We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant hotel.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alba Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alba Royal Hotel
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Colakli
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Brilliant hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

I am very confused with some of the recent reviews of this hotel. We found it to be a wonderful place for a week away.

On arrival we were met with a nice cold drink and a plate of biscuits and cakes.

The whole hotel is spotlessly clean and people were cleaning all the time. Every area was immaculate, the rooms, public areas and pool were all lovely and clean.

We had a very nice room which was a sea view even though we didn't pay for one.

The food at the hotel was also very nice. There was always a huge selection of freshly prepared things to choose from even for the fussiest eater. The pool bar also had a nice selection of things that were cooked freshly to order.

We found all the bar staff and waiters to be very friendly and attentive and only gave a very small tip at the end of the week so this had no bearing on the service we received.

I agree with previous reviewers about the sun bed situation but on our last day a sign appeared saying that towels on reserved beds would be removed at 08:00. Hopefully this will help.

Would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobby3156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    567
    181
    67
    13
    13
See reviews for
119
543
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Easington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

I booked this hotel after reading the Tripadvisor comments which were largely very positive. . My own opinion of the hotel is that it is OK, not brilliant, service was fine, the room was functional (though I don't know why there is a big window in the bedroom so you can see your wife/husband/partner doing whatever they are doing in the bathroom, and the blind didn't work, very strange). We had great weather and the hotel was clean with reasonable if repetitive food. However, on our visit we met with lots of people, and I mean lots, who had returned to the hotel multiple times. There were so many guests who would socialise with other guests they had met in previous years and this spanned different nationalities so this would indicate very high satisfaction levels from those previous years which is what I responded too. Unfortunately, the hotel will be destined to lose the patronage of those guests because there were many complaints about the lower standards, chiefly about the loss of the "Animation Team" (entertainment) who apparently had been excellent and brought couples together in the evenings. They also commented that the food was poorer and mentioned small cutbacks that together accumulated to disappointment for them. The biggest issue at the hotel became the lack of sunbeds. Guests would go out at 5.30 am to "stake their claim" because if you didn't get your "patch with beds" you were going to have to head for the beach. Everybody ended up playing the same game because it was the only way of making sure you got a sunbed, and this is the only time I have ever had to do this. Did we have a good time? Of course we did we were on holiday and we met some fantastic people. Would we go back? Definitely not, there are better all inclusive hotels than this one for similar prices

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fitandoverfifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

My husband and i booked this hotel from the recommendation provided by Thomas Cook. Upon arrival we received a warm welcome but as with previous comments could see this was a hotel for more mature guests.
I'm 29 and my husband is 30 and we were by far the youngest guests. We had read the reviews about the tip culture, we can agree you are at every point expected to tip but they are not overly pushy. Meal time the food was always hot but not much of a good selection. By the 3rd day we were tired of the options.
The hotel was very clean and the staff very friendly but the language barrier was often an issue. The hotel is deffinately aimed towards German and more mature guests.
Out around the hotel there was not much, there are a few shops which are all very much the same and possibly 2 bars and 2 shops selling excursions.
We booked for the quad biking which was ok, it could have been a little better. Again, when we arrived from a group of 20+ they have a 30 minute brief in German and showed my husband a board on a wall and told us to read the terms. They made no attempt to provide us the same 30 minute brief. It didn't bother us as we had been quad biking previously in Tunisia. We booked for the dolphin island tour, we were told we would see turtles and would be dolphin watching, unfortunatley what we were not told was you are taken to an island called dolphin island which you can swim around for 15 minutes. It was a long day being stuck on a boat from 9am until 6pm.
If you book this trip avoid booking with the calypso boat. We were the last pick up from our hotel and when arrived at side harbour we were the last to get on the boat. There was already a coach full of people already on the boat and no place for us to sit. We had no protection from the sun the whole day. The driver insisted after our stop at mangavat we resumed our previous seats, there was no chance of getting under any shade as people were lying on the floor on the inside of the boat.
This trip is not something I would suggest for people with young children.
If you want a relaxing pool side holiday and are 50+ then this hotel would be perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mell_Hld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westmidlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Just returned form our 3 time here,
After turning down 2 rooms we where left 3 room smelling vile until we complained after several days and felt it had not been cleaned right. :(
Expected to see same entertainment team as previous yrs, But was replaced by just 4 ?? who where like headless chickens, no one seemed in charge of them, 1 wk like being in a retirement home with no music or entertainment it was quite depressing at times, went to see Denise the gust relations officer she said it was like that because the germans complained it was to noisy so every body else had to suffer, it did improve a little bit 2 wk but nothing like previously yrs.

FOOD previous yrs very good this yr not so good, not so much verity, Eggs always uncooked & slimly, Meat sometimes not cooked properly had some which was almost raw.
Last yr had grown up ice cream this yr soft scoop only.
There was no permanently serving the ice cream it was left to anyone how was available eg waiters, entertainment team, bar staff not at any time did we see them wash hand before serving them. :((
Went to see other 2 Alba hotels which are 4 star to compare with the Alba Royal they seem to be more like a 5 star than 4.
Was invited for cocktails at the Alba resort, met manager of entertainment and said we where unhappy with the changes and how different it felt from last year, he asked if we would talk to the manager of the hotel to say how we felt, after half hour he said would we come back next year we side no unless things got better, all of the other people we now and met said the same has us.
Hopefully things will get better for the hotels sake .

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neilafowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

just arrived back from this place the beach was stunning very clean and plenty of drinks available you just helped yourselves. good things about the hotel the food was fantastic, we upgraded our room only to discover it had two single beds.Most of the staff at the bars and resteraunt we found ignorant and very unatentive mainly to the British, the entertainment is very poor and the games room is a joke with one pool table which you have to pay 10 lr per hour,one table tennis facility ,bowling at 20 lr ,and 2 broken games machines not exatly 5 star and certainly not worthy of the £2,500 pounds we paid. A few words of advice set your alarm clock for 4,0clock if you want a bed by the pool ,but even if you get one you stand the chance of your parasol been removed before you get back to it. on saying all this we did recieve a lovely fruit basket and a bottle of wine on our anniversary commpliments of the team lovely supprise. p.s. stear clear of the settee ride at the beach very painful. ouch ouch..

Room Tip: pays to upgrade. double check your getting a double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yvonne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham UK
Level Contributor
103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stayed at the Alba Royal for 2 weeks

Food,
I have to say the food on the whole was pretty good, good quality and lots of choice. The soups were always quite nice.
The food did get a bit reparative at times but that's to be expected after 2 weeks

Restaurants
The main buffet restaurants are good, just find one waiter who you like and stick with them, do tip them and they will look after you.
The two a la carte restaurant we visited made a nice change. the Turkish and Cuban Restaurants both offered good food and service, the lamb in the Cuban was fantastic and the mixed grill in the Turkish are extremely good.
The pool bar and sea front restaurant are both nice to have lunch at, the lemon chicken at the sea front is very nice and the burgers are great at the pool bar.

Bars
Again tip the waiters and they will look after you, the beer and spirits are of good quality and if you tip the staff your glass is never empty !

Bedrooms
The bedrooms are clean and tidy, only downside for me was the beds were to hard, bathroom is nice and shower is great, I do find the window looking into the bedroom a little strange, if your not going as a couple this could be a little embarrassing watch each other showing.

Pool area
Again very clean and tidy, swimming pool can be a little cold in the morning so beware :-),

Beach
The sea is warmer than the pool and beach is lovely and clean, sand can get very hot so footwear will be needed to walk on the sand.

The hotel seems to attract an older cliental with many repeat visitors, a few said the standards had dropped but I was more than happy with the hotel. The staff on the whole are friendly and helpful.
The only minus points for me are
The towels around the pool, it seems that claiming a sunbed at 5am is the normal thing at this hotel, I noticed one couple have 2 beds each, if you want a decent spot by the pool be prepared to be down the pool early to claim your spot ! The air conditioning in the first week was controlled by the hotel, it was limited to certain times of the day and night. Not the sort of thing I would expect from a 5 star hotel !
One major disappointment was the animation team or lack of one ! The entertainment was at best awful, they very rarely spoke and I am not sure why the hotel doesn't do something about it .
Try to avoid the room on the top floor the get extremely hot.

Room Tip: Avoid the room on the top floor they get extremely hot
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baggies_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

I have just got back from this Hotel and i had a fantastic time. I went with my mum who went to bed early as she found it smokey from everyone smoking so i spent most late evenings on my own. This may seem bad but everyone including the staff made me feel welcome and safe, they simply made my holiday, in fact i have decided to go back in September this year then hopefully again next year.
Entertainment:People we spoke to stated that the entertainment was better the year before, however, i felt that the entertainment staff (Anna and Mustaffa) were amazing and i was kept busy day and night.
Drink: Flowed freely and the bar staff were fantastic especially Yunus who was on the ball and even though he is not the manager he should be.
They also have a fantastic coffee bar which provided cakes and lovely coffee.
Food: was not that fantastic but i did not starve and i was able to find a meal everytime.
Pool: pool was great however, my mum does not swim and there was not enough steps for her to get out, so i had to jump back into the pool to assist my mum out, this created alot of bruising for both of us.
Rooms: Don't bother to upgrade as it's not worth it, but the accommodation was lovely and clean and our bed was changed every day. The Air conditioning is on a timer but if you need it on longer for example throughout the night then all you need to do is go to the reception and ask as they are very helpful and will turn it on for you.
WiFi: you can only get it around the reception side, i did ask for this to be sorted so you can get it all over the hotel ( not too sure if this will happen).
Beach: Clean and monitored throughout the night.
Thank you to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colakli
0.1 mi away
Alba Queen Hotel
Alba Queen Hotel
#7 of 40 in Colakli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
1.1 mi away
Commodore Elite Suites & Spa
1.3 mi away
Aydinbey King's Palace Spa & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
SENTIDO Turan Prince
SENTIDO Turan Prince
#3 of 40 in Colakli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
3.5 mi away
Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort & SPA
0.8 mi away
Royal Alhambra Palace
Royal Alhambra Palace
#4 of 40 in Colakli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alba Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alba Royal Hotel

Property: Alba Royal Hotel
Address: Tilkiler Mevkii Erhan Demir Bulvari PK 6, Colakli, Manavgat, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Colakli
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Colakli
#1 Spa Hotel in Colakli
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Colakli
#2 Luxury Hotel in Colakli
#2 Family Hotel in Colakli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Alba Royal Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 14+ Adult Only Hotel in Antalya ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Alba Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alba Royal Resort All Inclusive
Alba Royal Hotel Turkey/Colakli, Antalya Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing