We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lunch”

The Courthouse Cafe & Bar
Ranked #1 of 27 Restaurants in Alexandra
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We had a party of 6 for lunch and had good coffee, tasty food and good service. We sat outside where they have tables in a lovely garden area.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Noelene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    70
    13
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food, but watch out for the birds!”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This was our favorite coffee shop on the Otago Rail Trail. The food was gorgeous and the coffee very good. We ate outside and turned our back for a minute to find the finches having a go at our Carmel Slice! We shooed them off and enjoyed ourselves very much

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank StreetArt_Lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Always good”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This is only place that I bother going to when passing through Alex, food and coffee is always good, staff are friendly and if its a nice day the outdoor area is great, thoroughly recommend it!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PiningForTheFijords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Consistently great”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Hot chicken salad v yummy and the best coffee for miles around, slices galore and even gluten free fare. Excellent service, staff always pleasant and happy to see you. Its my favourite local :D

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SandraC-Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Pleasant atmosphere”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Well presented meals, with extremely pleasant staff. Can get very busy around mid-day, but nothing seems to be a problem.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BazilBrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Courthouse Cafe & Bar also viewed

Alexandra, Central Otago
Alexandra, Central Otago
 

Been to The Courthouse Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing