We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Claro de Luna
Ranked #18 of 42 Monteverde B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 January 2012

The hotel is ok, but nothing special. Spacious room but not very confortable beds. Helpfull staff and a good starting point for excursions to the rain forest. The shower was ok and they have a babychair in the diningroom (breakfastroom)..

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William_Decoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Claro de Luna
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2011

This hotel is very conveniently located and the staff (Susan) was very helpful and nice. We stayed on the ground floor and the room looked pretty good, at first glance. The linens in this hotel were disgusting. I am not even sure that they were clean. The towels were thin and like sandpaper. The sheets smelled so badly of mold that it made me sick. The beds are also creaky and the mattresses are awful. The hot water only lasted MAYBE 5 minutes, and then you were out of luck for several hours. The windows didn't open, but at least they gave us a fan to keep the air moving. The walls are also very thin and we could hear banging around in the kitchen and lobby area at any given time. The breakfast was pretty good and the gardens were quite nice. I don't think I would recommend anyone to stay here... especially if you want to have a decent night's sleep.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annemarie41574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel and were disappointed wishing hadn't prepaid for it. The rooms were okay and it came with a jacuzzi tub, however there was very little hot water so it was like taking a bath in pool water. There were bugs everywhere in our room and it was difficult to sleep. The staff was very nice and breakfast was decent.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelbug340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

This small family hotel is really good value for money. The rooms in the annex are spatious and with an outdoor veranda. Best of all is the friendly atmosphere. The staff makes a great effort to help you with bookings and good advice. They do all they can to make you feel welcome.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms in the annex as the rooms in the main building are not nearly as good.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jette_DK_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

This hotel is blessed with friendly staff and a beautiful setting.
We were able to eat a fresh breakfast on the veranda overlooking the flourishing front garden, while watching the squirels race in the trees and the humming birds pollenating the flowers.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

The website was promessing but the reality was totally different : bugs, terrible beds with noisy and uncomfortable plastic under the linen, light walls and horrible breakfast. People are not nice at all and everything in the lobby / breakfast room is durty. When my husband asked after his poor piece of bad bread whether he could get some granola and yogurt like the one I had ordered, the woman took my bowl and brought him back with the granola : she didn't even change the bowl !

I am convinced that you can find a better place for the same money.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fdw1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

We were very excited about this place before arriving to Costa Rica. Reviews and pictures of the hotel looked amazing and promising.
How wrong we were...We were allocated to one of the rooms upstairs, just above the kitchen. The room was very small, dark and unbelievably hot. Tiny fan was standing on the corner in full speed but the effect remained unnoticed.
We discovered that the cleaning lady had done the job hastily as toilet was not flushed from the previous guests and the toilet paper basket not emptied...A bit of a disturbing find.
I wouldn't mind normal hand wash paper but as it happened...this was not it.
I presume the toilet was not flushed as it didn't work and maybe this was beyond the cleaning lady's abilities.
Luckily for me, my boyfriend is a fixer and sorted the problem.
We were supposed to stay 2 nights in this place but after the first night, we had had enough as there were some seriously big spiders crawling up our arms when we woke up.
We packed our bags and went to a small place next door called La Orchidea (or similar). 40$ for 1 night and breakfast in a spotless room. We were delighted.
Now, we have been travelling around a lot in Asia and are well used to low standard but this place was beyond anything experienced before.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ninis78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.3 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,127 reviews
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
250 reviews
0.8 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 20 in Monteverde
1,342 reviews
1.0 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Claro de Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Claro de Luna

Address: 3 blocks south from Catholic Church in Santa Elena, 5655, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Monteverde
Price Range: £39 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Claro de Luna 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a beautiful location on a hill overlooking town, lush gardens with a path connecting the buildings housing the reception, rooms and restaurant. Excellent ambiance, comfortable rooms, private bathroom with hot water and breakfast included. 5 minute walk to downtown, easy access to shops, restaurants, banks and supermarkets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Claro de Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing