We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“End of season”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunny Garden Nilufer Hotel
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Akyarlar
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“End of season”
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I recently stayed at Sunny Garden, we had booked a 3 bedroom room. We had a camp bed for the first few days. Then a real bed was brought into our room.
The view we had was of a wall and the top of the Migros supermarket, I know it was due to being in one of the lower rooms.
As it was the end of season we rarely saw any staff, there wasn't anyone serving in the pool bar.
It also seemed like supplies were short especially at breakfast as one day they had no black tea bags. The breakfast was the same everyday I was sick of even looking at boiled eggs by the 3rd day. Only tea and coffee were provided no water or juice which is very strange as this is always provided when you stay B&B.
The towels that were provided were hard and scratched the skin, the room wasn't cleaned properly.
Maybe our experience was due to the fact that the season is winding down but it is shame the standard is not consistent.

Room Tip: If you want a secluded holiday with no staff on site no facilities such as a gym, spa this hotel is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank hal m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    51
    31
    11
    8
See reviews for
76
86
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

This hotel was perfect! All that we required was a comfortable, clean hotel with a pool, which is what we got!

From the moment arrived, to the moment we left, it was epic. Our room was situated just down from the terrace area. It was a good-sized room, with two comfortable beds and a large en-suite shower room. We enjoyed the breakfast, but it took us a while to find what parts of the lovely Turkish breakfast we liked the most. Food in the evenings was okay, but we only ate in once so couldn't comment fully.

With regards to the local beach, again we didn't try it out during the day but we enjoyed several meals down at the various restaurants. You sit literally 15m from the sea!

The dolmus (bus) was great into Turgertreis, with a brilliant market on a Saturday. This is the main place for eating out in the evenings, as the local restaurants, good as they were, tended not to cater to tourists as much as the main town.

Be careful of racking up a bar bill as it is so easy to grab a waiter as he walks past your sunbed for a drink! And also the air-con is pay per night.

Overall a lovely holiday, in a lovely part of Turkey with lovely staff! Will hopefully return soon!

Room Tip: Choose a sea-view room to make use of a balcony and the epic views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisgray91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Visited Turkey for the first time with my grandchildren and stayed at Sunny Gardens. After I had booked the holiday I decided to look to see what the reviews were on TripAdvisor and I was very concerned about some of the things that had been said about the hotel, the staff and quality of service. However my experience was a good one. The hotel is about 45 minutes away from the main tourist area of Bodrum but that suited us fine because it was a lot more peaceful and relaxing. The rooms were basic but clean, towels were changed every day and the staff was friendly and helpful. The beach is about a ten minute walk away from the hotel but it was kind of busy so we didn't use it. A bus service runs close by to the main tourist areas of Bodrum and Turgutries so we often traveled down to the latter to have lunch and shop. One suggestion if you want to go on excursions travel into Bodrum and find an agency doing such trips as they are a whole lot cheaper than the reps who come to the hotel. All round we had a lovely time and was very happy that we stayed at this hotel. Would I return there? I most certainly would.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Errol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

My husband, me and two teenage boys stayed here in August 2012. What a lovely surprise it was to find this hotel. The rooms are basic but spotlessly clean, it has air conditioning at a small charge but it was certainly worth it. The boys had a bed each which is always a relief as usually they have to share a tiny sofa bed. There was not loads for the boys to do but it did have free wifi so that kept them amused. The swimming pool area again is spotlessly clean with sunbeds all around and not one fight for one or towels put on to reserve them, there is also a bar by the swimming pool.

The staff are so friendly and helpful and the manager Adviye is wonderful. Adviye could not do enough to help from arranging taxis to allowing us to stay in the room until we left late afternoon and not charging us a penny so a very lovely lady bending over backwards to help make your stay comfortable.

The beach is a 10 minute walk straight down if you walk very slowly, it is a very traditional Turkish beach with quite a few bars and restaurants again it is lovely but if you are looking for English breakfasts and bars with loud banging must you will be disappointed this may not be for you. There is a supermarket literally a 2 minute walk away which has everything you could want.

The food on half board was fabulous, freshly cooked and hot I really cannot see how you can complain especially for the price you pay. Yes there are stairs up to the hotel but the lovely friendly staff come down the stairs and take your luggage to the top and then back down again when you leave. I can honestly recommend this hotel to everyone I felt it was worth every single penny.

One word of warning we got a resorthoppa bus to the hotel and the next day the rep for them tried to tell us that to go 40 minutes up the road it would cost between 175-300 Turkish Lira for a taxi, he did try and pressurise us saying there were not alot of taxis about, but we asked Adviye and she ordered us a taxi and it cost 40 Turkish Lira.

Go you will have a lovely time.

Room Tip: Ask to be near the pool it is quiet and lovely and cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KFP_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

A friend and me stayed at Sunny Garden for 1 week in August 2012. We had a lovely time there and were very happy that we picked this one. The area is peaceful and surrounded by houses not hotels, which we liked, because we were mainly surrounded by Turkish people and very few tourists.

The beach was small, but very clean and we always got a sun chair. The water is crystal-clear and gave us a nice break from the heat. Many children were there and at the hotel, but we never felt disturbed by them.

There is a supermarket right outside the hotel which provides almost everything you need.
The food at Sunny Garden was Turkish. They offered many fresh vegetables and fruits for all meals. For dinner they always had something else too e.g. French fries, chicken etc.

The rooms were fresh and tidy at the beginning but the everyday-room-service was not best. Sometimes they didn’t change towels or forgot to empty the trash. But we felt still relaxed and well at Sunny Garden.

The owner asked how we felt every dinner. She was uncomplicated with organizing day trips or taxi transport to/from the Airport. She helped us very fast and she spoke really good English. We would recommend spending 50 Euro one way (2 persons) for the Taxi from/to Airport, because it was very smooth and easy.

To sum it up:
The week was awesome. We got what we paid for. A small, familial hotel with local food, a pool, a beach close by and helpful and nice staff.
I would recommend going there if you are a person that seeks a peaceful stay at a not perfect but very lovely hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Stayed here from 12th until 19th of August, and it was truly great. Me and my friend travelled alone, and to be honest I was a bit unsure of going to Turkey as two young women by ourselves, but I've never ever felt more safe on a journey. The hotel is located between two tourist citys (Bodrum and Turgutreis) and if you're looking for a place outside a city, this is perfect! It doesn't take very long to get into the citys by local bus in the evenings to enjoy shopping streets, restaurants, nightlife etc and costs about 1,5 euro one way.

The staff was very friendly and helpful, they did all they could to make our stay the best possible! They deserve a golden star for their effort. We had both a bedroom and a livingroom and felt very comfortable there. One of the sofas was a bit broken, the cleaning of the room wasn't excellent but still okay and it didn't really bother us. The floor is a tile floor, which was great (I expected carpet as in many other hotels, which usually gets really bad after sandy, wet feet) so this was a great surprise!

There are a lot of stairs, since it's located on a hillside, which made the place look really nice with the houses on different hight (but I could imagine it's not the best if you have a problem with balance or maybe for small children, although there were many families with kids that seemed to manage very wel!). The beach is a few minutes walk from the hotel, with sandy beach, super clear water (salty-of course!) very little waves and a bit chilly now and then (the sea) - which was most of the time great since the air and sun is crazy warm! The hotel is co-operating with one of the beaches so you get to use their sun beds for free, really comfortable. You have to buy water and drinks from them though, but I didn't take that as a problem.

I loved the food. So if you love fresh vegetables and fruits, this is the place for you! The salad buffet was great, with different things each evening (and some that was the same). Each evening they also served soop, and some kind of main course like fish, chicken or meat with rice, pasta or french fries to go with that. Also dessert, and coffee/tea. The breakfast had a variaty of cereals, olives, cheese, meat and then some bread, fruit (often watermelon!) and youghurt. This was all included in our half board stay. Water and drinks to the dinner was extra, also air condition (think it was 5 pounds a night) for the room and safety box was to be payed extra. But we managed well without air condition, having the door open and fall alseep to the sounds outside was not a problem. It was mostly turkish guests, some italians, a few british people and then us (a swedish and a german). It was also a mix of age. Some families with children, some older couples, some young couples. It was just a great mix!

One day we did a tourist trip to the ancient city of Efesos - really hot (like 40 celsius degrees) but well worth it. Nice to have been there! I can recommend it if you're intrested in history (or like me, wanted to read the Ephesians in Efesos).

All in all, I had a wonderful week! It's a small place and a calm area, not too much tourists or flirty uncomfortable guys like in many tourist places. It's a 3 star hotel, and that's what I would call it as well. With 5 star staff!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ninja W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Stayed here last week and was very happy overall. We arrived late as our flight was delayed but even though the kitchen was closed they rustled us up a great meal with side salad and loads of bread - we were expecting to go to bed hungry. Rooms were clean and tidy and of a good size. All staff were very helpful and when we had a problem with the air con were moved to a larger room the next morning with no fuss whatsoever. When the time came for us to leave they even booked our transfers for us without us having to mess around doing it ourselves. Pool was of a good size with plenty of loungers for guests. If you fancy some peace and quiet then this could well be the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElmParkJedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Akyarlar
0.2 mi away
La Brezza Suite & Hotel
La Brezza Suite & Hotel
#2 of 13 in Akyarlar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sentido Bellazure
Sentido Bellazure
#4 of 13 in Akyarlar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.2 mi away
Liv Hotel by Bellazure
Liv Hotel by Bellazure
#8 of 13 in Akyarlar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Dragut Point South Hotel
Dragut Point South Hotel
#3 of 55 in Turgutreis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arhalya Tas Konak
Arhalya Tas Konak
#7 of 13 in Akyarlar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bodrum Imperial
Bodrum Imperial
#3 of 13 in Akyarlar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Garden Nilufer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Garden Nilufer Hotel

Property: Sunny Garden Nilufer Hotel
Address: Ataturk Caddesi No: 281, Akyarlar 48960, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Akyarlar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Akyarlar
#3 Romantic Hotel in Akyarlar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunny Garden Nilufer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunny Garden Nilufer Hotel is a friendly, family-run, boutique style hotel situated 200 metres (225 yards) from one of the most beautiful, unspoilt, sandy bays on the Bodrum Peninsula. Under Sunny Garden Hotels management, the Nilufer Hotel is ideal for couples, families and is especially for children. If you are looking for a truly enjoyable holiday experience in Turkey, this is the ideal location. Situated just 40 km. (25 miles) from Bodrum International Airport, you will have easy access to both the popular town centres of Turgutreis (8 km./5 miles) and Bodrum (19km./12 miles). Both Turgutreis and Bodrum can be accessed using the local dolmuses (buses) which pass by the front of the hotel several times an hour. Along with a 24-hour service, the Hotel facilities include swimming pool (including children's pool), indoor and outdoor restaurants (serving both British and International food), poolside bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sunny Garden Nilufer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunny Garden Nilufer Akyarlar
Hotel Sunny Garden Nilufer
Sunny Garden Nilufer Hotel Turkey/Akyarlar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing