We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy hotel, nice staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Claro de Luna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Claro de Luna
Ranked #21 of 40 Monteverde B&B and Inns
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Cozy hotel, nice staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Small hotel, friendly staff, very cozy and charming. We stayed in some new rooms built outside the main cabina. The rooms were awesome. The hotel is a bit far from the main Monteverde forest, but we had a car and so it was OK. The price we got for the 2 nights was a great deal.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    49
    44
    15
    14
See reviews for
30
78
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

We spent a few nights at this B&B in early February. The Superior rooms were spacious and comfortable. The gardens are lovely, and the location is easily accessible by foot from the downtown shops and restaurants. Breakfast was pretty average with a limited selection of scrambled eggs, toast, rice, pancakes, and a small portion of cut-up fresh fruit. The dining room is not equipped to handle a full house of guests.

Room Tip: Book a room away from the main lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
125 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

The hotel is ok, but nothing special. Spacious room but not very confortable beds. Helpfull staff and a good starting point for excursions to the rain forest. The shower was ok and they have a babychair in the diningroom (breakfastroom)..

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William_Decoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

This hotel is very conveniently located and the staff (Susan) was very helpful and nice. We stayed on the ground floor and the room looked pretty good, at first glance. The linens in this hotel were disgusting. I am not even sure that they were clean. The towels were thin and like sandpaper. The sheets smelled so badly of mold that it made me sick. The beds are also creaky and the mattresses are awful. The hot water only lasted MAYBE 5 minutes, and then you were out of luck for several hours. The windows didn't open, but at least they gave us a fan to keep the air moving. The walls are also very thin and we could hear banging around in the kitchen and lobby area at any given time. The breakfast was pretty good and the gardens were quite nice. I don't think I would recommend anyone to stay here... especially if you want to have a decent night's sleep.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annemarie41574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel and were disappointed wishing hadn't prepaid for it. The rooms were okay and it came with a jacuzzi tub, however there was very little hot water so it was like taking a bath in pool water. There were bugs everywhere in our room and it was difficult to sleep. The staff was very nice and breakfast was decent.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbug340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Monteverde hotels

Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

This small family hotel is really good value for money. The rooms in the annex are spatious and with an outdoor veranda. Best of all is the friendly atmosphere. The staff makes a great effort to help you with bookings and good advice. They do all they can to make you feel welcome.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms in the annex as the rooms in the main building are not nearly as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jette_DK_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rambouillet, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

This hotel is blessed with friendly staff and a beautiful setting.
We were able to eat a fresh breakfast on the veranda overlooking the flourishing front garden, while watching the squirels race in the trees and the humming birds pollenating the flowers.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.2 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#4 of 23 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Claro de Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Claro de Luna

Property: Hotel Claro de Luna
Address: 3 blocks south from Catholic Church in Santa Elena, 5655, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Claro de Luna 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a beautiful location on a hill overlooking town, lush gardens with a path connecting the buildings housing the reception, rooms and restaurant. Excellent ambiance, comfortable rooms, private bathroom with hot water and breakfast included. 5 minute walk to downtown, easy access to shops, restaurants, banks and supermarkets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Claro de Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing