We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A eviter - don't go”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Nidia Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Monteverde
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nidia Lodge
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Monteverde
2 reviews
“A eviter - don't go”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

The room : humidity, noisy (neighbourg), expensive, nobody at réception, wifi sometimes only .... The bed is not confortable, the breakfast is not fully reassorted every day, the hot water for the shower is not garanted, mine was as Cold as the river. 2 advantages : coffee in the room and hair-dryer in the room. Plenty better hôtels in Monterverde and Santa Helena. The staf is just correct ...

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ankhea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    8
    0
    4
    1
See reviews for
1
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

We stayed here for two nights after traveling from La Fortuna on the Jeep-Boat-Jeep. The lodge is located on a hill above Monteverde and is in a secluded location. Our room was upstairs, cabin style with two beds, TV, dining table and balcony. There was also a small kitchenette area that had a coffee maker, microwave and fridge. The breakfast was delivered to our room shortly after we arrived and included juice, fruit, bread, yogurt, milk and cereal.

The owner is extremely friendly has he took great pleasure in telling all about the new species of bird for Costa Rica that he discovered, he can also arrange to act as a wildlife guide however we did not take him up on the offer. There is an Emerald Toucan that lives near the hotel which we saw a few times and the back of the hotel is basically the national park. We enjoyed falling asleep at night listening to the sound of the Jungle!

The hotel is around a 20 minute walk from the town of Monteverde and quite a steep climb on the way back if you plan on walking back at night best take a flashlight. We walked in and out of town quite a few times but it is a slog on the way home after a few drinks. There is a couple of restaurants and a cafe close to the lodge and just down the road you can find the Night Walk.

I enjoyed my stay here and would recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobbyDazla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2010

We stayed for 3 nights and Eduardo & his family could not have been more helpful. Eduardo is extremely knowledgeable regarding the local wildlife and was a great help to me in locating species I wanted to see (reptiles & amphibians). The location is great - we saw a sloth within the grounds. The lodge is also right next to a private reserve and close to the reserves of Santa Elena & Monteverde. The town is within walking distance or a short cab ride away. The room was very well situated and equiped and the breakfasts were very welcome. Thanks for a great stay guys - we will be back

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryderislizardking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

The Nidia Lodge is a comfy place to stay for an extended exploration of the Monte Verde area. It is within walking distance of many great hikes, excellent restaurants, and nature museums and exhibitions. Eduardo is super knowledgeable on local birds, and a hike with him is a real treat. The rooms are comfortable and the rooms come with coffee and breakfast foods. The only drawback to the place is that the rooms' walls are a little thin, and the cable didn't work. We really enjoyed the chance to watch dozens of bird species literally from our balcony window. Toucans and mot mots graced our view over morning coffee more than once. Traquil and sweet.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris32761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2009

The lodge is rustic and surrounded by nature and yet only a short walk to stores and restaurants which we quite liked. The rooms were actually nicer in person than I was expecting; it is not fake wood panelling on the walls as might appear in photos, but actually lovely wood which was really appealing. Liked the small balcony on the back overlooking the forest. Eduardo and his family were so friendly and helpful, we enjoyed meeting them very much. Liked the free internet too, We ate breakfast and lunch in the hotel and found the food (with the exception of the pancakes) very good. We ate at Johnny's Pizza up the road which was very good and Morphos in Santa Elena which was excellent. We could walk into Santa Elena during the day but used a taxi at night because of the dark, winding road. Didn't need a taxi to visit restaurants/tours etc. in Cerro Plano. Enjoyable experience overall.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FRENCHENGLISH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2009

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone going to the Monteverde area. The room was a nice size and we felt very safe. Each room has a nice little balcony overlooking the forest next door, which was a great place to sit and relax. We did not have any trouble with noise and found the sound of rain on the roof to be very soothing. There is free internet, which was a huge plus, and the breakfasts were varied and delicious. The hotel is located on a back road, and I would also recommend carrying a flashlight if you're going out at night. There are several restaurants within walking distance I would recommend (Johnny's, Moon Shiva, Sabores ice cream) and some nice art galleries are also in the area.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank darcydu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2008

When we first arrived here we loved the place as it was a little out of the way and the building seemed new and nice overall. The room is large (we had a junior suite which had a coffee maker, fridge, microwave, king bed, etc) however like most places in Monteverde didn't have AC. No AC is fine, however there were no screens on the windows so when trying to cool the place down the first night, the place filled w/ bugs shortly after opening the windows.

Also, the lighting is very bad and the rooms are pretty dark day/night. In addition, the rooms smell musty and weren't immaculate overall.

Lastly, the walls are PAPER THIN and we heard EVERYTHING in the hotel. There's zero insulation and it made it difficult to sleep w/ any sort of activity in the hotel. The rain coming down hard on the roof was also VERY noisy.

On a positive note, the hosts were terrific and the breakfast was very good. In most places they just feed you breakfast, but here they let you order whatever you'd like off their menu, which was nice. Free internet and wifi is a definite plus too.

If coming back to Monteverde we wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Monteverde hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.0 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 21 in Monteverde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.0 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Trapp Family
Hotel Trapp Family
#9 of 21 in Monteverde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
0.0 mi away
Hotel Fonda Vela
Hotel Fonda Vela
#12 of 21 in Monteverde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nidia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nidia Lodge

Property: Nidia Lodge
Address: PO Box 99-5655, 5655, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nidia Lodge is the perfect place to rest in Monteverde. It's a clean, quiet and tranquil place. It's located in close proximity to most tourist centers of importance in the region. Offering three types of room: Standard, Deluxe and Junior suites. Free Internet access and Wireless internet service. SPA, conference room, restaurant. Guided tour, Laundry, safe parking lot. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nidia Hotel Monteverde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing