We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good, but some minor issues lose a 5 star grading”
Review of Alba Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alba Royal Hotel
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Colakli
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Oh dear . . just read some very critical reviews before posting this one. Mrs. Mineworker and I are definitely in the "50+" category, so bear that in mind when reading this review!

We stayed here for a week in August - at the height of the holiday season. We paid a little extra for a sea-view room and we felt this was money well spent. Our room had sufficient hanging space and a small(ish) safe, just big enough for a tablet or small laptop. The safe was free - hooray! I can never understand why some hotels charge extra for a safe, when it's an essential holiday component. There was a minibar stocked with soft drinks and water. And here's the first minor issue: all the soft drinks were loaded with sugar. When we asked if they could be replaced with sugar free options we were turned down. Surely it wouldn't be too much for the hotel to replace the branded cola bottles with diet cola. The refusal was polite, but it was a refusal nevertheless.

Yes - the guests were a cosmoplitan crowd. There were Brits, Germans, and Russians in the mix. But we didn't find the buffet restaurant catered for one nationality at the expense of others. Actually, we found the buffet restaurant very good. Apart from the usual meat and fish options, the salad bar was excellent - really fresh and with an excellent variety. Our package also included the opportunity to book one evening meal at each of the three speciality restaurants (so, three in total for our week). Here's our first tip - if you fancy these, book them as soon as you can. We left it 48 hours before booking and by then only the fish restaurant had some spaces left. We were very impressed with the fish restaurant evening: the choice was good, the portions were generous and our meals were beautifully presented. One other point: I enjoy red wine. The last time we went to an all-inclusive hotel, the red wine on offer was almost undrinkable. At the Alba Royal, however, the house red was a very enjoyable Shiraz: it was full-bodied and mellow. This was a positive bonus for me.

The swimming pool was excellent. There were sufficient sunbeds and parasols available for shade. The hotel asks guests not to reserve sunbeds with towels before 8am. Here's our second tip - if you wait until 8am to reserve sunbeds, the best spots will be long gone. I'm an early riser and went for a walk at 6.45am on our first morning. When I strolled past the pool, I could see that some sunbeds had already been reserved. By 7.30am when I was walking back past the pool, at least half the beds had been taken. Bear that in mind if you intend to spend your days lounging by the pool (and there are worse ways of spending your time!).

The evening entertainment was pretty poor - and that's a shame because there aren't many other entertainments within walking distance of the hotel. Turn left at the road next to the hotel and within 10 minutes walking there are some basic bars and some touristy shops. Turn right at the road next to the hotel and within 10 minutes walking there are some basic bars and some touristy shops . . . .

If you decide to visit Side, then do try the "dolmus" (basically a shared minibus) that travel between Colakli and Side. They're cheap and regular (they'll stop if you wave them down) and you can pay in Turkish Lira, Euros, or US Dollars. We visited Side on one evening and enjoyed our dolmus ride.

That's about it really. It's a good hotel, but some minor issues means that I can't give it 5 stars. However, the positives certainly outweigh the negatives at this good hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank Mineworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (934)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 934 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

Quite disappointed, mainly with the staff in bars, entertainment team, visitors: old people pretending to be rich and well-mannered, no fun at all, if you want to sleep, be bored and pay for it, if you want to wait for your drinks for long time (when you do not give tips....), if you want to pay extra just to be seen and understood by some of the waiters... go there. Rooms are nice, but still need some improvements, roommaid - fine and nice to people. Very poor English language knowledge, ice-cream girl even does not understand flavours in English - when you want to get cacao ask for caramel icecream :) ask her for a pancake and she will look at you as you are an idiot, when you ask for one icecream she will give yiu 2 or three, te word "enough" means "give me more" :) Waiting for non-alcoholic drinks 45 minutes, 3 times complaining to a waiter who was playing with his mobile and makes fun of you behind your backs. Food was almost the same, fresh fruit juice - you have to prepare yourself - not served...Will never come to this hotel again :) i recommend this hotel to people who are old want to pay extra for regular service to spend their holiday in a hotel visited by the same people - having nothing extra but pretend to be extra peeople...

Room Tip: wifi was not properly functioning - speed was really slow....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
10  Thank Miroslava J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Arrived at the Alba Royal at the beginning of June. We were greeted by friendly and welcoming reception staff. We were offered drinks and cakes whilst checking in. We were then shown to our room by Yusef who was very informative about the hotel. Room was lovely with a large balcony, tea and coffee making facilities and a fridge full of soft drinks, beer, nuts and chocolate. Hotel is absolutely immaculate and all staff work very hard to keep it this way and always had smiles on their faces. Special mention to Cazim and Bozer who made our stay extra special. The only thing we would change is more entertainment is required at night. Even if this was just someone playing a piano in lobby bar. Cannot understand negative reviews of this hotel as this must be very demoralising to staff who really do work their socks off to make everyone happy. Food and drink excellent. We would recommend this hotel and look forward to returning again in the near future. We have been to Turkey 10 times over the past few years and this hotel would rate amongst the best.

Room Tip: All rooms are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ipsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Very disappointed!!! Do not go but if you have to do not go outside the season as they are not ready for guests. We went end of April, entertainment part was practically nonexistent, water in the swimming pools freezing cold and drinks rubbish. First of all i this everyone should be aware that 95% of guests is German(average age 50+), hardly any of staff speaks english, food and spirits are german, all tv channels in german, not to mention entertainment is run by german speaker...i think the only thing we can't complain about was cleanliness of the rooms and entire hotel and great spa facilities (turkish bath is a must). Three of the hotels a la carte restaurants were serving exactly the same dishes-what is the point? 5 star hotel and no iron in your room- now that's a joke. Felt like we've been robbed, paid for all inclusive but had to go out of the resort to eat something decent and not german. Won't be back.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank SpecialK1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel nearly a year ago, but it's a must to file this review. I cannot say anything bad about this hotel.

Location:
The location is perfect regarding the sea and the beach. It has an own and large beach with self service bars. There are plenty of sunbeds and what's more important for me it is easy to find shades. To tell the truth this was and is the best method I've ever seen to create shades (you can see it on the official pictures). The hotel has two swimming pools (one indoor and one outdoor) but it's much better to lay on the beach.

Food:
There are many places where you can enjoy your meals. We almost always had our launch in the beach restaurant where the menu selection was great, the food was delicious and the service was excellent. I have to highlight Mr. Suleyman who made our day with his humorous attitude and tasty cocktails.

The animation was okay and the evening entertainment was really entertaining. After the show try to relax at the pool bar and ask for some good cocktails. If he's there find Mr. Veli and you will be in good hands.

Once in a week you can choose to have dinner in one of the a'la carte restaurants. We chose one and didn't regret. The desert was really tasty.

Others:
The staff in front desk was also helpful, they arranged the late checkout for us in no time.

It is said that children under 14 are not allowed to stay in the hotel. It's not quite true but we didn't see or hear any babies which might be important for some travelers.

Surroundings:
You can find shops and restaurants within 5 minutes of walk or you can take a minibus to go to Side where you can see the amphitheater, the port and the crowded downtown with everything you may want.

Conclusion:
I recommend this hotel for anybody who likes nice beaches, good meals and drinks, kind staff and want to have a good holiday in a good place.

Room Tip: Room looking onto the garden are quieter, but the sea view can compensate for everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank MPeter75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Just come back from Turkey and stayed in the Alba Royal. The Hotel looks a bit dated in places, but was very clean. We had a superior sea view room that was on the 2nd floor, nice and clean with a good view. Food in the main restaurants was a bit repetitive, not bad, but not 5 star food.The food in the other restaurants was better. Bars are clean and tidy, staff work very hard at all times.Reception was a bit of a trial with language problems. The Spa was very good if not a bit pricey. The beach was great with lots of beds available and good cover from the sun.We enjoyed our holiday at the Alba Royal,but I don't see this hotel as 5 star.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank smugger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We visited Alba Royal last year and have to say that the standard seems to have dropped overall. We arrived at 02.15 in the morning after a long journey to be given a twin room overlooking the garden area. We purposely booked and paid for a sea view room with double bed. On returning to reception we were allocated another room to find that this was undergoing renovation work and again it had twin beds. I was finally allocated a room at 03.15 to find that the room had not been cleaned from previous visitors. The room was cleaned eventually and we got to bed at about 05.30. This was after e mailing the hotel to ensure that our paid for booking was in hand. We received no reply to this e mail. I spoke to the holiday rep on the Tuesday and it wasn't sorted out until the day before we left.

Last year there was very good live entertainment which was very varied. This year it was non existent apart from a duo singing a couple of nights. There was a music quiz which was dire and that was about it. The entertainment team tried their best but rallying everybody with a bugle call at 10.00 every morning made it seem like a holiday camp. Several people likened it to the Butlins wake up call.

The food was very much the same every night. We booked a couple of evenings in the A La Carte restaurant but the service is quite rushed. Surprised to see cooked frozen vegetables ( diced carrots, sweetcorn and peas) served. We ate in the beach bar about 3.30 and then just had soup or cheese and biscuits.

I hate to be negative about this hotel as the staff work so very hard to make your holiday special but it seems to have suffered from lack of visitors and therefore maintenance doesn't appear to get done. I was also surprised to see several children in the hotel pool, bar area and restaurants. This hotel is sold as an Adults only hotel and children have to be over 16 but this wasn't the case. I was advised by the holiday rep that it is common this hotel to overbook the rooms. Would I go there again? I would love to as it is quiet and being on the sea front has it advantages but not unless it addresses issues such as entertainment of a good quality which was advertised in the brochure and which you pay for in the cost. I won't visit this particular hotel again but I will return to Turkey every year for my main holiday as it is such a wonderful friendly country.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before you accept it. Also Wifi is advertised as free but it is very very spora...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ItalianFan53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colakli hotels
0.1 mi away
Alba Queen Hotel
Alba Queen Hotel
#12 of 44 in Colakli
840 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kamelya Selin Hotel
Kamelya Selin Hotel
#8 of 44 in Colakli
447 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Alhambra Palace
Royal Alhambra Palace
#5 of 44 in Colakli
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Max Holiday Hotels Side Stone Palace
0.3 mi away
Can Garden Resort
Can Garden Resort
#6 of 44 in Colakli
455 reviews
0.2 mi away
Club Grand Side
Club Grand Side
#13 of 44 in Colakli
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alba Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alba Royal Hotel

Address: Tilkiler Mevkii Erhan Demir Bulvari PK 6, Colakli, Manavgat, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Colakli
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Colakli
#1 Romantic Hotel in Colakli
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Colakli
#2 Family Hotel in Colakli
#2 Luxury Hotel in Colakli
#3 Best Value Hotel in Colakli
Price Range: £48 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alba Royal Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 14+ Adult Only Hotel in Antalya ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alba Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alba Royal Resort All Inclusive
Alba Royal Hotel Turkey/Colakli, Antalya Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing