We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful rooms, beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Claro de Luna
Ranked #18 of 42 Monteverde B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This was my absolute favorite hotel in Costa Rica. It is a short 5 min walk to "downtown" Monteverde without the noise, tourist trap stuff or traffic. The grounds were beautiful and the porch was so comfy. The room had great poster beds and a HUGE shower. The staff was kind and gracious as well. They came and got us when our tour vans arrived early on a few occasions which was very nice. They also asked us each night what time we want to eat breakfast as it was cooked to order when we arrived in the eating area in the morning.

The only slight draw back was that wifi was only available at the reception area. But honestly, it was good to be off the grid for a while.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Claro de Luna
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

Nicely situated hotel in impressive mountain village. Rooms are beautiful. We had two huge beds. In the bathroom there was a bubble bath. They serve a good breakfast. Advice about possibilities was very complete. Wifi working. A hotel to come back.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Theo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed here for two nights and were very happy with the stay. The staff were friendly and helpful in booking tours and finding us alternative transportation when we missed our pre arranged shuttle. They also have good recommendations for tours - go to El Trapiche (coffee/sugar came plantation)!! The breakfast was great and the morning walk through the gardens from the main house to breakfast is glorious.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Marissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We stayed 2 nights here. Beautiful grounds. Made of wood rooms was so rustic. A couple of issues, the people who own this small BB hotel speak Spanish and little English. Restaurant is only open for breakfast, must walk into town to get food other times. Close walking to most things. I would stay again.

Room Tip: Nice place to stay for a night or two
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurajedmonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Its a very beautiful hotel made of wood with spacious, clean rooms and nice large bathroom and amazing garden. 3 mins walk from the "center" of the village.
I only stayed one night in the low season -there were only 4 more guests in the hotel and they are were clearly heard through the wood floors and walls -this may be a problem in high season when hotel is full.
Lukewarm water.
No TV (if that interests you)
Free WiFi
Poor breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amitbal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This hotel is on the outskirts of Santa Elena. It consists of two parts, the main house (where our room was located), and a second house with the more spacier rooms. The whole area is a converted ranch with a nice garden.

The main house (and the rooms as well) has a nice styling, with a lot of wood being used.

Positive:
- Styling
- Garden
- Quiet
- Nice personell
- spacey bathroom
- Free wifi

Negative:
- Very (very!) noisy rooms in the main house. You can hear each conversation from above and beside your room, and every step on the second floor resonates throughout the house. This is because the floors are built with a single layer of wood without any noise insulation.
- Some rooms (especially our room) in the main house ware very dark (the only window we had was directly facing an overgrown rock)
- No fridge
- Not enough value for money (like most hotels in Costa Rica)

Overall i would recommend this hotel only if you can get a room in the newer building at the back of the lot, the room in the main building are simply too noisy.

Room Tip: Avoid the main house.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cradle22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I got the deluxe room which provided us with 2 queen beds, including sheer curtains surrouning the bed so we felt like princesses. The bathroom was spacious with a lovely large shower and high ceilings and skylights.
The surrounding garden is beautiful - like their own private butterfly garden. While wifi anf TV connection aren't great, this is a great place if you just want to relax, take in the view and sit back in your rocking chair on the patio and soak up the warm atmosphere.
Breakfast wasn't great, but it was good enough and the staff are relatively polite.
Its quite a close distance from the centre of Santa Elena town, about 5 minute walk there, 8 minutes back (its up hill). But i woulnd't recommend walking at night - its very dark, very rocky and very hilly. However, the views are fantastic.

Room Tip: We were not in the main building above the reception - which doesn't seem to have got the great...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Remi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.3 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,127 reviews
0.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
249 reviews
0.8 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 20 in Monteverde
1,342 reviews
1.0 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
1.1 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Claro de Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Claro de Luna

Address: 3 blocks south from Catholic Church in Santa Elena, 5655, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Monteverde
Price Range: £39 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Claro de Luna 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a beautiful location on a hill overlooking town, lush gardens with a path connecting the buildings housing the reception, rooms and restaurant. Excellent ambiance, comfortable rooms, private bathroom with hot water and breakfast included. 5 minute walk to downtown, easy access to shops, restaurants, banks and supermarkets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Claro de Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing