We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful, quaint place with a great atmosphere.”
Review of Cabanas La Pradera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cabanas La Pradera
Certificate of Excellence
Grayslake, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“A peaceful, quaint place with a great atmosphere.”
Reviewed 24 September 2011

This was our second trip here - and for good reasons.

First, the cabins are well equipped if you need a kitchen. They are very open and roomy, yet quaint and relaxing. We liked how you were able to park right next to the cabin. Our favorite was the trail around the property - really nice! The owners did not speak English, so you need to know some spanish. Also, it is a little hard to find - if you get lost, ask a local. There is a mini-super just outside of the hotel, great if you need a few items for a meal.

Overall, we would definately return and reccomend this place for your stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarkChw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    33
    1
    4
    0
See reviews for
48
50
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2011

Are you looking for an economical, relaxed, beautiful place to stay in Monteverde? “Cabanas La Pradera” is a good choice. This is a family run collection of small cabins in a beautiful, country location just outside Santa Elena (Santa Elena is the only real town in Monteverde). The cabins are simple but clean and kitchen equipped. The gardens and plantings are beautiful. From your small porch you can see to the Gulf of Nicoya.
The hosts, Jenny and Felo and their children are very helpful and will do all the little things to make your holiday a success. Information and reservations for tours for all over the Monteverde area are available here. They can also do or arrange shuttle or taxi service to the airport and other areas of Costa Rica. Felo and his employee Sandro are both exceptional and very safe drivers.
On the property there is a small and very clean swimming pool (non-heated) and a special building for family BBQs. Well kept walking or running trails go through the primary and secondary forest and farm land surrounding the resort. The property although close is located away from the dust and noise of the town.
Both the cabins and the resort are very secure. Not only are the cabins equipped with wall safes and window grates but the family keeps a close eye out for your welfare.
After looking over many places in the area we have chosen to return to La Pradera each year for most of the winter. I think that is a recommendation in itself.
Cost of staying starts at about $20 a person for 2 or more people.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stro_eedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2009

I recently got back from a week long trip to Costa Rica and this place was by far the best place our group stayed. Anyone traveling in a group that can fit into a cabin, this place is perfect for you! We had 9 so took up two cabins and have full kitchen, hot water, everything was clean and best of all great views in a very safe part of the countryside. The family who owned the place was very accommodating and friendly. Really cool swimming pool area with free high speed internet as well.

This place is a MUST if you are anywhere near the Monteverde/Santa Elena area.

Also, if you turn right out of the driveway and follow the road up the hill (10 min walk) there is an excellent restaurant in a lady's house named Candy.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RafasBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2008

We had a very enjoyable 4 nights in cabin #7 over New Years 2007. We found the cabins to be inexpensive, very clean and spacious. The owners were very friendly although they didn't speak a lot of English. Our 11 year old son made friends with owner's 12 year old boy (who speaks good English).

The cabins are in a quiet location featuring a very nice view and are away from the hustle and bustle of town. For horse riding enthusiasts, they are right beside Sabine's smiling horses (also recommended).

There is a short nature trail on the property with a small butterfly enclosure. In spite of being a bit more isolated, all of the tours will pick you up from here if you don't feel like driving.

The units did not have air conditioning, but with the mountain breeze, it was not really required. There is "hot" water in the showers only which must be run a quite a low pressure to get a sufficient temperature.

This is a great place for families looking for a cottage style accommodation (fully equipped kitchenette).

  • Liked — Quiet and inexpensive
  • Disliked — Limited hot water pressure for showers
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fotohaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2008

We stayed at Cabin # 3 for 4 nights and it was wonderful. For the price this was an amazing find if you don't mind the cottage feel. Each cabin has hot water, a fridge, stove, dishes and at least a double bed. We found the place to be relatively free of bugs considering it was a cabin. There were lovely grounds to walk around and a 1.5 km nature path to hike around. The 2 resident dogs took the time on numerous occassion to walk us thru the trail which had a coffee & banana plantation. The owners were very accomodating and helpful. You could pay a reasonable amount to have your laundry done on site which was very convenient. The Cabins were spaced apart so that they were private. The veiw was amazing since they were situated on the top of a mountain range. Where you can see the pacific ocean and watch the sunset everynight and feel the clouds roll in. We love the outdoors and this place was fantastic for an outdoorsy family or couple.

  • Liked — Fair value for the price, view of the sunset was spectacular, very peaceful place, kitchens in each room
  • Disliked — Rooms had a few moths & spiders but you are in a cabin in the cloud forest so that should be expected.
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank EcoTravellersToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
1.3 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
1.0 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 20 in Monteverde
244 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cala Lodge
Cala Lodge
#4 of 20 in Monteverde
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 20 in Monteverde
1,118 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 20 in Monteverde
240 reviews
1.4 mi away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas La Pradera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas La Pradera

Property: Cabanas La Pradera
Address: Santa Elena Monteverde | 600 M Oeste del Cementerio, 60109, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 74 Speciality Lodging in Monteverde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cabanas La Pradera 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cabanas La Pradera is located between two primary cloud forest reserves in Monteverde, which is renowned for its stunning, bio-diverse cloud forest, is a place blessed with outstanding natural beauty, an impressive amount of bird and plant species, Don't miss the opportunity to venture into the lovely surroundings of Cabanas La Pradera gardens and forest, a peaceful paradise for those eco-travelers and nature lovers. The location also allows views of the golf of Nicoya on the Pacific coast of Costa Rica, as well as the grandeur of the most beautiful sunsets. La Pradera's Bungalows are featured with equipped kitchen, private bathrooms, hot water, and security box among others. At the property find Outdoor pool, Wi-fi access, Information office, Parking lots, Laundry, Breakfast and many other facilicities. Only 1 km away from town, where restaurants, supermarkets are settled , and dirt roads that lead to several charming communities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Cabanas La Pradera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing