We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“December 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Claro de Luna
Ranked #19 of 41 Monteverde B&B and Inns
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“December 2013”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We stayed 2 nights here. Beautiful grounds. Made of wood rooms was so rustic. A couple of issues, the people who own this small BB hotel speak Spanish and little English. Restaurant is only open for breakfast, must walk into town to get food other times. Close walking to most things. I would stay again.

Room Tip: Nice place to stay for a night or two
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurajedmonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    52
    44
    16
    14
See reviews for
33
83
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kiryat Tivon, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Its a very beautiful hotel made of wood with spacious, clean rooms and nice large bathroom and amazing garden. 3 mins walk from the "center" of the village.
I only stayed one night in the low season -there were only 4 more guests in the hotel and they are were clearly heard through the wood floors and walls -this may be a problem in high season when hotel is full.
Lukewarm water.
No TV (if that interests you)
Free WiFi
Poor breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amitbal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dortmund, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This hotel is on the outskirts of Santa Elena. It consists of two parts, the main house (where our room was located), and a second house with the more spacier rooms. The whole area is a converted ranch with a nice garden.

The main house (and the rooms as well) has a nice styling, with a lot of wood being used.

Positive:
- Styling
- Garden
- Quiet
- Nice personell
- spacey bathroom
- Free wifi

Negative:
- Very (very!) noisy rooms in the main house. You can hear each conversation from above and beside your room, and every step on the second floor resonates throughout the house. This is because the floors are built with a single layer of wood without any noise insulation.
- Some rooms (especially our room) in the main house ware very dark (the only window we had was directly facing an overgrown rock)
- No fridge
- Not enough value for money (like most hotels in Costa Rica)

Overall i would recommend this hotel only if you can get a room in the newer building at the back of the lot, the room in the main building are simply too noisy.

Room Tip: Avoid the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cradle22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I got the deluxe room which provided us with 2 queen beds, including sheer curtains surrouning the bed so we felt like princesses. The bathroom was spacious with a lovely large shower and high ceilings and skylights.
The surrounding garden is beautiful - like their own private butterfly garden. While wifi anf TV connection aren't great, this is a great place if you just want to relax, take in the view and sit back in your rocking chair on the patio and soak up the warm atmosphere.
Breakfast wasn't great, but it was good enough and the staff are relatively polite.
Its quite a close distance from the centre of Santa Elena town, about 5 minute walk there, 8 minutes back (its up hill). But i woulnd't recommend walking at night - its very dark, very rocky and very hilly. However, the views are fantastic.

Room Tip: We were not in the main building above the reception - which doesn't seem to have got the great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Remi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This hotel is dated, not very clean, the staff are apathetic and unhelpful. the breakfast was disgusting and there were flies everywhere. Our room even leaked water from the rain! Avoid this hotel at all costs!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiisM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Monteverde hotels

New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

I am surprised about the bad reviews... we had a good experience, and actually loved the shower there. No issues with hot water. I think you have to go in with the right expectations. This is not a luxury hotel. Boutique, I think, in this case is meant to mean canopy beds and lovely chalets. We had no tv and no wifi, but we didn't mind. The front desk employees were kind and eager to make suggestions for activities in Monteverde. The walking distance to town was very pleasant. If you like many toiletries bring your own: only a soap dispenser in the shower. Breakfast staff was a little stiff, but the food was ok.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front have better light and more pleasant patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meme135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

This was the most disappointing hotel of our 15 day vacation in Costa Rica. Our room was located in a building at the rear of the property. It was large but dark and gloomy with several lights not working. There was one bedside light and one candle in a wine bottle! I am not joking! There was an old TV that gave one fuzzy program. There was no A/C no heating, no toilet paper holder, a cracked sink that never had hot water, although the shower did. The wardrobe had no back to it and only one shelf. It had a few cheap plastic hangers. There was no room safe.
The property had seen better days but was suffering from neglect, especially the tropical garden.The path from front to back was poorly lit with one lamp standard with broken glass and plants growing through it.
Breakfast the first morning was poor. We were handed a small plate with a quarter of a banana, about an eighth of an orange, a sliver of papaya and a wedge of watermelon. This was followed by a small plate of badly cooked scrambled eggs and soggy toast. The second morning was slightly better with a small amount of cereal also provided.
The hotel was about 5-10 minutes walk from town along a very bad road. We were so diss appointed that we checked out early to another hotel.

Room Tip: Some previous reviews indicate that the rooms in the main building are good.We were in the building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oatlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
243 reviews
0.3 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,116 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
240 reviews
1.0 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Claro de Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Claro de Luna

Property: Hotel Claro de Luna
Address: 3 blocks south from Catholic Church in Santa Elena, 5655, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Claro de Luna 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a beautiful location on a hill overlooking town, lush gardens with a path connecting the buildings housing the reception, rooms and restaurant. Excellent ambiance, comfortable rooms, private bathroom with hot water and breakfast included. 5 minute walk to downtown, easy access to shops, restaurants, banks and supermarkets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Claro de Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing