We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic lodge and great meals”
Review of Speargrass Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Speargrass Inn
Ranked #11 of 12 Alexandra B&B and Inns
Waimate, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Historic lodge and great meals”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We just dropped in and took the last available room for a night...the room was clean, warm and bright. The bed, just average, and the tv could not be seen from the couch...but that didn't matter much. The meal though...we enjoyed the evening meal very much. Fast service even though they were very busy. Quality and menu was excellent. The next mornings breakfast was equally tasty.
Would happily recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
20
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

we pass through often, and usually stop here for a coffee or lunch. wonderful, clean and bright, fresh and simple food.

today's visit spoiled by owner/manager (?) lunching on the central table with her baby and toddler who completely monopolised the entire restaurant, literally climbing on the furniture etc. cute kids, but i certainly wouldn't let my kids behave that way in a restaurant, whether it was mine or not.

I don't want to spend $100 to eat in a day care centre. we may be back, but we'll think about eating outside next time.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank lauradavidgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSW
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed last night on our way back to Queenstown after touring the South Island. Very nice room, excellent dinner and the staff couldn't do enough for us. Tried the Hinton Pinot which is a Central Otago wine and very much worth the effort. Would thoroughly recommend.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank thebiga57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Always wanted to stop here - finally did over the weekend. We weren't super hungry so asked if we could share a main breakfast. To our delight we were presented with two smaller sized portions for our eating pleasure. What a nice touch. Great ambiance, presentation and excellent service with a smile. Oh and the food was delicious! Must visit.

Room Tip: We didn't stay, just stopped to eat so haven't rated the accommodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terminator M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This is a hidden gem set in the beautiful landscape of Central Otago! On the main road between Roxburgh and Alexandra it is a gorgeous cottage tastefully restored and oozing charm! The meals they serve are superb! Unfortunately we have not stayed in the accommodation (yet) but this is on our to do list! We have viewed the rooms and they look outstanding! We travel through to Alexandra on a fairly frequent basis in the summer months so we always allow time to stop for an incredible bite to eat in this quaint and beautiful place! Service is top notch and very friendly. The courtyard is lovely on a warm summery day! What else can I say? We keep going back...surely that is enough to make you try it too! :-)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthernKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

A lovely 15 minute drive outside Alexandra. Old stone buildings with everything tastefully modern inside. Amazing in autumn. Owners were very considerate of our needs despite the resturant/cafe being closed during our stay. They provided us with milk, biscuits & apples. The room was spacious, with plenty of towels, toiletries and tea & coffee. Heated room & bathroom, with electric blankets on the bed. Flat screen TV with DVD player. I would definitely reccommend this place to friends and family, and I would love to stay here again. Best accommodation I have stayed in by far!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJY2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Just south of Alexandra, NZ is a fabulous find. We were looking for brunch, saw the sign, then came across this picturesque restored-stone cafe/bar/inn. Wonderful rustic food (tasty pulled pork sandwich, home baked sourdough, with chunky chicken soup and excellent coffee) in a sunny backyard garden. Great service, local art and preserves to buy. Just lovely. They have rooms as well, and we'll be keen to stay next time. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janekiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandra
11.2 mi away
Olivers Central Otago
8.0 mi away
Centennial Court Motor Inn
Centennial Court Motor Inn
#3 of 3 in Alexandra
52 reviews
8.2 mi away
Almond Court Motel
Almond Court Motel
#1 of 3 in Alexandra
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Alexandra Motor Lodge
Alexandra Motor Lodge
#2 of 3 in Alexandra
16 reviews
8.1 mi away
ASURE 117 Avenue Motel
ASURE 117 Avenue Motel
#1 of 12 in Alexandra
97 reviews
8.8 mi away
Alexandra Garden Court Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Speargrass Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Speargrass Inn

Property: Speargrass Inn
Address: 1300 Fruitlands-Roxburgh Road | State Highway 8, Alexandra 9392, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Central Otago > Alexandra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Alexandra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Speargrass Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Speargrass Inn is an upmarket cafe & restaurant offering delicious country fare and a boutique accommodation service. Located in Central Otago New Zealand near Alexandra, this beautifully restored historic stone cottage also offers wedding and meeting room facilities, and prides itself on warm and friendly Kiwi hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Speargrass Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing