We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alba Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (947)
Filter reviews
947 results
Traveller rating
629
209
76
17
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
629
209
76
17
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool barsuperior roomice creama la carte restaurantscuban restaurantfishwhirlpool bathanimation teamsea viewlast yearair conturkeythomas cookturkish bathevening entertainmentchicken skewersgreat holiday
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
327 - 332 of 947 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just got back, and can honestly say, it's fantastic, not one negative to report...
The staff, are brilliant, the food is superb. Some people might winge about the
food selection at breakfast, if you want fry ups every morning, go to Blackpool.
If you want Turkish hospitality and quality accommodation, come here.
The private beach, the pool area's, please, give it a go, we are ready to book for
next year........same hotel !!!!!

Room Tip: We paid the extra for a sea and pool views. Well worth it !!!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank StockportBraveheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Well firstly turkey is a lovely place and before going we heard from friends and family that side was a nice place to visit. This hotel is more ideal for older people but is good for young couples who just want to relax at the beach/pool.

When we arrived it was about 10-11pm in turkish time and was greeted at reception by a man who was abit strange. The bell boy was a little moody and stated he only spoke German.. The main receptionist didn't really know any general information on the hotel such as when breakfast was which was really off putting.

All the staff especially the waiters were amazing,Yusef in reception was really helpful and actually came and fixed our balcony door which wasn't locking probably. He made sure we were all okay and made us feel more reassured as he seemed to be the only one apart from the waiters that spoke good English.

The entertainment staff were great.. but only if you spoke German which I can understand(being a German based hotel) the spa staff were abit pushy but totally worth having the foam bath,turkish bath and full body massage which was in a package for 49 euros each when we stayed.
This is an amazing hotel with a nice modern room and bathroom. There is a button in the room which you can decide whether to have the maids in or not.

On the last day we were getting picked up at 7pm and had to check out of our room by 12pm. We decided to do a late check out which was 40 euros which meant we could check out at 4 instead of 12 which was ideal. We had some confusion with that at first because the receptionist we first dealt with was really unhelpful as we explained we didn't have any turkish lira left. She NEVER stated we could pay on card and made the bell boy who ONLY spoke German explain to us that there was nothing they could do.

This made us feel abit worried being on our first holiday away... So I resulted in FaceTiming my mum who persuaded us to speak to the receptionist again. This time we spoke to a different lady who was very helpful and then said we COULD have a later check out by paying by card!!
Overalls nice place to stay but next time I think we would like to go to a hotel which didn't have so much of a language barrier between main receptionist was very difficult.

Stayed: May 2014
3  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Visited for 11 nights at the end of June '14. We had a fantastic time - the food, drinks, staff, facilities, entertainment & activities were all excellent.

Food was varied, drinks were plentiful and there was never the feeling that they were trying to skimp on anything.

Staff in particular were very friendly and could not do enough for you.

Variety of the buffet was good, both hot and cold options and 1 visit to each of the three a la carte restaurants (no extra charge) meant we never got bored of the meals.

Activities included water polo with Miraç, air rifle, football, water gymnastics and a daily pool game which was always good fun!

There was something for everyone here with 2 indoor bars, 2 main restaurants, a pool bar, a beach bar, coffee shop (part of all inc.), games room etc.

Only non-positive experience we had was visiting the spa centre. On arrival you are given a 15min free massage/20% off voucher. We opted for a 1hour massage each at €135 all together but they still tried to sell us extra treatments after. We would have expected that if we had opted for the free massage but we were a little disappointed seeing as we had paid.

All in all, though, a fantastic stay and would thoroughly recommend for an all inclusive holiday. A beautiful hotel in a fantastic setting with wonderful staff!

Stayed: June 2014
3  Thank southwestsam411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This is one of many Turkish hotels we've stayed at the last few years and we chose this partly on the generally good reviews it carries here and what we thought would suit our requirements as per the Thomas Cook website. So to be on the safe side I contacted the hotel beforehand and politely requested a quiet room. I even used Google Translator to send a copy in what I hoped would be comprehensible Turkish. Cem the Front End Manager replied to say they would try to do what they could. So far so good then.

So its late June and we arrive late afternoon after a pleasantly seamless hours worth of transfer from the airport. There are 2 wings to the hotel and for the sake of ease, will refer to the sunrise side as the East Wing; the sunset side the West Wing. We were given a superior room in the West wing with a sea view which we'd paid the extra for upfront and what reviews tend to recommend. First impressions making our way to the wing is like entering a cathedral and it looks really impressive. Think Albert Hall and your room is in the upper circle.

There's no point me reviewing the restaurants and facilities available as fellow reviewers have given them some justice. You won't starve and just walking the length of the sweet display puts at least a pound on. We didn't take advantage of the spa as we are still capable of washing ourselves; likewise we gave the theme restaurants a miss as there's only so much you can eat in a day.

The pool is massive with one end, the quieter end, given to marked lanes of some 35 meters in length so you can have a proper swim without dodging air bed inflatables; These tend to congregate on the other side of the pool nearer the bar and the "music". [If you count an hour long version of Daft Punks "Get Lucky" as music that is.] And if you can secure the sunbeds at the dragon end of the pool then you sometimes get a bit of a breeze too - much appreciated with temperatures in the lower 40s.

Having had a busy few weeks before arriving in resort, it was just nice to relax and all seemed well. We did have the chickens close by but they were our 06.30 alarm to get up and go and secure a sunbed before our fellow Europeans blagged them all. So far, still so good.

Until July the 1st that is. That's when the open air music bar kicked off with a vengeance right on the stroke of midnight. From our room to what have been a former tennis court turned music plaza located some 150 metres away and which boom boomed along until gone 3am when the 15 or so punters in there staggered their way back to the hotel proper. I didn't count them out but I counted them all back in. I didn't stay out long on the balcony as the mossies' were eating me alive. An hour or so of restless shut eye and then the chickens kicked off.

I put up with 2 night of sleep deprivation and white noise; I was on holiday in Turkey but you could be mistaken for thinking you had been snatched on suspicion of being a terrorist and taken to Guantanamo Bay. I'd had enough by then and went down to reception and made sure that my discomfort be noted in writing and left them with a firm promise - a la Schwarzenegger - that I would be back.

You can't see too well the site of the disco in the early morning light but what you could see looking down behind the windmill was a dodgy pool of thick green algae in the back end of what might once have been an ornamental waterfall. A pound in my pocket says that's where the mosquitoes are coming from. I wanted to go home with not half the holiday run.

So next morning I was back at reception steeled for a battle. Whether or not they were expecting us given the note in the night book, they already had a room available of the same quality in the East Wing. It took a while to physically change rooms but the result was worth it. Yes you get the Hi-de-Hi noise from the Alba Queen next door in the daytime given it is more kiddy-orientated than the Royal, but they are all tucked up by midnight.

And then a fellow reviewer says they went to the disco till 3am, had a great time and doesn't know why people complain about the noise.... Double irony then is that if you want a good nights sleep, you are better booking the hotel with the kids club.....so much for Cems promise.

Side on the dolmus from the end of the road is a must do. Costs 1.75 Euros ppew which beats the 18 euroes they want for a taxi. The dolmus drops you off just outside town and from there its a 500m walk and scramble alongside and over the ruins into town. Forget this if you are hard of walking. The ruins are impressive and in parts they have built restaurants amongst the ruins. Think of Kentucky Fried Chicken setting up in the bluestone circle of Stonehenge.

The harbour is home to the temple of Apollo you see on every postcard and most advertisements for Turkey with its impressive columns and plinths. Pity they have been reluctant to take down the stage in front of it which kind of stops you getting the photo that gives you the impression that its been built on the beach.

I mentioned this tale of room swapping woe to Carolynn the representative (said I give you a mention!) but as we'd amicably resolved the problem ourselves and didn't wish the compensation of a free late room - we were leaving early anyway - or a extra themed restaurant - see "too much food" above, there wasn't much else she could do. Nonetheless, I'm confidently holding my breath that goodwill financial gestures from either the Alba and / or Thomas Cook for a loss of a superior half days lost holiday will be landing on my door mat any day now.....

What we did instead was start enjoying our holiday proper and what better way than to book a trip out of some kind? Thomas Cook advertise the trips but they only act as agents for Diana Travel and there is both small print and large print distancing themselves to arms length from their operations. Having seen, done and worn out the T shirts from so much in the region, all that remains was a jeep safari / rafting full day. We signed up there and then. What else could possibly go wrong?

Pick up was at the security gate at 08.30. We waited and watched the minibus go by and up to reception. Still there some 5 minutes later, I went down to reception and it transpired that our bus had not had the same instruction as we had and lo and behold, there was a similar mix up at the next hotel too. Crossed wires. Bottom line is that now our driver is running late.

The next Ayrton Senna set off like a rat up a drainpipe; I thought the white knuckle bit would be the raft ride and not the bus transfer! Bus 66 got us to the assembly point in record time. And once we were out and sorted into our respective speaking groups, the jeep safari leader is short of drivers. "Has anyone brought their driving licence with them?" he asks.

You couldn't make it up.

Nonetheless, we got through and had a good day out so I'd recommend the trip if only on the presumption of what happened to us won't happen to you. Back to the hotel review.

I like some aspects of the hotel but I think it lets itself down on a number of points. Why it is trying to appease the small minority of dance goers by trying to pass itself off as the poor mans Halicarnassus is beyond comprehension. If you want this, go to Marmaris or Bodrum and not the waiting room for the old folks home. The Germans have to be up early in the morning.

There are choices of cheeses, choices of bars, choices of restaurants, choices of doing how little or how much you wish. But there is no choice of beer brands and its Tuborg or nothing. It needs a vodka sprite chaser with it to make it palatable. Forget the bumph about "premium brands" - you won't get them. The bar staff use the so called premium Bazooka vodka to wipe down the worktops last off in the evening. That speaks volumes.

You don't get HP sauce. In the run up to your holiday, scour fast food and motorway services for sachets of the same. This is probably why Wetherspoons Airside at BHX now serve only bottles. But if one of those found its way into your sealed clear plastic bag of creams and gels that's been security checked.........

Lastly, the pool. I never saw anyone cleaning the actual pool nor did I see any boards indicating the water quality. I'd like to think that I have missed the boards and that someone goes round with a pool vax in the middle of the night. But there were a few accumulations of bits that will spoil your breakfast if I go into detail.

Plus points are the hard working staff especially those down at pool bar who I have spent the last week showing them how to pour an English pint so they should be up to speed by now. They work long and hard and keep your glasses topped up once they get to know what you like. You don't get that in Wetherspoons at BHX or anywhere else come to that.

You do get free safes and beach towels and we had gold sentimental items repaired in the gold shop next to the restaurant for a very competitive price, better than the UK.They even offered to clean the rest of any jewellery we had with us FOC. There's a good library and the grounds are well kept.

There's a nice esplanade that starts outside the hotel and goes for some 3km down between the hotels and the beach. Its marked with countdown blue plaques every 50m and weaves through sections planted with palms, oleander trees and ferns. There are toilets and beach bars along the way. Also there are benches along they way and everything is well tidy and well kept. Everyone appointed to a post in UK Town Planning should, as a precondition of their employment, be made to walk this route to see how it should be done. At the end, you can turn onto the beach and walk back along the sand on the shoreline.

It takes about just over an hour to do the there and back, Gives you something to do between securing that sunbed and going in for breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank JackcomebackDawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My partner and I have just returned from 2 weeks in the Alba Royal hand are both highly impressed. There were various mixed reviews on here before we went so it was only natural to be a little bit nervous before we checked in. We were welcomed at reception early hours of the morning with drinks and cakes. We were shown to our room quickly and efficiently - check in only took around 5 minutes. We had upgraded our room to a superior sea view which was definitely worth the money.
All areas of the hotel were constantly spotless - there were endless amounts of cleaners who were very polite and did a great job.
The selection of food in the restaurant was second to none - always different foods and plenty of choice. The presentation of food was amazing.
The pool and sunbathing area was beautiful and kept very clean.
All of the waiters at the bats and restaurant offered impressive service. I would recommend if you tip a waiter early on in the holiday, they will go out of their way to assist you.
Definitely use the spa faculties whilst you are there - the indoor pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna are all free of charge and immaculate.
My partner and I both had a treatment in the spa which was good value for money and more than worth it.
All in all, this hotel is definitely a 5 star and I would 100% recommend it to couples and friends who are looking of a first class relaxing break

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Jorden D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews