We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful sanctuary in the cloud forest”
Review of Cabins El Sol

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monteverde
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cabins El Sol
Ranked #8 of 39 Monteverde B&B and Inns
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful sanctuary in the cloud forest”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I stayed at the main cabin at Cabins el Sol with six friends in November 2013. We were amazed by how spacious and tranquil it was. I can see why Javier and his family adore the place.

A few secrets:
- It's about 10 minutes outside of town, but that's what makes it so special. You'll feel like you found the best kept secret in the world. We didn't have a car, but the small cab fare was worth it.
- Have breakfast or dinner at the cabins, it will be a pleasant and delicious change of pace.
- The sauna is the perfect spot for casual glass of wine with friends or a romantic evening.
- Javier is a really, really great guide. Take advantage of it.
- If you go to Selvatura Park, go first thing in the morning and do the hanging bridges first. Its worth being alone on the bridges surrounded by the forest.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandraearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    18
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
53
109
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed for three nights in the small cabin in December. Wonderful! The cabin was nice and the view excellent. Will definitely return. Javier is a great host and guide. We went to the Hot Springs with him and the night hike. Schedule the night hike before you go as he gets booked! We were able to take advantage of someone who cancelled. Their mistake! Get to have your own kitchen to cook.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jjjsfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here in May 2013 and had a wonderful time. We extended our stay - it was so peaceful. All the cabins were lovely. Javier was a wonderful host and excellent tour guide. The food provided by the neighbour was decent fare. The views were wonderful as well and the coffee was delicious. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BombayGlobetrotter77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the cabins. We had some initial issues with our cabin and Javier resolved them right away and was so cheerful about it. He also proved to be one of the best guides we have ever had and I can't praise his tours enough.
We stayed in 3 different cabins and I found all of them charming. The views were lovely and the meals catered by his neighbour were good too.
We enjoyed our stay so much we extended it. I would be very happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bombayglobetrotter07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, California
1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed at El Sol recently for 3 days in the large cabin. It was really amazing with a beautiful view from our cabin. Décor was very nice. The fully equipped kitchen was a great bonus. Best of all Javier, the owner was extremely nice and helped us plan our sightseeing trips at Monte Verde. Highlight of these was the trip with him to Hot springs near by that included a good home cooked lunch. We plan to go back to Monte Verde again and without any doubt will stay at El Sol.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jyoti B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in the smaller cabin and it was one of the best times we've had while travelling in Costa Rica. The cabin is small but very charming and the view is incredible; perched up in the mountains and only 10 min drive to the main town, 20 min drive to the cloud forest. Beautiful bed, dining table and the kitchen is fully stocked, even with coffee, salt, pepper! It's a cabin so you are bound to see a few bugs here and there (including a big spider and a lizard in the bathroom) but its part of it's charm! The property is incredible and it has an infinity pool which we tried to use once but it was too cold for me. They also have a sauna which can be used at a small cost as it takes time to get it going. There is also a hot meal service which is done by their neighbors and is delivered hot to your cabin if you want. It costs $15/person. While it was a lot of food, I prefer cooking my own so we only ordered their meal the first night.

The best thing about the trip truly were the owners. Javier, his spouse and their kids are beautiful people and truly make your stay very special. I highly recommend doing the night tour with Javier. We saw so many creatures, insects, Javier is the best guide out there. We felt very VIP walking by the line up of people waiting at the location and walked right through. It usually costs $25 per person to be part of a group guided tour. Javier is $40 per person and worth every dollar. Javier even had a scope which none of the other guides had!

Oh and one last thing, at sunset walk up and down the driveway - so many parrots it is truly magical. I would stay again in a heart beat. It was sad to leave.

Room Tip: At sunset walk up and down the driveway - so many parrots it is truly magical.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theatlanticviewns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

a wonderful place to stay outside of Monteverde. Javier is exactly as described in all the other reviews - knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. They do nice little helpful things - my review was at 4 but I moved it to 5 because they let me use their cell phone to call AT&T in the US when I had a problem with mine. There is an issue with towels in hotels in Costa Rica - there are never enough - we stayed in 6 hotels and El Sol is one of the only ones who provide towels generously and even have them by the pool (no where else where we stayed did this). They also have stuff in the cabin to enable cooking (oil, salt, pepper etc.)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sounder999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monteverde
2.7 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,078 reviews
18.6 mi away
Heliconias Nature Lodge
Heliconias Nature Lodge
#8 of 62 in Arenal Volcano National Park
240 reviews
2.6 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 20 in Monteverde
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 20 in Monteverde
1,297 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
234 reviews
2.9 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabins El Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabins El Sol

Property: Cabins El Sol
Address: La Lindora, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Monteverde
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Cabins El Sol Hotel Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing