We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable hotel, but smaller than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Lafayette, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Affordable hotel, but smaller than expected”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Pros:
- The location of this hotel is excellent, close to the center of Santa Elena.
- A refreshing welcome beverage was offered at check-in.
- The kids loved the pool!
- The staff is friendly and helpful.
- The free breakfast buffet was good! The staff even made delicious hot cocoa for the kids.
- Although we didn't have dinner at the hotel, we could hear the live music coming from the restaurant. It sounded really nice!
- Affordable hotel, one of the least expensive we stayed in during our trip.

Cons:
-The photos of this hotel make it look bigger and maybe a little fancier than it turned out to be, but it certainly has its own charm.
- Our room felt small for our family (2 adults, 2 young kids), with almost no place to put our luggage.
- It can get windy in Monteverde/Santa Elena, and the trees above our room kept dropping debris on the metal roof. My 2 nights here were probably the least restful of our entire trip for this reason alone!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Hello Patricia. Thank you for posting such a helpful review, you really took the time to out together a very nice detailed review.
We are very well located in terms of down town atractions, restaurants, supermarkets, info centers, gift shops, atm´s, and lots more,, just 4 blocks away from down town. Also, from our hotel you can have access to all different tours in the area. Everything is about 10/15 minutes away..
We are a small hotel, we grew up little by little and we have tried to compensate our cons with extra helpful, outgoing personnel. The pool, jacuzzi, kid's play house, live music and all the little amenities and details are ment to balance the fact that we are a tiny hotel trying really hard....
Our food is really good, too bad you did not stay for luch or dinner, we'd love to serve you by the pool or the terrace..
Live music is also one of our most important added values,
Thank you very much,, we are very glad yo enjoyed your stay.
sincerely
the staff at Poco a Poco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    216
    177
    70
    32
See reviews for
199
285
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We didn't really get a feel for this hotel since we stayed here only one day. It was in the middle of town so not mush wildlife to see. We spent the day at Selvatura Park. This is a must if staying in Monteverde. We did the butterfly garden, hummingbird garden and the hanging walkways. As a nature loving family, this was an excellent tour of the cloud forest. I recommend taking a guided tour as you will learn quite a bit from the knowledgeable guides. We ate at a pizza place recommended by the front desk and had one of the best pizzas I have ever eaten. We shopped in town that evening. It was chilly as far as Costa Rican weather goes so we were surprised when we took a dip in the hot tub, that is was cold. The pool was heated so we stayed to swim. Our room was beside the parking lot and next to the restaurant. It was quite noisy until it closed. The next day we had to leave early for our connection to the next leg of our tour. Since we were going to miss our complimentary breakfast, the kitchen packed each of us a generous bag lunch. This place may have been better for us if we could have stayed longer to take advantage of the amenities but I would recommend staying on the outskirts of town to be in the jungle for the relaxing feel and to take in nature.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Hello Mrs Beverly. Making the trip to Montverde for just one night may seem a little too much for some people,, we strongly recommend staying at least two nights. There´s so much to do and see that sometimes one day isn’t enough. We are located down town Santa Elena, there are other hotels further more off town, yet I believe we have the best of both, since you can access all the attractions at the Cloud Forest without being too far of the main area for restaurants, facilities etc.
We think of ourselves as a comfortable, well equipped hotel were guests can enjoy comforts while the experience the Cloud Forest. From our hotel, you can walk into town, visit different attractions within 2 or 3 blocks away: Frog Fond, Butterfly gardens, orchid gardens, serpentarium, coffee roasting shops, etc..
I wish you could have stay longer, we have a lot to offer.
Thank you and visit us again sometime.
Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

We were a little nervous about this hotel because of the few poor reviews. We were pleasantly surprised with our stay. If we has to compare it to a hotel back home in the states, it's better than a Motel 6 but not as nice as a Marriott. The property is well maintained. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They booked our excursions, recommended places for dinner and gave us directions. Genuine people.

We stayed on the 2nd floor because I read reviews that the top floor is really loud due to strong the winds. It's true, very windy but that didn't bother us. The sound of the wind actually helped us fall asleep. We were in the mountains! What else would we expect? Our room was clean & comfy. Perfect for a place to get some rest after hiking in the beautiful rain forest.

The breakfast was delicious! Loved the gallo pinto, eggs and coffee. They also had fresh fruit, toast and a few other items.

Overall - very satisfied

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marta_yajaira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Hello Marta. Thank you on behalf of all our staff for such a nice review, Our job is to assist guests with all their needs, and we love to help and share our experience in Monteverde with visitors that are willing to let us lend them a hand. I´m very glad you found our assistance useful.
We try to do our best every day, to be friendly outgoing, helpful and assertive.
in terms of stars and other hotel categories, there´s always gray spots, standars are not really universal, we are a 4 stars hotel, yet, we´d rather be a hotel that offers a lot of services, added values, great service, good location and comfortable, clean rooms.
Our restaurant is truly one of the best in town and our facilities creat a great deal for our rates.
Best regards and happy travels.
sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed here with our three boys for two nights. After the extremely rough ride up unpaved mountain roads to get to Monteverde, this place was a welcome sight. The welcome drinks and explanation of amenities we received at check-in were exceptional. While the rooms are a little small and dated, they were comfortable, sufficient for our needs and met our expectations. The pool area was great, plenty of hot water in the jacuzzi, and friendly wait staff to bring drinks as we lounged. While we were initially surprised there was no air conditioning, the Monteverde breezes soon made it evident that air conditioning was unnecessary. We slept very well in the cool mountain air and awoke to the serenade of the birds at dawn.

I would recommend the restaurant on site (the tenderloin with coffee sauce is terrific) and the breakfasts are good -- my children now love rice and beans with their scrambled eggs. Also try the Tree House in town -- just a very cool restaurant with good food. As far as recreation, the Sky Trek (do the combo with the walk, tram and zips) was out of this world -- I have never seen zip lines this high and so integrated with nature. The location of the hotel is great -- right across the street from a grocery store and a short manageable walk to town.

All in all, a terrific couple of days in Monteverde at the Hotel Poco a Poco. Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Hello Mr Jhon. Thank you very much for your very good review; we are very glad you and your family enjoyed your time spent with us.
We cater for families and guests looking for comforts and relaxation while they enjoy the beauties of Monteverde. Our pool, jacuzzi, kid's play house and gardens are kids welcoming. Thank you for mentioning our restaurant and one of our house's specials, we dont really get enough comments on Trip Advisor regarding our food, and it is really good, we get it all the time but it really shows on the reviews. Thank you, we are trying very hard with our kitchen staff to offer the best meals in town.
thank you for sharing that with us and the rest of readers.
by the way: they are now working on the construction of the road up to Monteverde, we are going to have better acces soon. I'm very glad you found our rooms satisfactory, I know we don't offer a lot of space but they are comfortable and well equiped. You are totally right about A/C, it does feel warm during sunny mornings but it does cool off latter every day.
Thank you very much, happy travels.
The staff at Poco a Poco.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Stayed two nights here. The grounds are compact but pretty with a curving path past flowers, the pool, a fountain, and hot tub.The hot tub was very warm. Breakfast buffet food was only okay. My husband said the music at night in the restaurant was very well done. Initially when we saw our room we were taken back. Our room was dark, furniture very out dated and no air conditioning. (In the afternoons it was quite warm but did cool off some at night with the windows open.) There was 3 of us and no place to set our luggage. Definitely not a room one would want to hang out in. Plus for us was a bistro table and 2 chairs outside our door thus we could sit there. We were within walking distance of a market, some other restaurants, and shops.

Room Tip: Our room was #22 and on the back side of the motel overlooking a pasture with cows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DL54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Hello Mrs, DL, thank you for your review.
We grew little by little, (as our name stands for… ) our rooms are not as big as we´d like them to be, we have also tried to accommodate extra amenities and comforts and sometimes the rooms appear to be a bit small specially for families with teenagers or for more than two adults sharing the room.
We try to compensate this with extra comforts and added values on the exteriors, the tables, chairs, lounge chairs by the pool, decks, gardens, etc.
There are not air conditioning hotels in Monteverde, we are at 5.000 feet of elevation and the weather is cool, indeed, due to global warming we are experiencing more heat in Monteverde. So far no one has invested in air conditioning in Monteverde. Again, our location, pool, Jacuzzi, spa, gardens, live music, great restaurant are our biggest strengths. We are very glad you had a good time with us.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
196 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed two nights at Poco a Poco.
Here are the pros:
1. It has a great location - an easy walk to restaurants and town.
2. There is a nice pool area with hot tub
3. The breakfast at the restaurant is decent.
4. The woman at the front desk was wonderful - very friendly and helpful.

The cons:
1. We had three people in a 1 double + 1 single room. There really wasn't enough room for two adults, a teen and our luggage. We realized on the way out that we had actually booked a room with 1 king + 2 singles. Somehow we missed that when checking in but it tells me that it would be good to check your reservation when you check in.
2. The phone didn't work properly. Each time we tried to call the front desk, the connection was bad.
3. While there was no smoking on the grounds, some guy would go right outside and smoke. Since our room was right there, the smoke came right into our room. After this happened a few times, I went and told him the situation.
4. it is a bit noisy - both nights there were very noisy people in the hall.Our friends staying at a different part of the hotel said the same thing.

So, I give the Poco a Poco a mixed review.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjc_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Hello MJC. Thank you very much for your very detailed review. I´m sure it will really help other travelers.
When it comes to taste and expectations every place offers good and bad features; we are a clean, comfortable, accessible hotel with lots of added values and a great staff. We cater to satisfy our guests and to provide an enjoyable experience to everybody. You did not mention our meals ( lunch or dinner ) or the fact that we offer live music every night these are some of our most appealing strengths, we offer one of the best menu in Monteverde. Our pool, Jacuzzi, spa, gardens and small workout room add more details for our very reasonable rates.
I´m very sorry about the phone, we did fix it and is currently working properly. Once you pointed out the smoking situation we reacted and talked to the guest, nevertheless, we know there were repeated times when he went out and did again, despite the fact that smoking is forbidden within the hotel.
In terms of noise, it depend on the kind of occupancy and le location of the room. Our rooms are well isolated and this has never been an issue, nevertheless, we´ll be more carefull with groups or families traveling together so we can keep a more peaceful environment.

Thank you very much.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

So this is the spot I slept the worst at in Costa Rica. Way way over priced. The only reason we stayed here was everything else was booked and because they have a pool.... But jacuzzi was only luke-warm. Very club medy without much character! If your going to spend the 150 they're going to charge you go somewhere else... Cheesy spot.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerencia Genera... H, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Hello, Mr William.
I´m very sorry you felt this way about the relationship: price/value of Poco a Poco, too bad everything else was sold out so you could have checked on other hotels and get a better perception of prices and rates in Monteverde. Specially during high season. There are only three pools at Monteverde, and we are the cheapest option if you do wish to enjoy one, I´m very sorry about the temperature of the Jacuzzi, it is meant to be at 100 degrees Fahrenheit. I don’t know what you mean about character, we try to offer entertainment, nice open grounds, great restaurant, pool and Jacuzzi for guests to relax and enjoy.. perhaps you are accustomed to something else, better luck next time and perhaps you´d be better making reservations in advance,
Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Monteverde hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.1 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,079 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 20 in Monteverde
1,297 reviews
0.5 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.9 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
234 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Fonda Vela
Hotel Fonda Vela
#12 of 20 in Monteverde
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco

Property: Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Address: | Santa Elena Centro, Frente Al Centro Comercial Plaza Monteverde, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As its name stands for, Poco a Poco is a hotel that has grown little by little, from five rooms in 2000; our restaurant and 6 more rooms in 02, 18 more rooms at the end of 2005, our heated pool and the last 3 rooms on 2006 and finally for march 2009, our new front desk building, with a new standard in architecture and construction materials: modern, versatile and clean.The hotel's analogy and emblem: The Turtle, relates to its mythological attributes of wisdom, spirituality and perseverance; values that are part of our business philosophy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Poco a
Poco a Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing