We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our idea of Home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alexandra
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hawkdun Rise Vineyard & Accommodation
Ranked #2 of 12 Alexandra B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Our idea of Home”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Hawkdun Rise, a beautiful oasis in a stunning part of New Zealand. I wish we lived there! We were warmly welcomed by John to his lovely home ( suzanne was away) and that was the start of a wonderful weekend. Rooms were very well appointed, ensuite facilities, sky tv, and facilities and touches (like a drawer full of amenities) that you only find at the ultra high end hotels. A wonderful hot tub, glass of Hawkdun Rise Pinot and cheese accompanied our first evening. Breakfast was prepared by the wonderful Carla and everything that you could ever want was there (make sure you have the bacon & eggs!). John opened his home to us, nothing was too much for him and he ensured we knew where we going, things to do when we got there and really made us feel relaxed, as if we were at home. Hawkdun has a media room (projection tv, surround sound etc), a wonderful lounge and picturesque grounds. The wine is excellent! Another peaceful night, followed by another wonderful breakfast and we had to head over to Queenstown to catch our flight to Sydney. Hawkdun rise, is easily accessible to Clyde, Alexandra, Cromwell and then Queenstown. Its about a 2.5 hour drive from Dunedin (another lovely drive). We plan to go back very soon. What better way to say to John (and Suzanne) thank you for a wonderful weekend and for taking such superb care of us.

Room Tip: Choose the room at the end of the corridor..its the larger of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarrySingh_Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wobblyalex, Owner at Hawkdun Rise Vineyard & Accommodation, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Hi
Thank you for you wonderful review. So pleased Carla & John looked after you while I was away.
Looking forward to meeting you on your next visit to us.

Suzanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
32
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

What to add to the litany of fantastic reviews? Suzanne and John are wonderful hosts, manning a fantastic little vineyard and a supremely comfortable and well-placed B&B. We stayed two nights in the middle of a camping and hiking holiday and it was just the perfect, sumptuous break we really needed! We were lucky to hit the Clyde wine and food harvest festival AND Suzanne's birthday, making our first day and night truly special. Sampling the 2009 Hawdun Rise Pinot Noir was so good Eric and I just had to buy a bottle on our second night - we tasted many wines in the region but this was our favorite! The room was beautiful, with fantastic little garden and vineyard views, especially beautiful at sunrise and sunset. It was harvest season, so the Pinot Noir grapes were ripe and we got to try them on the vine - delicious! We really enjoyed talking about the wine making as well as getting road trip tips with John and Suzanne as well. The hot tub outdoors was the perfect way to relax at the end of the day, and we even watched a couple of movies on their big projector screen in the tv room. All of these things were beyond excellent, but as far as I'm concerned, the breakfast put this place on a whole other level. I can't forget those cinnamon scrolls... kudos Suzanne! And the poached eggs, the fruit, yoghurt, jams, peanut butter, toast... everything was delicious.
The surrounding area offers lots to do (we went cycling on the rail trail and wine tasting at the festival), though there weren't that many restaurants around. Wifi could be a bit better (reaching the rooms maybe!) but we really didn't feel limited by this as we just sat in the lounge if we wanted internet.

I thoroughly recommend this place and would happily stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GabbyBeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stotfold, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
394 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

What more could you want? Hawkdun Rise is quite a small vineyard with the accommodation on the top of the 'rise'. The accommodation is divided into two areas with a deck area linking the two. Three rooms occupy the guest area ... the hot tub and an outdoor seating area occupy the covered deck ... the guest lounge / breakfast area and hosts' accommodation is on the other side of the deck. Views from the lounge and deck area are over the vineyard ... very relaxing.

Suzanne and John are excellent hosts and know the area well. They are very happy to check out trips and book them for you. You can smell breakfast as soon as you walk into the lounge ... Suzanne seems to be baking every morning ... lovely brioche! Breakfast is cooked to order each day ... how Suzanne can prepare it so quickly amazed us. Fabulous! ... and lovely freshly stewed fruit ... I could go on.

Suzanne will also cook dinner if required. We had dinner there twice ... Beautiful food and great presentation ... ask John to decant a bottle of their 2009 Pinot too. Loved it.

Wifi - free and fairly fast but only in the lounge - didn't seem to work in the rooms
Cell phone signal is fine
Parking directly outside the rooms
Large bedrooms with very comfortable beds
As we were travelling with a friend, we chose to have the two bedrooms with a shared bathroom ... it worked very well for us.
Tea/coffee in the rooms but also another station on the deck area.
Fridge/freezer on the deck area ... Fresh milk provided
Rooms are modern and well designed
The nearest restaurants are a short drive away ... 10 mins?
Plenty to do in the area ... ask Suzanne and John for guidance

Room Tip: The Vineyard View room is quite a bit bigger than the other two. We had this and the Queen room as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
435 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

The friendliest, most caring hosts, accommodation that exceeds discerning requirements, utmost comfort, tranquility, beautiful views, and outstanding breakfasts. The perfect place to withdraw to in order to renew your vitality, or work on a writing project.

Five minutes drive from a cute small town with all basic needs and an excellent tourist office. Cromwell and Clyde, each with interesting tourist attractiosn less than 20 minutes drive away. The jewel in the crown, Wanaka, with a myriad of natural outdoor pursuits to enjoy and the sheer grandeur of the mountainous landscape, just an hour's drive.

It would be hard to find a bettter place from which to enjoy Central Otago.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waikanae, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

It is hard to explain just how hot it gets on the Otago Rail Trail, and a figure of maybe 33 degrees might not sound high. But a ride on the Otago Rail Trail from Clyde to Amakau certainly is a challenge in the middle of the day. Imagine the pleasure, then of Suzanne waiting for you at the station to take care of you and spirit you away to the luxury of a purpose built lodge with private guest facilities including outside covered courtyardw ith a hot tub! The hosts, John and Suzanne are genial and easygoing. Dinner was the best steak with local foods to accompany. Dessert was a marvellous fruit crumble served in individual large procelain cups--delightful. I had neglected to let the travel people know that I have a preference for gluten free--no trouble to Suzanne, who came up with excellent substitutes at very short notice. The suite was top quality with a fantastically comfortable bed andlovely views out through the vineyard. We tried their Givertz and opted for a bottle of their 08 Pinot Noir, grown right there on there own vineyard. Very drinkable, and fortunately now available at our local food market here on the Kapiti Coast. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Our end suite was a nice distance from the rest of the lodge, with excellent views. The hot tub was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castlemaine.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

The view from my bedroom window looking north to the valley ahead and the soon to be picked grapes for harvesting just in front of me,set the scene for a memorable day.Yet another sunny day in a most tranquil of rural settings in the province of Cenrtral Otago-famous for it,s stunning scenery and wonderful award winning wines; especially Pinot Noir.Something my hosts John abd Suzanne GRANT know something about and will be only too happy to discuss with you over a meal in their homestead as you gaze over the beautiful scenery that this part of the South Island of New Zealand has to offer.Well worth the effort to drive off the main Christchurch to Queenstown road at Cromwel to the township of Alexandra via Clyde --------an area rich in early N.Z. gold history--- ; the information centre in Alexandra is a must to visit as It highlights the early days of the exploration of gold and the wine industry. A leisurely 10 minute drive will bring you to HAWKDEN RISE in Letts Gully Road-----------perhaps the proud ALL BLACKS flag will still be flying on entrance to our hosts homestead in support of the famous New Zealand rugby team that recently won the world rugby cup.A two night stay here with those stunning views , very confortable surrounds in a working winery and superb hospitality from two hosts who are only too happy to be of assistance , this is certainly a place to remember for all the right reasons.

Room Tip: There are only two bedrooms with en suite facilities but speak to hosts John or Suzanne about HAWKD...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EXTOURMANAGER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Stayed with John & Suzanne for one night while cycling the central otago rail trail and was totally impressed with all aspects of our stay at Hawkdun Rise. John picked us up from Omakau after a day on the trail so it wasn't long before we were soaking in the hot tub.....total luxury!! This was followed by a glass of wine in the comfortable lounge and then a sumptious meal with John and Suzanne who catered fantastically for my vegetarian diet. Breakfast in the morning was equally enjoyable before being dropped off by Suzanne who made a special detour to take us for a quick look around Ophir as we had been too tired to do it after the rail trail the day before!! The room itself was comfortable,clean and well equipped with TV and radio. The bathroom was small but functional with shower only but clean and adequately equipped. Hawkdun Rise is set amongst vines and rolling hills and was a very pleasant place to spend a night....only wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karina709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandra
17.5 mi away
Burn Cottage Retreat
Burn Cottage Retreat
#2 of 10 in Cromwell
89 reviews
16.0 mi away
Firewood Creek House
Firewood Creek House
#1 of 10 in Cromwell
31 reviews
2.2 mi away
Alexandra Lookout B&B
Alexandra Lookout B&B
#3 of 12 in Alexandra
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Centennial Court Motor Inn
Centennial Court Motor Inn
#3 of 3 in Alexandra
52 reviews
1.9 mi away
Almond Court Motel
Almond Court Motel
#1 of 3 in Alexandra
82 reviews
1.9 mi away
ASURE 117 Avenue Motel
ASURE 117 Avenue Motel
#1 of 12 in Alexandra
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawkdun Rise Vineyard & Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawkdun Rise Vineyard & Accommodation

Property: Hawkdun Rise Vineyard & Accommodation
Address: 241 Letts Gully Road | RD3, Alexandra 9393, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Central Otago > Alexandra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Alexandra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawkdun Rise Vineyard & Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HAWKDUN RISE is a small vineyard in the heart of the Central Otago wine growing region. A tranquil and scenic setting only 5 minutes from the township of Alexandra.The Homestead contains a private guest wing, offering rooms with great views over the vineyard. Tariff includes glass of our wine on arrival, and a delicious breakfast.It is recommended that a minimum of a 2 night stay to enjoy what Central Otago has to offer.Dinner available for guests staying. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing