We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting”

Historic Mitchells Cottage
Clyde, , New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A must see when traveling between Roxburgh and Alexandra. Great for young children to see how a large family lived (late 1800 - 1900)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jenny O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic photographic opportunity”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

You simply can't take a bad photo around here. This is well worth a stop to visit this amazing piece of history (and make sure you stop at Speargrass Inn first for lunch or a coffee :-)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MazNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waimate, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What a lot of work to build!”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Definitely worth the time to see, shows how hard the pioneers worked and how rough living conditions were. I love how they built it right on to the rock with more rock!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank CanNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Romantic Wedding”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

On a very brisk day in August, I had the priviledge to facilitate a very lovely and romantic wedding ceremony at our very own historic mitchell's cottage.
This is a very special icon for our area, Central Otago.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well worth a stop”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We are local but visited with friends and their 2 young girls, who were visiting from Nelson. We had planned about 10 minutes as we were on our way south, but ended up there for over an hour. The cottage is amazing; but it is the setting amongst a large schist outcrop that is the real show stopper. Kids can play there for hours if left to it.

The cottage itself is beautifully restored and has a real sense of another time. Highly recommended.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank JonnoG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Historic Mitchells Cottage also viewed

 
Alexandra, Central Otago
Alexandra, Central Otago
 

Been to Historic Mitchells Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing