We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Centennial Court Motor Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Centennial Court Motor Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Alexandra
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Our family (party of 7) flew to Alexandra for 6 nights from the Gold Coast for the blossom festival and to catch up with more family who live in Alex. On the first night my husband became ill and was transferred to hospital in Clyde then on to Dunedin where he spent all of the holiday. Another member of our party hurt his leg and spent 2 days in bed. We would like to thank Shayne & Karen (The owners) and a special thanks to Nola for their concern and wonderful treatment. Besides their wonderful caring attitude we stayed in comfortable spacious rooms. A discount was given off our bill because of all the unfortunate events of our holiday. We are going back next year to try again and will definitely be staying at Centennial. See you next September!

Room Tip: Room 31 has a great spa bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    13
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
10
20
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

Rooms were clean but extremely out dated with 70s bathrooms and heaters!!! We stayed at another property in Alex the week before which for the same rate is 1000x better. Service on checkout was quite blunt and I did feel ignored at first. Rooms are all near to driveway so can be extremely loud and there is a lot of noise from upstairs.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlloftheLights1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

My husband and I booked for 1 night on our way back home to Tauranga. We were booked into a single rather tight unit. When we arrived the reception lacked respect for their clientele, I was given a "we are totally booked out" without confirming my booking, booking was made and confirmed online. When booking had been confirmed, I asked for green milk as that is my chose of milk and was told we don't have any we do that them UHT milk in the unit and would look for some, I replied it obviously is issue I'll find my own - thank you. When we got to the unit, there was parking issues so I phoned the owners and asked how do you recommend this situation is remedied the response was we are full and people have bought extra vehicles and taken extra spaces???? We were advised to squeeze into someone else unit space or the owner would move table and chairs to allow our vehicle to park. This should never have occurred and it should have been advised able parking pre booking. When my husband parked in an area that could impede another vehicle exiting, we were told we will have to move encase the owner of said vehicle was leaving early, and when the owner of motel asked what time we were expected to leave and husband said 06.00 the following day a rude remark was 'OH we will all be at church then"??? To make matters worse the next day hubby noticed little blood stains on pillows we hadn't used and the bottom of shower curtain black with mildew. We did leave at exactly 06.00, no one was up, no one went to church. I'm so disgusted in this establishment, I will be adding to every review I can find about this motel/hotel to warn anyone else.

Room Tip: Tip is do not use Centennial Motel/Hotel Alexandra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BOP_Not_Happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centennialcourt, Owner at Centennial Court Motor Inn, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
In responce to this person -
This is a large complex with several locations for parking.
The unit had been reserved, on arrival please indicate this not ask for a vacancy, this took 30 seconds to remedy.
We have a restaurant on site so we always have green milk available, when offered you chose to get your own.
You wanted to have your vehicle outside your unit, I am sorry we could not deliver on this occasion .
I have never been to church ( no disrespect to the church) so this comment is not applicable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Alexandra hotels

Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

Great friendly hosts, The rooms are large clean and very comfortable, The convenient location is fantastic to stroll into town. We look forward to returning in the future.............
...........................................................................................

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cookn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centennialcourt, Owner at Centennial Court Motor Inn, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Thank you for your comments, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we wish you the best with your travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

my husband and I stayed over the Christmas/New Year period for one night in a basic studio unit. It was one at the back of the complex, on the ground floor with other units upstairs. Heard footsteps walking across the floor till about 11pm when they went to bed. I was not impressed at paying $127 night for a basic, outdated room. It was clean and tidy but at this price I felt it was not value for money, would have expected better quality furnishings etc. I appreciate it is at peak season, but for a room of this kind, I would not want to pay more than $80-85 night. Chose not to eat at the onsite restaurant, instead had a lovely meal at the Pirhana Cafe on the main road, opp Henry's liquor store. Quite deceptive from the outside, looked uninspiring, but once inside it was very cosy and pleasant. Would dine there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catmad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centennialcourt, Owner at Centennial Court Motor Inn, responded to this review, 6 January 2013
Thank you for your comments, I am sorry that you were not happy with your stay. We have a wide range of motel units at this complex and have had many great reviews.
We are continually updating our units and responding to guests requests, please let us know before you leave so we can help you have a comfortable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

i personally wouldn't stay here again. The bed was old and tired and like sleeping on a trampoline, super bouncy, not ideal with a partner. The shower wouldn't maintain temperature - and keep going cold and then hot on its own. The curtains were quite light so you wake up as soon as the light shines in and the walls are pretty thin so be hopeful you have quiet neighbours. I felt the $115/night tariff was a bit much for the quality of the room

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mazzietraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centennialcourt, Owner at Centennial Court Motor Inn, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Thank you for your comments.
We have just replaced this bed and several others. The shower has been tested and works well, on mains pressure with gas water heating, we have been congratulated by many guests on the great water pressure (which is adjustable) through the complex.
Our apology for the noisy guests that you had that night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

Major changes to their restaurant, new decor, new menu.
Usual great service and enjoyable food
Hosts Karen and Shane Hitchock always make you very welcome.
Our committee have been conducting their "tea meeting' there for a few years and the venue just gets better!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warbird741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centennialcourt, Owner at Centennial Court Motor Inn, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
Thanks Phil, thank you for staying with us and look forward to seeing you again.
If you do get comfortable in the room then we can always bring your meal and drinks to your room.
We have also had great reviews of the new restaurant and wine bar.
regards
Shayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandra
0.1 mi away
Almond Court Motel
Almond Court Motel
#1 of 3 in Alexandra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alexandra Motor Lodge
Alexandra Motor Lodge
#2 of 3 in Alexandra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alexandra Heights Motel
Alexandra Heights Motel
#4 of 12 in Alexandra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ASURE 117 Avenue Motel
ASURE 117 Avenue Motel
#1 of 12 in Alexandra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
14.6 mi away
Blacks Hotel
Blacks Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ophir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mirabell Chalets
Mirabell Chalets
#1 of 7 in Alexandra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centennial Court Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centennial Court Motor Inn

Property: Centennial Court Motor Inn
Address: 96 Centennial Avenue, Alexandra, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Central Otago > Alexandra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Alexandra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Centennial Court Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Centennial Court Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing