We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rustic lodge”
Review of La Colina Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monteverde
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Colina Lodge
Reviewed 30 September 2007

This hotel was recommended to us by our friends in Seattle and we found exactly what we were looking for, something basic and rustic close to the cloud forest reserve with friendly staff. Kevin the owner was very helpful and resourceful, arranged anything we would ask for, shared beer with us, we liked to chat with him, we loved all the animals around us - goat, Chester the dog, chickens, parrot, we liked the breakfasts and our room had shower and was clean, we felt like staying in mountain's cabin, but if somebody likes room service, big TV and high speed internet in their room they better stay somewhere else. Even the dust from the road didn't bother us, after all the road is not paved, so it's dusty everywhere. On our next trip to CR, we wanna come back to Monteverde and we stay in this Lodge again!!!

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Nanea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2007

we arrived to a friendly welcome. although the rooms are basic they are all you could ask for and this lodge had a very homely feel with johnny cash playing in the background! "Kev" the owner couldnt have been more lovely, providing all 17 of us with a scrumptious dinner twice. By the end of our stay kev was more like a friend showing us his vintage bead collection and his home made necklaces. What a legend!

I highly reccommend this place particularly for backpackers

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank philtash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2007

When we arrived in Sant Elena as a group of 17 we had trouble with accomodation but with a bit of luck we arrived La Colina, to find out it was an absolute gem.
The man who runs it is Kevin and he has become one of the great characters i´ve met in costa rica so far. He has a parrot on his shoulder and a dog called Chester, chickens running around with a range of animals roaming around the lodge making you feel you are really in the middle of the rain forest.
He was the kindest man helping us cook great food for our dinner, also he tells a range of interesting stories of his life. His lodge was also a museum of beads and artifacts even though they were not from Costa Rica but from around the world it was hugely interesting.
I was glad we didn´t go to the hostels around santa elena as it didnt seem the same as La Colina, which was had a more rustic unique feel to it. It is cheap and i have no clue why it isnt that busy. i will have remember it as a highlight of my costa rica trip.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank freestylesimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2007

La Colina is one of the most charming places to stay in Costa Rica. Although not the lap of luxury, the rooms are clean and safe and are great value for money. Kevin, the man who runs it, is honestly the most hospitable person I have ever met. The experience is ameliorated by the adorable animals in the form of two adorably friendly dogs and a gregarious parrot. All in all a fantastic experience. 11/10.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank KinkoThirlaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2007

La Colina was an absolute dump. The wife and family of the owner have returned to the States and he is running the place on his own, and sound like things have seriously gone downhill. Some of my co-travellers' room was bug ridden, with insects crawling everywhere, there was a leaking shower in the room above the dining room, with water leaking directly into the television, the owner didn't seem to be bothered when we told him. Breakfast was cold and we saw the owner wipe cutlery on his trousers before bringing it from the kitchen! Would definately not recomment the place, especially if traveling with children.

Stayed: June 2007
1  Thank LoisWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2007

The hotel was great. It was simple and rustic, but the owner was extremely friendly and helpful in booking tours and travel recommendations. We would have missed both the twilight tour of the Children's Eternal Rainforest and our previously arranged zip line tour (the company had lost our reservations, but the owner of La Colina quickly got us a spot). The room was cute and clean, and the hotel had a very personal feel to it. If you are looking for a nontraditional hotel to call home while you visit Monteverde - this should be it!

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizzy482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2007

We approached La Colina with modest expectations as a prominent guidebook had noted that the hotel was undergoing renovation by new management. However, La Colina still managed to disappoint.

The room was nicely painted and displayed some artsy touches, which could not obscure its diminutive size and the layer of dust from the heavily traveled dirt road about 20 feet from our door. (Our host noted the dust but made no attempt to remove any of it. )

The mattress was lumpy and broken down, breakfast seemed improvised at best, served with microwaved coffee. (That must be a first in coffee-rich Costa Rica.) Also, if you have a problem with parrots with clipped wings, then this is not the place for you. The pet dogs were quite friendly though.

We left after one uncomfortable night.

Stayed: February 2007
1  Thank genezonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.7 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.8 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
294 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
#4 of 7 in Santa Elena
750 reviews
1.5 mi away
Camino Verde Bed & Breakfast Monteverde
1.5 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Colina Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Colina Lodge

Address: 150 meters north of The Cheese Factory, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 80 Speciality Lodging in Monteverde
Price Range: £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Colina Lodge is a beautiful mountain lodge located at the edge of the Monteverde Cloud Forest. 150 Meters from the Monteverde Cheese Factory, you will find our rustic, log cabin style hotel full of art and bright colors, with a cozy warmth in our dining room where most nights you will find an old wood stove burning. The views and sounds are simply breathtaking! You will wake up every morning to the sound of the famous Bellbird, fresh air and a view of biodiversity like you wouldn't believe. At La Colina Lodge, you will find art, music, beautiful community, great staff, nature at your doorstep, and lots of love! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing