We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy unit on a cold night”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Almond Court Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Almond Court Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alexandra
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Oamaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cosy unit on a cold night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed at this motel for one night and were very happy with our choice. We were able to check in early which was very helpful. The location was good, being off the main road. We were in Unit 5 and it was well-equipped, with nice decor, comfortable, and warm. It was a cold night but we were warm and toasty in our lovely unit. The car cover was much appreciated. And the magazines in the unit are a nice touch. Thank you Lisa and Greg and Joy (hope I've remembered the name right). We would definitely stay with you again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlmondCourt, Owner at Almond Court Motel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
And it was a cold night. The car covers are used a lot at this time of year. Thank you for staying with us, Lisa, Greg and Joy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    23
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
42
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed for two nights in June. We found the people friendly and helpful. The unit itself was clean and comfortable, and little touches made it feel as though the owners cared about the comfort of their customers.
If you like we visit in winter, note that the central heating is on between certain times. However you can talk to the owners if you want to change this. Also a small heater is provided, which was more than adequate. Also the bedding was very comfortable.

We would definitely stay there again, and strongly recommend it to anyone else visiting Alexandra.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tanya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlmondCourt, Owner at Almond Court Motel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thanks for the review, great to hear you enjoyed your time here.
Our central heating is run on a diesel boiler system, and is run on a timer, But as our lovely reviewer stated, we are more than happy to crank up the heat. There is eco panels that stay on in the units all day and night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We found Almond Court Motel in the Host Accomodation brochure. After over a week on the road it was great to have a full kitchen where I could cook a proper meal. The king size bed was a super size and very comfortable. and the quiet location meant a good nights sleep. Central heating meant the unit was nice and warm on a cold autumn night. The unit was spacious and clean with tasteful decor and cumfy sofa. Reception was freindly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlmondCourt, Owner at Almond Court Motel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thanks for that, your review says it all, see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

Our family utilised Almond Court as a stop over during a long journey. This quiet location is maintained with attention to detail. The small things are not often noticed by travellers, but the owners go out of their way to make your stay comfortable.
Suitable for families and has a swimming pool for the younsters to cool off on a hot Alexandra day.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rog4NewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlmondCourt, Owner at Almond Court Motel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thanks for your feed back, its wonderful when people notice all the little extras we put in and do to our units. All the hard work from myself, Greg and our fantastic cleaning team is showing. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We were made to feel most welcome by the very friendly and accommodating hosts Lisa and Greg.
After a few minutes it dawned on us that our room didn't reek of chemical air freshener: nor did the linen reek of chemical laundry powder - great for those of us with allergies.
All facilities fully functional and well serviced. Pool. Great location.
Excellent super-king bed with individual reading lamps, full kitchen facilities, and some very nice personal touches by Lisa including floating roses in a big glass vase.
The ideal motel!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlmondCourt, Owner at Almond Court Motel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Thank you for choosing us for your special day, it was fantastic that we had the whole family here. We were really pleased you enjoyed our motels and all they have to offer, We work hard to keep the chemicals use very low and use, white vinger, salt, steam and good old elbow grease.
Our rooms always smell fresh and are very clean. As you saw when calling in again for a chat, the internet has now been upgraded and repeaters install so the Wi-Fi is much stronger now.
Best of Luck and Thank you again. Lisa & Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

We dropped in late in the evening and were successful in obtaining a room. The rooms were spacious, well appointed and very clean and fresh. The host were very good and offered great customer service and support for their guests.

WE cooked up our own evening meal and settled in to finish off the last of the duty free alcohol - strange that it had lasted so long.

Met several fellow travellers and all were most friendly and full of excellent advice. The motel units have a self catering capability and rally suited us with plenty of pots and pans, cutlery and fridge space.

The beds were most comfortable, the road noise non existent and the bathroom more than adequate. The motel is located off the main roads so can be a little tricky to find first time.

The gardens are filled with old, very old rose trees and they are well maintained and we saw then in full flower with the next growth of buds well advanced.

There is a clock on the side of the hill overlooking Alexandra which adds to the charm of the town.

All in all a very pleasant stay and on the list to go back to when next in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bustardeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlmondCourt, Owner at Almond Court Motel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review, glad you like the roses, it was lovely to meet you both and Thanks for sharing a laugh with us. The kids loved the lollies, safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We drove around Alexander looking for a place to stay the night when we saw the Motel flags. The lady a reception was very nice and made us feel very welcome. We got a lovely room at $125 a night, it had a fully equipped kitchen, a single bed and a super king bed. The bed was very comfortable, everything was spotless and we will stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlmondCourt, Owner at Almond Court Motel, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Thank you for your feed back, Glad you enjoyed our time here, look forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks for for the feedback card, No more ticking clocks and we have replaced the fridge, they can get to load over time. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandra
20.0 mi away
Heritage Collection Lake Resort
Heritage Collection Lake Resort
#1 of 1 in Pisa Moorings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Centennial Court Motor Inn
Centennial Court Motor Inn
#3 of 3 in Alexandra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.2 mi away
ASURE 117 Avenue Motel
ASURE 117 Avenue Motel
#1 of 12 in Alexandra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alexandra Motor Lodge
Alexandra Motor Lodge
#2 of 3 in Alexandra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alexandra Heights Motel
Alexandra Heights Motel
#5 of 12 in Alexandra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alexandra Lookout B&B
Alexandra Lookout B&B
#3 of 12 in Alexandra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almond Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almond Court Motel

Property: Almond Court Motel
Address: 53 Killarney Street, Alexandra 9320, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Central Otago > Alexandra
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Alexandra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Almond Court Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Almond Court Motel has an 'Outstanding Customer Service Award' 8 Quiet, comfortable and spacious motel apartments, off the main road and all ground level. Outdoor areas, FREE BBQ, pool (summer), central heating (winter), modern decor, king and super-king beds, lounges or recliner chairs in all apartments. Wi-Fi, Sky, DVD/Blue-ray, iPod / iPhone / iPad docks, small children's play area, bike storage, Breakfast options, on site laundry. Off street free parking, handy to supermarket, shops, cafes, sports grounds and rail trail. All Apartments are fresh and clean with no/low chemicals used and all products are either organic or Eco/trade friendly including our Tea & Coffees ranges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Almond Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing