We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected”
Review of La Colina Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monteverde
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Colina Lodge
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
Reviewed 1 August 2011

La Colina is really better described as a hostel. We planned on staying 3 nights but after one hard night with mosquitos buzzing and the smell of mildew, we cut short our stay. There is a sense from the place that there were better days here but that it has gotten rundown. No screens on the windows - no soap in the bathrooms or extra toilet paper.
Lots of dogs - not sure if they live there or not. No breakfast of even the offer of it... all and all a big disappointment.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimKelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdwatchergirl506, Owner at La Colina Lodge, responded to this review, 22 August 2011
We listened to our guests and have changed with the economy. We have dropped our prices and opened up the kitchen to our guests. We have monthly rentals at a budget price,so people can stay longer and really get to know the area and experience a different culture,use our kitchen and feel at home. We do have breakfast available, if I am here, I was not the kids and I were in the states visiting their 90year old grandparents for summer vacation.To address the little soaps wrapped in paper, we no longer use them. My two tree hugging daughters who attendant the environmentally friendly school here came up with the idea to spend more on refillable pump bottles of soap, to save trees. There is nothing a hotel in a Cloud forest can do about the smell of dampness,bugs , or stray dogs looking for food, we all have them. We do what we can, feed the really bad one's, spay or neuter and try and find homes for them. We found homes for 8 animals this year. There is no animal shelter here. If your window did not have a screen, the hardware store may have been out at the time..I do respond to emails and do let people choose with or without breakfast. I do not have the new website up yet, anyone with questions just email me .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    18
    13
    8
    17
See reviews for
20
30
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Not a great hotel destination, especially in a town where there are many other choices that are more comfortable and just as affordable. We were situated far away from the main part of town. Our room smelled strongly of mildew and the linens and towels were not replaced once in our three day stay. Maybe the biggest disappointment was this: although the hotel website boasts of their complementary breakfast and their on-site chef, guess what: there was no breakfast and no chef, and there was not even the opportunity of getting a cup of coffee in the morning. We weren't notified of this when we made our reservation, which felt quite misleading.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kejjhmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdwatchergirl506, Owner at La Colina Lodge, responded to this review, 22 August 2011
We are located a 30 minute walk from the big town of Santa Elena and 10 minutes from Monteverde central, we have 4 restaurants, a 10 minute walk away, one in fact is in all the guide books and considered the best in the area, we have a bus pick up right across the road that picks up every 2 hours. for $1. If guests do not want to use one of our many taxi's or walk. We do not have a bar, we are a Quaker community, if you are looking for that, I know the funniest one to go to for drinks,music and dancing which is a $4 taxi ride away . To address the linen changes and extra roll's of toilet paper remark. We don't walk in someones room and change the linens, we instead ask the guests what they want or if they need anything A lot of people do not want someone in their room when they are in a different country and do not know you or our staff, yet. So we ask first. , We are very hands on with each guests, have a tour desk and are well known for being very accommodating,lay back and a home away from home. We are not a formal hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Monteverde hotels

Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Hands down the best place my 4 friends and I stayed at while we backpacked through Costa Rica in May. Nanci was super knowledgeable, helpful, and welcoming. The price was more than fair and the hotel itself is super neat. Highly recommended, cheers.

Room Tip: Go during the rainy season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ooti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2011

Our stay at La Colina was perfect. After driving around and asking a few places for prices, this seemed like a good deal.

The owner (Nancy) is from the USA and spoke English, which was nice. She was so helpful and took us in as if we were her family. We were craving an American breakfast, so she even made us banana pancakes! She also helped us book our zipline tour and horseback riding tour, which were highlights of our 2 weeks in Costa Rica.

We needed some clothes washed during our stay and Nancy's daughters did it while we were on our zipline tour and had them folded and ready when we returned. I was happy to pay them the fee for it because it's how they earn spending money.

The rooms had some minor bugs in them, but that had to do with Monteverde, not just this place. The rooms were decorated so uniquely with bright colors.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RodneyRasmussen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2011

We stayed at La Colina while in Monteverde/Santa Elena a year ago and we enjoyed our stay so much that we decided to come back again. La Colina Lodge is very comfortable and charming. Nanci, the owner, has done a beautiful job showcasing her artistic talents in the rooms with her paintings and her mosaic tilework. Nanci is very helpful in arranging tours and was very accommodating in making vegetarian meals. La Colina has a very friendly, home-y vibe without a lot of extra frills (we all had a good laugh after someone inquired about the room with the jacuzzi... as there isn't one!). Truly a great place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deilig17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evansville, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2010

La Colina Lodge (LCL)was the best way to start out our vacation in Costa Rica! Nancy and her staff were extremely accomodating and knowledgable! She set us up with transportation in/around the area and with many of the local tourist attractions as well as attractions that were off the beaten path--perfect for us! Nancy also made some of the best food that we had while in CR. The other great part of LCL is that it is a family-run business. It is easy to see that everyone takes pride in the work and services provided at LCL.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fstnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L.A., California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2010

We didn´t do more than check in, get to our room and walk right back out. The beds looked filthy, like you wouldn´t want to get under the covers (or see whats under them). No safe, no toiletries whatsoever (not even soap), no AC or fan, the windows had screens with holes in them so bugs could come and go at leisure, no wifi (even in the lobby). The room was also very small and cramped and had another entrance into the room to an unfinished hallway with unstable floorboards. Its in the middle of nowhere in the mountain. You cannot walk to any restaurants or cafe´s nearby. The staff seemed miserable and I don´t blame them. They also said they gave us a room with a view and the only view it had was of an old overgrown fire pit on the side of the yard. <needless to say we left and went to the main part of town and stayed in a place called the Treehouse for only $45 per night.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DejaDoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdwatchergirl506, Manager at La Colina Lodge, responded to this review, 31 August 2010
Sorry the locals in town gave you a bad impression before you even got up here. I do see a couple follow owners who sit in from of the bus station, trying to drum up business . And they do that to every hotel up here. I personally would never run down another hotel ,to rent out one of mine. And just to let everyone reading this know , the city had come in to grade the roads and did break the water main, we were without water for 5 days during unexpected turrrential rain storm as well. I am from sunny southern california so it was miserable standing in the rains , explaining, no agua in my broken spanglish. It did pull me off completeing the mosaiced floor in the hallway for awhile, which is what the guests is discribing. The city did get the water lines fixed and the floor project is back on it way. This lodge is the first one built up here and is a work in progress which I love doing. Sorry for not having little soaps in the room ,my priority at the time was just hoping the waterlines got fixed. What a gift water truely is
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Verde
Hotel Villa Verde
#19 of 21 in Monteverde
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.8 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa Ocotea Monteverde
Villa Ocotea Monteverde
#37 of 74 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel BellBird
Hotel BellBird
#22 of 74 in Monteverde
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mariposa Bed & Breakfast
Mariposa Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 41 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Colina Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Colina Lodge

Property: La Colina Lodge
Address: 150 meters north of The Cheese Factory, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 74 Speciality Lodging in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Colina Lodge is a beautiful mountain lodge located at the edge of the Monteverde Cloud Forest. 150 Meters from the Monteverde Cheese Factory, you will find our rustic, log cabin style hotel full of art and bright colors, with a cozy warmth in our dining room where most nights you will find an old wood stove burning. The views and sounds are simply breathtaking! You will wake up every morning to the sound of the famous Bellbird, fresh air and a view of biodiversity like you wouldn't believe. At La Colina Lodge, you will find art, music, beautiful community, great staff, nature at your doorstep, and lots of love! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing