We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Name”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunset Hotel Monteverde
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The sunset hotel is named properly, you can see the sunset perfectly from the hotel. If you are feeling adventurous you can also walk down from the hotel to a small water tower where you can get an ever better view of the sunset. The hotel is family owned and run. They provided excellent service. The rooms were perfect and bed comfortable. The hotel also has a nature trail that takes about an hour to trek through. I highly recommend this place if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Exec_Backpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Sunset Hotel, a quaint little place. Seven rooms, a small office lobby and home style kitchen attached to a spacious dining hall with a panoramic view reaching out to the Pacific Ocean. Enjoy the hiking trail, the fresh fruit and vegetables growing here and there throughout the acreage, but most of all enjoy the shower in room number seven. It is the best in all of Central America. I think the shower head is on loan from the Costa Rican National Circus and Animal Abatement Society; taken from the elephant quarters. You'll love it.

Your host, Vitelis, rocks. Fluent in English, German and Spanish, he is an accommodating man, willing to go significantly out of his way to please his patrons. He will book discounted activities (Selvatura Park, etc.) for you, easing you from the burden after several hours of traversing over jagged, dusty and rocky dirt roads and listening to your wife complaining of her motion sickness.

55$ per night is a bargain. If you're one who goes to the mountains to watch tv, this one isn't for you.

The two or three kids knocking this place are just that, punk kids. Go, enjoy, Pura Vida!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Enrique C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The sunset hotel has a few things really going for it. One, it's on a beautiful piece of land with a terrific view of the pacific ocean and the sunset. The landscaping is gorgeous all around the hotel with a nice trail to check out for nature lovers. Two, the owner Vitalis is nice and friendly and an excellent host. We had to go out on a tour early in the morning and weren't going to make breakfast time, so the night before, he made us some sandwiches, hard boiled eggs, and some fresh bananas grown on the property and left it in our room.

So why only 3 stars? We arrived before check-in time and our room was not ready, but were allowed to put our bags in the room while we go into town for lunch. When we got back our beds were made with the exact same bed covers from before. The only thing they changed were the sheets and pillow covers. Speaking of sheets, ours had small tears in them, so who knows how old and used they were. The room also just looked rundown. Paint peeling from the walls, the hot water knob on the faucet was missing. The last thing is that it is on a horrible unpaved road. The walk to town isn't bad, about 15 minutes since its all downhill, but you are better off just paying the $3 taxi. The hotel staff will even call them for you and the taxi arrived in less than five minutes after placing the call. The road was so bad, one of the tour buses wouldn't even pick us up, we had to meet them at the top of the road.

Overall its a beautiful hotel that needs to stay on top of the little things, like replacing old torn sheets, and maybe investing more into new bed covers, and some paint. I probably would stay somewhere else if I had to do it again.

Room Tip: Use the taxi to get to/from town. $3 ride. Taxi's are located just in front of church, next to A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wurms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

The view of the gulf and peninsula is amazing. All rooms have a window facing this. I regret we didn't have time for the 30 minute nature hike on the large property. However we did see a variety of different birds outside the breakfast window (one being a white woodpecker). The owner and his son were both very helpful and had good senses of humor. Robert (son) spent an hour or more on the phone helping us with an overlooked portion of our travels. The breakfast was delicious- two eggs made how you like (farm fresh, the yolks were glowing!) and fruit and bread (we got tortillas to accommodate a gluten intolerance).
The shower was the hottest we encountered in CR. The only "complaint" I would have is the lighting is poor. There could be no bedtime reading, but we were pretty pooped out anyway.
It is a hike up a loose rock hill from town, but it is only a $3 cab if you are not up for it. Sure beats staying in town with all the bustle of souvenir shops. This would be my first choice if I am ever able to return to Monteverde.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kate m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

simple, neat room. the hot water. a very beautiful place with a huge courtyard garden where you can see a large variety of exotic animals and birds. Very responsive hosts. very helpful.
I sure would like to once again sleep in the hotel and watch the sunset and views of the pacific bay.

Breakfast was very poor. One egg and bread with jam. Usually served in hotels at least two eggs. Our baltic men can not appease hunger with one egg for breakfast.

Room Tip: as almost all rooms have an entrance to a long veranda, which are arranged with tables and chairs, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Vitalis and his son, Robert are excellent hosts at this beautiful hotel. The view is lovely and there is a nature hike on the property. You can see the gulf from your room. There is a lovely common/dining room and the rate includes a delicious breakfast that includes farm fresh eggs cooked to order!
It is located up the hill just outside of the downtown away from the bustle and just a $3 cab ride away.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluehayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I really had high hopes for the Sunset Inn on my return to Monteverde after 30 years but was terribly disappointed. Situated on a hillside on the outskirts of Santa Elena with a amazing view of the Nicoya Peninsula and seemingly nice facilities. The hotel however is up a VERY steep dirt road that was a challenge even with a SUV to maneuver in dry season.The German owners have a lovely setting and are quite knowledgeable, friendly folk but clearly dont know a thing or care about providing guests the with basics of good hospitality.

Let's start with The basics: a good bed, a clean, quiet room and well maintained facilities.
Beds
The bed was an embarrassment and truly one of the worst I have ever slept on with wire springs bulging through the thin worn out mattress. The sheets literally had holes in them, not to mention not fitting and staying on the mattress throughout the night and the bedspread was faded, tired and worn out. There really is no excuse for a hotel having a worn out mattress like this when getting a good nights sleep is the primary purpose in being there. If that is important to you, stay elsewhere, trust me!
Cleanliness
The bathroom had moldy grout, room floors were filthy and the top of the makeshift closet literally had lizard droppings on top in clear view. As we walked barefoot on the room floor and then stepped onto the white shower mat, it clearly showed our dirty footprints. Inexcusable.
Quiet
The rooms are situated along a long open air patio/verranda overlooking the front lawn and view. Unfortunately, with the chairs right outside each room, other quests tend to congregate here in the evenings and at least on the 2 days we were there, there were other quests drinking, laughing and generally being very loud disturbing the peace and tranquility of the monteverde nature. The room next to us had four persons and the walls are so thin, we could actually hear their detailed conversations speaking amongst themselves. Furthermore, our room was next to the dining/reception area and we could easily hear all transactions therein.
Facilities
Our room had broken light and battered fixtures, a completely missing bathwater spigot handle, a broken ceramic sink counter and the aforementioned exhausted bed mattresses. Again, there really is no excuse for not maintaining and keeping up with simple repairs in a hotel room.

Yes, the price is reasonable, especially with how expensive Costa Rica has gotten now a days but it certainly was not worth the awful uncomfortable beds, dirty and noisy room, unmaintained facilities. Don't let the relative inexpensive price of this "inn" persuade you to stay here as I did and do yourself a favor, stay elsewhere if these are important to you.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keimanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
1.2 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 20 in Monteverde
251 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
245 reviews
1.2 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
493 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
1.3 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 20 in Monteverde
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Hotel Monteverde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Hotel Monteverde

Address: Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range: £45 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunset Hotel Monteverde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Sunset Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing