We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great little hotel and worth staying at”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Claro de Luna
Ranked #17 of 42 Monteverde B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 March 2012

The other reviews for this hotel are mixed. I suspect it is because people are looking for a three or four star hotel. This is rated as a one star, but is much much better. The help is very friendly, and the place a little oasis in town. ten minutes to downtown and it is quiet with beautiful gardens. I stayed in the main house, which has smaller rooms, and I found them more than adequate. I did not see bugs, (but it is not the rainy season), and the bed was comfortable. There was plenty of hot water and the bathroom very large. The breakfasts were tasty and typical CR but even with pancakes. There is at first a damp aroma to the room which is quickly dispersed with open windows. The humidity here is almost 100% so you can expect to feel a bit damp at times. Indeed, clothes that usually dry overnight take almost two days to get fully dry. The place is very charming, bbut would not be for people looking for luxury. As for the sheets and towels, they were fine. There was no noise. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laficabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Claro de Luna
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2012

Small hotel, friendly staff, very cozy and charming. We stayed in some new rooms built outside the main cabina. The rooms were awesome. The hotel is a bit far from the main Monteverde forest, but we had a car and so it was OK. The price we got for the 2 nights was a great deal.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We spent a few nights at this B&B in early February. The Superior rooms were spacious and comfortable. The gardens are lovely, and the location is easily accessible by foot from the downtown shops and restaurants. Breakfast was pretty average with a limited selection of scrambled eggs, toast, rice, pancakes, and a small portion of cut-up fresh fruit. The dining room is not equipped to handle a full house of guests.

Room Tip: Book a room away from the main lodge.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

The hotel is ok, but nothing special. Spacious room but not very confortable beds. Helpfull staff and a good starting point for excursions to the rain forest. The shower was ok and they have a babychair in the diningroom (breakfastroom)..

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William_Decoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

This hotel is very conveniently located and the staff (Susan) was very helpful and nice. We stayed on the ground floor and the room looked pretty good, at first glance. The linens in this hotel were disgusting. I am not even sure that they were clean. The towels were thin and like sandpaper. The sheets smelled so badly of mold that it made me sick. The beds are also creaky and the mattresses are awful. The hot water only lasted MAYBE 5 minutes, and then you were out of luck for several hours. The windows didn't open, but at least they gave us a fan to keep the air moving. The walls are also very thin and we could hear banging around in the kitchen and lobby area at any given time. The breakfast was pretty good and the gardens were quite nice. I don't think I would recommend anyone to stay here... especially if you want to have a decent night's sleep.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annemarie41574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel and were disappointed wishing hadn't prepaid for it. The rooms were okay and it came with a jacuzzi tub, however there was very little hot water so it was like taking a bath in pool water. There were bugs everywhere in our room and it was difficult to sleep. The staff was very nice and breakfast was decent.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelbug340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

This small family hotel is really good value for money. The rooms in the annex are spatious and with an outdoor veranda. Best of all is the friendly atmosphere. The staff makes a great effort to help you with bookings and good advice. They do all they can to make you feel welcome.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms in the annex as the rooms in the main building are not nearly as good.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jette_DK_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.3 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,127 reviews
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
250 reviews
0.8 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 20 in Monteverde
1,343 reviews
1.0 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Claro de Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Claro de Luna

Address: 3 blocks south from Catholic Church in Santa Elena, 5655, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Monteverde
Price Range: £39 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Claro de Luna 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a beautiful location on a hill overlooking town, lush gardens with a path connecting the buildings housing the reception, rooms and restaurant. Excellent ambiance, comfortable rooms, private bathroom with hot water and breakfast included. 5 minute walk to downtown, easy access to shops, restaurants, banks and supermarkets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Claro de Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing