too. The hostess was acknowledgeably polite but not very enthusiastic. Their self-made video of the Monteverde Cloud Forest was nice and informative of all the wildlife we didn't get to see, so at least we knew what we were missing.

Room Tip: Travel in the off season (green season, when it rains) and it wont be as hot in the room as there is...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank therabbit86ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manfred M, Gerente at Swiss Hotel Miramontes, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2015

Hello

Sorry for inconvenience you had during your stay in my hotel.
Starting on June 25th 2015 We are a new administration focused on customer atancion and improve many details in the comfort of the guests

Hola

Disculpe por cual inconveniente que tubieron durante su estadia en mi hotel.
Apartir del 25 de Junio del 2015 Somos una nueva administracion enfocada en la atancion al cliente y mejorar muchos detalles en la comodidad de los huespedes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
1.2 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
249 reviews
0.7 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
1.2 mi away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
1.4 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 20 in Monteverde
1,341 reviews
0.9 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Hotel Miramontes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Hotel Miramontes

Address: 60109, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Monteverde
Price Range: £38 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Swiss Hotel Miramontes 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Swiss Hotel Miramontes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing