We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful vacation at a very nice hotel”
Review of Baga Hotel Gokova

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Baga Hotel Gokova
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Akyaka
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful vacation at a very nice hotel”
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

If you wanna stay away from the pretentious summer crowds and enjoy the sea and the sun, it is a perfect location. We even enjoyed the cold spring water merging into the sea. If you want to see what's around, you'll definitely need a car or a boat. Good food, friendly staff and a very pleasant stay overall- rooms could be cheaper given that the price includes just breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zeynora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bilgekagan, Sahibi at Baga Hotel Gokova, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    47
    16
    6
    2
See reviews for
46
91
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

There are 4 small hotels & a handful of houses in this select bay & I am so pleased that we picked this one, it has by far the largest & most private beach frontage & a pool. We stayed for a night in this little piece of paradise, away from it all, backed by luscious green mountains & yes overlooking the freezing cold sea but after spending time looking for a good 'boutique hotel' between Bodrum & Akyaka this was the only option that came up & it well surpassed my expectations. The hotel has been refurbed, everything was new & spotless. The standard room size was good & there was a safe in the wardrobe (seemed to be lacking before from other comments, not that we used it). Also from previous reviews I was not expecting the food to be a highlight but it was. We had a delicious evening meal of traditional mezze & octopus, the bread was toasted with a hint of garlic butter, that I couldn't stop eating, & calamari & steak. Again the traditional turkish breakfast was a delight. The hotel is situated between the popular Cinar Beach & Akyaka, it is on the east side of the bay so is in the shade in early morning but gets the sun the rest of the day till it goes down. I think that the owner & management of the hotel are always looking for ways that they can improve their guests experience, the only thing that I could possibly suggest is good filter coffee, a couple of free small bottles of water in the room when you arrive would have been a nice touch, as most hotels worldwide provide this & mini bar list (not just for prices). But thanks to all, I had a memorable birthday.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KTbodrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bilgekagan, Sahibi at Baga Hotel Gokova, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izmir, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

The hotel is located on a beautifull bay a few km away from Akyaka. While the weather was awfully hot in Akyaka, the hotel had refreshing cool breeze. We preffered a room on the second floor because everybody stayed at the hotel warned about the intense moisture odour on the rooms at first floor, which we realized was true. The rooms were small but decorated functionally and tastefully and were clean. The beach, the sunbathing areas, the garden and the staging was nice to have time. The food served at the restaurant was not very satisfactory for me so after our first night we preffered to have dinner at the fish serving restaurants near Azmak in Akyaka which was really a good choice. The staff at the hotel was friendly and helpfull, the service at the restaurant and the other areas of the hotel was really good. Baga Hotel is a good choice to have a relaxing and refreshing vacation and Akyaka has a lot beauty to be discovered around.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ceren Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We stayed there for 2 nights.Our room was a bit small,but clean and tidy.The hotel's location is very successful,but you will need a car to get to the centre of the town.(all bars and restaurants are there).The temperature of the sea is very low,really freezing.The breakfast was good.Nice place to stay for 1-2 nights.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dashokbayar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulaş Ç, Sahibi at Baga Hotel Gokova, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
izmir
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Baga Hotel is located at one of the nicest beaches in Akyaka region. The hotel building is not the best looking amongst the others in the small bay but the garden, the dining area and the beach facilities are really good. The staff is probably the best we have ever seen for a while. They were very friendly, helpful and always smiling. I can recommend this hotel to honeymooners, families with children. Ps: The sea is quite cold, keep that in mind before booking if you prefer warm sea water.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uzotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulaş Ç, Sahibi at Baga Hotel Gokova, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Thank you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Nice hotel with a great location but relatively small rooms. No wireless coverage in rooms and on the beach. (it is sad to even have a coverage from the nearby hotels-they need to fix this!!). It has an amazing beach, however because of the spring waters the water temperature in the whole bay is so low. Water is freezing, if you are not fan of cold water Baga and other hotels in the same bay (iskele, filika) are not a good option for you. The only day we swam was the day we went on a daily cruises.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Iamfrommars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bilgekagan, Owner at Baga Hotel Gokova, responded to this review, 5 August 2012
Dear guest,
As you complaint about room size, we would like to inform you that we have a project of changing all rooms of our hotel with suit rooms in year 2013. Of course we will have less rooms than ever but we have chosen to satisfy our guests more than earning more money.
We are sorry for the cold water. We had some plans to solve that problem. But we cancelled our projects to solve it because we believe this is the nature side of our facility and giving here a speciality. And actually this spring water has a natural healing effect on human body and some people especially choosing to swim in it because of its healing effect. Of course this is something some of our customers complaint but if it is a defect of our facility than we accepted that one.
Thank you for your review about our hotel. We will be very pleased if you will give choose our hotel next year also. I would like to inform you that next year we will have a spa center and bungalows with an awesome sea view in the forest next to hotel facility. Also we will have swimming platforms near coast but as they will be far away from spring water than you will have the chance to swim in more warm sea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We were recommended Akyaka as a lovely Turkish resort, away from the over-crowded and touristy resorts and it certainly lived up to this. There were enough bars and restaurants to keep us busy, but without the tacky nightclubs etc. We were just looking for a relaxing week, so although there was loads to do around the area – we had been nearby before and were happy to spend a week soaking up the sun and chilling out.

We booked some Easyjet flights then found Baga Boutique hotel on Trip Advisor. The hotel was really relaxing – located in a small bay with a few small other hotels nearby. We had booked direct via email for 7 nights and upgraded to a seaview, but when we were shown to our room it was facing the garden – the guy didn’t speak any English, but after finding the manager it was no problem to swap rooms, although there wasn’t much of a view anyway due to the trees. The room itself was OK – small, clean but a little dated, so sufficient for our needs.

The hotel’s itself and its location were idyllic - fantastic views across the sea, and mountain landscape that could keep you happy all day. The staff didn’t speak much English, but were attentive and always happy to help but not at all pushy or in your face. The manager was always walking around the hotel making sure things were OK. It had the potential to have been like paradise – really quaint and loads of sun beds by the pool, on the jetty or the beach – best of all worlds. You could spend the day jumping off the jetty and swimming in the sea.

The problem was there were so many families with young children around. We’re not sure if it
was just unlucky timing, but it was difficult to relax with screaming children next to you!

There isn’t much around the hotel, so we ate in the restaurant or on the sun beds each day – the food was good, and prices similar to those in the centre. And it’s normal to charge everything to the room so no need to carry cash around. The breakfast was a typical Turkish breakfast – breads, cheese, eggs, olives, fruits, meat, cereals etc. There were sometimes delicious pastry-type things, but these seemed to go really quickly – it may have just been busy when we were there, but was a bit monotonous after a few days.

Each night we walked into Akyaka for dinner and a few drinks. It’s about 15 minutes along the main road. The best way is to walk 10 minutes right from the hotel then turn into the Apple Beach resort/park and follow the road down to the front – there are a few cafes here but turning left will take you into the main area. The best restaurant we found here was Mevs. The fillet steak was out of this world – possibly the best I’ve ever had and only £10.

There were bars/cafes dotted around the resort and each seemed to be busier on different nights, some with live music, so best to just have a wonder and see where you end up.

There is also a selection of restaurants along the river which is beautiful (but don’t forget the mosquito spray – although there is some on the table if you do). If you carry on walking around the front for another 15 minutes you’ll come across these. The best we found was Kordon – the seabass was fresh and delicious and only cost about £5, plus the waiters were really friendly with complimentary amaretto.

We booked our transfers with DM Transfers. They were fab – big executive car with air con, cold water and friendly drivers. It was £78 roundtrip from Dalaman and took an hour each way.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rock_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulaş Ç, Sahibi at Baga Hotel Gokova, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Akyaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Iskelem Otel
Iskelem Otel
#2 of 12 in Akyaka
130 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kerme Ottoman Palace
Kerme Ottoman Palace
#5 of 12 in Akyaka
258 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yucelen Hotel Gokova
Yucelen Hotel Gokova
#3 of 12 in Akyaka
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Shimal Residence Hotel
Shimal Residence Hotel
#9 of 12 in Akyaka
72 reviews
1.1 mi away
Elif Hanim Hotel & Spa
Elif Hanim Hotel & Spa
#1 of 12 in Akyaka
195 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kerme Ottoman Konak
Kerme Ottoman Konak
#6 of 12 in Akyaka
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baga Hotel Gokova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baga Hotel Gokova

Property: Baga Hotel Gokova
Address: Gumruk Sokak No.3, Akyaka 48650, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Akyaka
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Akyaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baga Hotel Gokova 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baga Boutique Hotel offers a rich menu in its full service restaurant, using the fresh foodstuffs it procures from the local area. Gökova's fertile lands rich in minerals, and its unique climate will bring you the taste of fresh fruits and vegetables you fondly remember, and long for. The restaurant of Baga Boutique Hotel prepares its dishes using these delicious tastes whenever possible. All you have to do is to order what your heart desires in a green garden just next to the shore, and enjoy the unrivaled view while you wait for the a la carte service. You can also visit Gokova's authentic restaurants built in the traditional architectural style of the region, located on the bank of Azmak river. If you prefer to use air travel for coming to Baga Boutique Hotel, we can arrange for your transfer from Dalaman Airport, which is 68 km away, in our hotel's air-conditioned shuttle, in consideration of a small fee. Moreover, our shuttle can be placed at your service for various activities in the area.You can take part in numerous sports activities in the area. Trekking, jogging, paragliding from Sakar hill, windsurfing, kite surfing, rock climbing, rafting at Dalaman river, horse riding are only a few of the sports you can enjoy. Furthermore, daily excursions to nearby attractions, such as visits to all antique cities in Mugla, watching sea otters at Kadin Azmagi, a visit to dolphin rehabilitation center on a speed boat from Marmaris, a peek at Boncuk bay used by sharks as a breeding ground, an excursion to Sedir Island world famous for its sands, feeding sea turtles at Dalyan, boat trips to various coves of Gokova for a quick swim in unmatched beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Baga Hotel Gokova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing