We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury...”
Review of Alba Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alba Royal Hotel
Ranked #3 of 42 Hotels in Colakli
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Luxury...”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

There is no doubt about it, this hotel is geared towards pure indulgence and the only thing stopping me giving it a rating of 5 is the area, constant expectance to tip and the food choice.

Don't get me wrong, food quality and availability was outstanding; presentation was also immaculate, but I don't eat lamb or fish so this was a problem for me at some times, even the burgers at the pool bar were made from lamb. Also anything claiming to be 'ham' at this hotel is not ham as we know it. All the colourful pretty deserts are quite tasteless, but you don't need them as the featured dessert (crepes, waffles, banana flambe, caramel bread and butter pudding) was outstanding every night; this coupled with the delicious fresh fruit and baklava made dessert a treat every night. They do put on pizza, garlic bread, fries, etc to appease those that don't eat fish or lamb and the quality of the food is indeed, very high. We tried the Cuban a la carte and it was just a treat; the salad and orange chicken had me talking for days. Waffles, pancakes, ice cream and a variety of icicles are available at the pool bar throughout the day, which is excellent. The waffles and pancakes are fantastic; a really nice touch. Drinks such as the pepsi and fanta often tasted watered down however, while the alcoholic ones tasted completely right. If you get a chance, head down to the beach bar and sample the lemon chicken or if you are a fish lover, the fish of the day. My boyfriend constantly complained about small bones being in the fish however. Breakfast is a fantastic spread: meats, cheese, a coffee machine, machines to make freshly squeezed orange juice, hot and cold breakfast items, omlettes made to order and the all important pancakes, which are delicious by the way.

The area of Colakli is not that nice. I would recommend taking the bus for €1.75 to Antik Side if you like history or archaeology like I do, it is stunning. The trip to Perge, Aspendos and Kurnusulu waterfall is also worth it. Do not venture down to the Colakli bazaar unless you want to be thoroughly ripped off or coerced into buying the same rubbish everywhere. If you want to buy quality items at a good price then go on the Antalya shopping and sites excursion and thank me later. The hotel beach is also really nice, lots of water sports and beds in and out of the shade to suit everyone. No restraunts or anything close by in Colakli so you do rely on the hotel in this respect. We went on 4 day excursions: Troy waterpark, Antalya shopping and highlights, Perge etc. and a Manavgat cruise and shopping experience: the food was included but absolutely awful at all of them. You have been warned. Definitely go see Fire of Anatolia if you like theatre performances or co-ordinated dance, it was amazing.

The last negative I forgot to mention above is not entirely directed at the hotel, but at a member of staff. To work in that position, they really must require a good grasp of the English language, but she misled us completely which caused a lot of trouble for us. Basically, this lady (a doctor working at the hotel) told us to come to the doctor at, ''20 o'clock'' which of course, to us, meant 8. She actually meant 20 minutes, and this was 11:30 in the morning. As you can imagine, a bit of a disaster. The rest of the staff at this hotel are fantastic and dedicated and the hotel is lovely and clean. Get a sea view room as the view is just gorgeous. Pool area and pool is lovely and clean. The beer on tap is tuborg, by the way.

The spa is luxurious; they will try and sell you a whole package of massages however. The turkish bath is a must. The rooms in the hotel are spacious and clean. The shower is fantastic and the beds are extremely comfy. Air con was always on at the right moments and there are only like 3 english channels available.

On a side note, for any animal lovers out there, there is an adorable family of kittens living in the bushes outside the indoor pool, near the outside spa beds. The mum cat is black and you will see her wandering around. Bring some food to the kittens if you are going in the near future as they are adorable and add a lovely charm to the hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Cawatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    589
    188
    71
    13
    14
See reviews for
125
563
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Spent two weeks at this resort and can say that it was a lovely place, but no where close to being five star. It is a very clean spotless place. The cleaners must work so hard. Our room cleaner left our room like new everyday.

Facilities within the hotel very lacking no real activities bowling ally broken throughout our whole stay. Pool activities the same morning and afternoon aqua gym or polo. Like other reviews on this site, be prepared to get up early if you want a sun bed. We witnessed one group of our European cousins putting down towels at just gone midnight, so forget the 8am rule. The pool is nice and clean and lovely to swim in.

Food is plentiful and is quite varied so always something to choose, puddings and take this from someone with a very sweet tooth, were awful tasteless mush. So take a wide berth. Plentiful fruit to choose and the fresh oranges at breakfast certainly started the day off right.

Night Entertainment is dreadful and is geared up totally for the German guests. They have live music two nights a week, and both bands sing pretty much in German, and the English songs are barely recognisable. These music nights should stay in East Germany before the wall came down. A very poor showing for a so called five star resort.

To sum up if your holiday is just about sitting around a pool in the hot sun then this resort is for you. If you want a bit of an atmosphere then there are other resorts. Feel a bit mislead by Thomas cook holidays. Overall very clean resort, good food, friendly staff (the ones who understand English) great pool beach close a little crowded. Great history in Side town but not five Star !!! Would go back to turkey, but doubt would choose this resort again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel, staff didn't speak much English as German was there main language. Food great. Only bad point was you had to be up at 6am to get a decent sunbed.
Would recommend this hotel for a relaxing holiday.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank liamfife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This being our first holiday in Turkey we were a bit apprehensive. Hotel staff we found were friendly from reception, maids, to dining room staff. The hotel being a child free establishment had a relaxed feel about it especially the dining room where the food and service was first class with meals to suit all tastes. Didn't try the A La Carte restaurants as the buffet was excellent. The pool area was clean, however a shortage of sun loungers meant our continental cousins had all the beds reserved by 8.30. No matter, the hotel's beach area had lovely sand, plenty of beds with full shade, changing rooms, toilets and a self service alcohol free drinks bar and it was only two minutes from the hotel. The main complaint I heard were the number of times rooms were not ready and alternative rooms were offered sometimes in the sister hotel next door but all for one night only. As we had company we never went to the entertainment so therefore cannot offer comment.There was no chance of trying the sister hotels for a change as the security was strict allowing no access at all. Possibly a good thing. As stated by other reviewers the hotel caters mainly for the German clientele but we didn't find this a problem although the euro was preferred for tipping so take euros if you want the best service. Outside the hotel there are no pubs or restaurants to try for a change, therefore it is a hotel based holiday.The public transport to Side is excellent and worth at least one visit.
To summarise this hotel was well run with clean and well appointed rooms and public spaces, food excellent and the place to go for a relaxing break,
No apprehensive feeling now as we'll be back.

Room Tip: Had a land view room in block 2 on 3rd floor looking over the Alba resort, however this was good as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUNDEE, SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

On arrival at 2;30am Sunday 7th June, we were met by a very rude young male receptionist, I experienced further rudeness from the same person later, All receptionists were unfriendly. The hotel itself was lovely, & spotlessly clean. The food was excellent, especially the al a carte. The Cuban being the best. Most waiters/barmen were excellent, and a special mention to Mehmet, Kemal, & Bayram Toplu, who were extremely attentive and efficient. Also Sevet the manager, who could not do enough for us. The lack of entertainment was a let down, and the pool side bar shut at 11:00 pm. The 24hr bar also shut as early as possible. They also would not open the disco, even though many people requested it to be. The pool was good, although I witnessed people putting out towels as early as 1:30 am & onwards. All in all we had a good time, only because we met loads of friendly people, and we made our own entertainment. I would also say the hotel is no more than a 4 star. There was 4 of us, and we all said we would not go back to this particular hotel.

Room Tip: A sea view is a must, and try and avoid the corner of the hotel that is opposite the cockerels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank arthurinnes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

First time at Alba Royal and very dissappointed. Expected All inclusive to include Evening Entertainment especially as an Adult Only Hotel. 3 Evenings a week had Dancing from 9.30pm to 11pm - then everything stopped!!! Small bowling alley, darts, dominoes, card room closed very night at 10pm. Outside Pool Bar and Upper Bar loungs closed 12 Midnight.
Night disco was closed 3 nights running on our second week, which left only the lower lounge open, where we were told on several occassions to keep the noise down.
Problem with communicating as mainly German speaking clintele. The Hotel seemed to cater more for them.
On arrival at 06.00 hrs. One member of Reception staff very Rude, sarcastic and unhelpful and one member of our Group had the same problem with this man later in the week when he had a problem with his Room Card.
There was a only one English Thomas Cook Rep but she was only there for 1 hour a day.
On a positive side the rooms and hotel were spotless. Most of the waiters very helpful especially Kemal at the A La Carte Restuarant. Mehmet and Bayrum Toplu in the Main Restuarant and Servet who was very curteous.
Pool was lovely - all one depth.
Food pretty repetitive - but I have Coeliac Disease and did find it difficult with the language barrier.
Met some great people - (The girls from Bognor, Rolf and friends from Germany, Jackie and Mum from England etc)
Would not return to this Hotel as overall we would rate the Hotel a 3-4 star due to definite poor lack of entertainment.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Superior room. Rooms are fairly small but look bigger in pictures.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 692Matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This was our first visit to the Alba Royal, and what an enjoyable experience it was, but I have to write to warn those younger than ourselves, who have been there before, that the experience here has changed. The guest profile is mainly German, in the 60 to 70 age group, and so the animation team and their activities, both day and night time, are far from welcomed or supported by the majority of guests. According to a number of UK citizens we met, this is not the way it has been before, and it is only fair to draw this to the attention of anyone looking for a lively holiday. The nightclub opened every other night, but, despite our frequent 'pop-ins' we never saw a soul in it, although the hotel was full for the duration of our visit. There must be a justifiable case for replacing the animation team with a series of 'pool bar' events and open-air discos, giving the hotel a considerable cost saving.
On the plus side, we have never been to an all inclusive hotel where you can help yourself to branded ice creams and lollies at will, and the wine served with dinner- red, white or rose, is totally acceptable. The food here was great- plenty of choice at all meals, and our visits to the a la carte Cuban and fish restaurants were extremely enjoyable (the wine served in these is included in your all inclusive package but is exceptional). This is a good job, because there are only two bars within walking distance, so, if you want to escape, the Dolmush service, stopping nearby, is the answer.
I have to say the whole child free experience was exactly what we were looking for, and our upgraded room was worth every penny of the extra we paid.
All the staff were helpful, but English was only understood by the superb Guest Relations girl and the head porter- not nearly enough English speaking staff for a site of this size.

As a tip I would suggest that, if you are visiting Turkey for the first time, do not go to Side or Antalya- the resorts are primarily used by the Germans, and eventually you do get fed up, both of being spoken to in German and the shop prices being in Euros. Rather start looking up at Kusadasi and look no further than Marmaris, to make sure you are welcomed, rather than be faced with the "The English look but don't buy" comment we overheard a local shopkeeper saying of another couple. We don't buy that much 'tat' in the shops because the prices are inflated compared to the rest of Turkey, and we don't like being ripped off!!!!

Room Tip: Upgrade, upgrade, upgrade- worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colakli
0.1 mi away
Alba Queen Hotel
Alba Queen Hotel
#8 of 42 in Colakli
795 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aydinbey King's Palace Spa & Resort
1.7 mi away
SENTIDO Turan Prince
SENTIDO Turan Prince
#6 of 42 in Colakli
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Commodore Elite Suites & Spa
0.7 mi away
Royal Alhambra Palace
Royal Alhambra Palace
#4 of 42 in Colakli
688 reviews
0.3 mi away
Can Garden Resort
Can Garden Resort
#5 of 42 in Colakli
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alba Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alba Royal Hotel

Property: Alba Royal Hotel
Address: Tilkiler Mevkii Erhan Demir Bulvari PK 6, Colakli, Manavgat, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Colakli
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Colakli
#2 Family Hotel in Colakli
#2 Spa Hotel in Colakli
#3 Luxury Hotel in Colakli
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Colakli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Alba Royal Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 14+ Adult Only Hotel in Antalya ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Alba Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alba Royal Resort All Inclusive
Alba Royal Hotel Turkey/Colakli, Antalya Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing