We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff, Delicious Breakfast, Relaxing Atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Claro de Luna
Ranked #19 of 40 Monteverde B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Staff, Delicious Breakfast, Relaxing Atmosphere”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We arrived at Claro de Luna and the front desk quickly checked us in and gave us a beautiful room behind the main house that had our own porch to sit out on and spacious room. They helped us set up a night walk through the rain forest that first evening and everything went smoothly from start to finish. The breakfast in the morning is delicious and the bathrooms are clean and comfortable. I would recommend this to anyone going to Monteverde and I hope to return in the future!

Room Tip: We enjoyed a room facing the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RTW42012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    52
    44
    15
    14
See reviews for
32
83
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

When traveling the country-side on a three-city tour for my 30th birthday, me and my 3 fellow female travelers stayed at this B&B for 3 nights as our second stop out of three. First the pros-the staff was very friendly and spoke great English. The grounds are surrounded by a beautifully kept garden. The breakfast was typical Tico breakfast, but included pancakes with a homemade fruit spread made with cinnamon and mango that is to die for. The super syrupy syrup for the pancakes is also awesome. Don't forget to tip the cook! She works hard and then has to clean all those dishes by hand!!! The hotel is only a short walk to town for shopping and dining. The hotel owns Johnny's Pizzeria and guests who dine there received one free alcoholic beverage (made with lemon cello and a liquor made by the owner) and 10% off of your entire bill. Cabs are cheap and speedy to get to you and get you back. The rooms are very spacious and most of the rooms have insect nets on them. The wood work in this hotel is AMAZING! Especially in the bathrooms. We had cottages 15 &16 in the back portion of the newer building. Now the cons-The rooms were not ready when we arrived and we had to wait 45 minutes to get inside after a very long and bumpy ride to the hotel given there are very few paved roads in Monteverde. The washcloths are the size of small dish rag and they had nothing smaller so it was like taking a shower with a whole towel at times. The water works backwards as far as what is labeled hot and cold, etc. and often we did not have much hot water. There is NO TV, NO phone, NO cable, NO internet and NO pool at this location!!!! This made passing the time rather boring if you were not out and about in the town or on an excursion in the cloud forest or reading a book. There were tons of bugs crawling around in the bathroom and bedroom areas, nothing drastic, but when you're traveling with someone who hates bugs it could get dramatic. It was extremely windy. The wind was quite violent actually and often sounded like it was going to rip the roofs off the building. I found it calming and could sleep right through it, but it kept some of the other members of our party up at night. When I asked why the weather was this way the locals explained that given the height of the region and the transition from wet to dry season the winds are a combo of winds from the Caribbean and the Pacific making them violent when they collide. It was pretty consistently cold here!! Having packed primarily for warm weather we found ourselves sleeping in the one jacket we brought along. I even slept in socks, leggings, a long sleeve sweater and scarf! No heater either so you have to be prepared or deal with it. This unfortunately, was our least favorite of our hotel destinations. Not because it was horrible by any means, but without the amenities I mentioned it was pretty boring making us all feel like we could’ve skipped it. There's a soda shop right at the bottom of the hill from the hotel where we ordered casados for dinner if we weren’t @ Johnny's. Also down the street in the direction towards town (on the right hand side) a small jewelry shop where the man makes beaded and string braclets/necklaces and wooden earrings by hand! Most of the selections ran from $1-$3 US dollars!! Making this the best souvenir shop we hit up!

Room Tip: We couldn't choose what rooms we had, but everywhere was pretty peaceful given there's not m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

The other reviews for this hotel are mixed. I suspect it is because people are looking for a three or four star hotel. This is rated as a one star, but is much much better. The help is very friendly, and the place a little oasis in town. ten minutes to downtown and it is quiet with beautiful gardens. I stayed in the main house, which has smaller rooms, and I found them more than adequate. I did not see bugs, (but it is not the rainy season), and the bed was comfortable. There was plenty of hot water and the bathroom very large. The breakfasts were tasty and typical CR but even with pancakes. There is at first a damp aroma to the room which is quickly dispersed with open windows. The humidity here is almost 100% so you can expect to feel a bit damp at times. Indeed, clothes that usually dry overnight take almost two days to get fully dry. The place is very charming, bbut would not be for people looking for luxury. As for the sheets and towels, they were fine. There was no noise. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laficabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Small hotel, friendly staff, very cozy and charming. We stayed in some new rooms built outside the main cabina. The rooms were awesome. The hotel is a bit far from the main Monteverde forest, but we had a car and so it was OK. The price we got for the 2 nights was a great deal.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We spent a few nights at this B&B in early February. The Superior rooms were spacious and comfortable. The gardens are lovely, and the location is easily accessible by foot from the downtown shops and restaurants. Breakfast was pretty average with a limited selection of scrambled eggs, toast, rice, pancakes, and a small portion of cut-up fresh fruit. The dining room is not equipped to handle a full house of guests.

Room Tip: Book a room away from the main lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

The hotel is ok, but nothing special. Spacious room but not very confortable beds. Helpfull staff and a good starting point for excursions to the rain forest. The shower was ok and they have a babychair in the diningroom (breakfastroom)..

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William_Decoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 December 2011

This hotel is very conveniently located and the staff (Susan) was very helpful and nice. We stayed on the ground floor and the room looked pretty good, at first glance. The linens in this hotel were disgusting. I am not even sure that they were clean. The towels were thin and like sandpaper. The sheets smelled so badly of mold that it made me sick. The beds are also creaky and the mattresses are awful. The hot water only lasted MAYBE 5 minutes, and then you were out of luck for several hours. The windows didn't open, but at least they gave us a fan to keep the air moving. The walls are also very thin and we could hear banging around in the kitchen and lobby area at any given time. The breakfast was pretty good and the gardens were quite nice. I don't think I would recommend anyone to stay here... especially if you want to have a decent night's sleep.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annemarie41574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
240 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
238 reviews
0.8 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,095 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
1.0 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Claro de Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Claro de Luna

Property: Hotel Claro de Luna
Address: 3 blocks south from Catholic Church in Santa Elena, 5655, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Claro de Luna 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a beautiful location on a hill overlooking town, lush gardens with a path connecting the buildings housing the reception, rooms and restaurant. Excellent ambiance, comfortable rooms, private bathroom with hot water and breakfast included. 5 minute walk to downtown, easy access to shops, restaurants, banks and supermarkets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Claro de Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing