We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More then expected”
Review of Hotel Baia Bodrum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Baia Bodrum
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Gundogan
Certificate of Excellence
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“More then expected”
Reviewed 19 September 2011

The rooms are clean, staff is very nice. Food was excellent, so many choises.
24 hours of food. wow!
At the reception we loved Emre, very helpful and very nice.
Definitely a 5* hotel.
I've seen hotel's in Miami, Las Vegas, New York, and all over Europe, and this hotel is the best I've seen.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iceaysen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    597
    297
    116
    47
    47
See reviews for
377
446
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

I travelled on the 18th of August for 10 nights with my husbnad and 10 year old daughter.

Our bedroom was spacious but like previous comments the tiny bathroom needs updating!
The cleaning of the room was terrible, our patio area was never cleaned, the mirrors were never cleaned or the bedroom furniture (i cleaned the tops with detox wep wipes) unfortunately we had carpet in the bedroom and that was never hoovered either even though I did mention this to the reception staff, but they really do not care!

The Restaraunt, was very nice we never had a problem getting a table no matter what time we went in, we did tip several of the staff so we did get looked after :-)

The Wine was very nice and the cocktails were great, the food always plenty but again very samey!

Entertainment was very poor except for the Gala evening which was on a Saturday evening and it was lovely!

The weather was fantastic with nice breezes in the evening.

Over-all unfortunately like previousy stated this hotel is NOT Premier 5 stars but it is a wonderful hotel with some of the best views in Turkey!

Baia Bodrum has got HUGE potential but it does need a lot of work doing to it!

We had a fab holiday and we met some lovely people, but over all we would not go back to this hotel, but it is worth a visit maybe for a week!

Regarding the aqua park restaraunt/cafe/piggery we didn't like it, and the staff serving the food are the most miserable people I have come across!

Oh and the jetty is just beautiful, and the town along the marina was very nice also, I have been to better hotels, It should be rated 3/4 stars, then I wouldn't of even tried it!

Room Tip: Do not go in to rooms begining in the numbers 2010 onwards or below!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Richys3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We stayed August 21st - 5th Sept 2011 and had a great holiday. The hotel is lovely but you must remember 5* Turkey is not the same as 5* Spain!
The best feature of the hotel is the stunning location ( particularly from the lobby bar ). It's situated high up overlooking a bay with fantastic yachts moored up. The hotel is large but is on many levels set within the landscape. Most of the hotel is actually below the reception level as you enter.
Although 95% of rooms have a sea view we paid extra for a 'sea view'. Our room was large and not only had a balcony with a sea view but also two large side windows overlooking the pool/sea, so we could not have been more pleased! We had a queen size, comfortable, firm bed and nice bathroom ( room 1315 main building ).
The staff were lovely, really friendly and very helpful. Reception were also OK in that if we ever needed anything, it was dealt with very quickly.
The food was good with lots of choice. If you stayed for a week you would be really pleased but by the end of two weeks it was all getting rather repetitive! I think mainly because everything was always laid out in the same place, which I guess they have to do. A couple of times a chef cooked steak and lamb ( fantastic ) - but we would have liked to have seen more of these cooking as you queue areas. The restaurant was nice, and not like a cattle market as described ( and the views whilst eating were amazing).
Entertainment, however, was varied!! Don't go expecting a lot! Quite often the animation team were in charge and whilst they did a great job in the daytime, the evening entertainment they put on was sometimes diabolical. Even the comedy night was just not funny! However, every Saturday evening the hotel put on a gala night and that was brilliant. You all sit to eat around the edge of the pool and the professional entertainment lasted 1 and a half hours solid. There were Mongolian acrobats and synchronized swimmers who were fantastic. We went for two weeks though, and each gala night was pretty much the same! The animation team came around in the daytime and we did join in with darts,boules and pool games which was fun.
We very much enjoyed the smallish gym with views over the sea and pool - wow! The main swimming pool is also great and is 40m in length with a small kids pool close by. Way below is another fun pool with a couple of flumes and ideal for kids under 11 really.
Down a few levels again is the pier, with lots of sunbeds- ideal to snorkel or swim from.
The hotel is in a quiet, unspoiled location but there is a 10-15 minute walk along the front to a small village called Gundogan ( mainly restaurants,sunbeds, a supermarket, a few shops. watersports etc). We also did three long walks up into the unspoiled hillsides which offered great photographic views. By the pier you can also book up your water-sports or take out the canoes for free ( although only for 10mins at a time). A hotel which is great for families or couples.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank compurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2011

This was not what i would csll a 5 star hotel. 5 star would mean perfect with no faults. This hotel, although very comtempary and fantastic views has its faults.
The reception staff are not friendly nor helpful except for Emre who is very nice and will go out her way to help you. The cleanliness of the rooms is average and the bathrooms need updating. There is a lot of sunbed reserving goes on and it is very frustrating as the staff do not take control of this at all.The food in the restaurant is varied and very good although can get very busy at times resulting in a lack of clean tables, although, again one member of staff stood out for us, Recipe, he always looked out for us and had a table ready for us with a drink, which was very helpful as we were travelling with 3 young children. Probably wouldnt come here again but we never visit the same place twice anyway as there is so many other places to see.

Room Tip: suites & standard rooms seem to have the best views. Family rooms are hidden behind with limited...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Great location on the Gundogan Bay with its calm - navy blue waters. The Hotel is made of white marble and is spacious and relaxing. The rooms are large but the bathroom is small and needs modernisation. (The shower has a cloth curtain which I do not find acceptable at a 5* Hotel). The food served at the Main restaurant is below average as they offered chicken or turkey rather than steak/lamb meat. They have a variety of hot local dishes but these do not go very well in summer season. The grill section definetly needs a signficant improvement compared to 5* hotels in Bodrum/Antalya. Special thanks to Serdar at the main restaurant and Hakan at the Lobby Bar who did their best to increase customer satisfaction. One last note, the best food offered at the Hotel was ''pide'' at the Aqua bar. ( Turkish pizza with cheese or spicy mince) and the pide chef was a maestro at his profession.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dilek10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom Surrey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

I stayed at the Baia with my wife and 2 chidren for 2weeks from 08/08/11
I am not going to write a long winded report, rather a quick summary of each category.
Rooms: Spacious, beds old and a bit uncomfortable, air conditioning barely adequate, bathrooms functional but hardly 5 star. cleaning: just adeqaute.
Food: All round quite good. Very nice food at the snack bar in the day. Breakfast and dinner always something tasty to eat although a bit samey. Never had a problem finding a table.
Drinks: All round excellent. Never had to wait for long be it at the bars or in the restaurant. Wine was very nice as were all the beers and mixers most of which we tried.
Staff: Mostly friendly and helpful with possibly the exception of the reception who were a little aloof.
Animation/entertainment: Rubbish really. Few professional shows and repeated every week. Small ampitheatre that felt a bit isolated from the rest of the hotel.
Location: Terrific. Stunning views across the bay night and day. Lovely cooling breeze especially at night. Nice walks along the front with lovely little bars and restaurants leading to the town center with cashpoints and supermarkets selling every thing you might need at very reasonable prices (avoid the hotel shop).
Pools. Main pool very nice, get up early for a sunbed. Childrens pool great with good slides.
Beach: Non existent but nice jetty.
Overview: Lots of good things about this hotel so dont be put off by bad reviews. Would I go back? probably not, but only because there are other places to go and see. I think anybody looking at booking this hotel should do so and will enjoy their stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank epsomroamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
182 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

The hotel is excellent in respect of location, however, the rooms can be a problem, ours, and several on our row had sewage backing up through the toilet owing to an ongoing site problem.

The entertainment is good and frequent, plus the food selection is very good, although a lot of the food is aimed at German tourists.

Reception staff are vague and not very helpful, but then they do not appear to completely grasp English, so it may be a language problem rather that unhelpful staff.

Having said all the above, it is one of the better hotels along that peninsula.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Usuzumiishi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gundogan
8.8 mi away
Rixos Premium Bodrum
8.7 mi away
Sianji Wellbeing Resort
Sianji Wellbeing Resort
#6 of 55 in Turgutreis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
11.9 mi away
La Blanche Island Bodrum
La Blanche Island Bodrum
#4 of 98 in Bodrum City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Costa Farilya Special Class Hotel
0.2 mi away
Cape Bodrum Beach Resort
Cape Bodrum Beach Resort
#5 of 13 in Gundogan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.8 mi away
Green Beach Resort
Green Beach Resort
#1 of 13 in Gundogan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baia Bodrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baia Bodrum

Property: Hotel Baia Bodrum
Address: Kizilburun Mevkii, Gundogan 48400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gundogan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gundogan
#2 Spa Hotel in Gundogan
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gundogan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Baia Bodrum 5*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baia Bodrum Hotel is situated at 19 kms from Bodrum city centre and 48 Kms from Bodrum airport, located at Kızılburun area within the municipality of Gundogan, which is one of Bodrum‘s most beautiful bays. With its total accommodation capacity of 228 rooms including 6 suites, 2 senior suites, 1 king suite and 2 disabled room Hotel Baia Bodrum, situated at sea level on an area of 30,000 square meters, is at your disposal. The hotel facilities have central air conditioning system (from 1st June till 30th September) which will switch on depending on weather conditions on May and October ; All of our rooms decorated as minimalistic and 95% of them with sea view and balcony or terrace with seating group . The rooms are equipped with satellite TV, minibar, hair dryer, safe box. The Aqua Park consists of outdoor swimming pools ( with child. section ) with a two-sections water chute, there is Fitness Center, Turkish bath, sauna, steam room, spa, massage and whirl pool facilities. Its shore is 400 meters long, 250 meters of which are reserved as a private sandy beach. There is a jetty, divans and sections made of wood for sunbathing, as well as cushions and sunshades at the beach. At the shore, there are jet skis, banana boat, canoeing, water skiing, parasailing and other water sports possibilities. Furthermore, there is a tennis court ,basketball field, table tennis, billiards, bowling, cinema, darts, indoor disco , business center, Professional Fitness Center 4 fully equipped conference halls (each between 25 - 350 pax capacity), TV room, amphitheater, mini club and health services. Soft animation is held, pool games and competitions during day time, animation activities are performed in the evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Baia Bodrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodrum Baia Hotel
Baia Bodrum Hotel
Baia Hotel Turkey
Baia Hotel Bodrum
Hotel Baia Bodrum Turkey/Gundogan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing