We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A holiday is what you make it, people expect too much”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Can Garden Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Can Garden Resort
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Colakli
Certificate of Excellence
EDINBURGH
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A holiday is what you make it, people expect too much”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2009

Have just returned from the Can (or Jan) Garden Resort and have to say that it was wonderful. Yes you will be wakened by the Mosque at 4.50am every morning, but so what its not a reason for dissing the Hotel. People who seem to moan about it, what did you expect its their culture, just deal with it.
Side - yes the resort has been mainly German, however that is changing and there are more and more British tourists checking out this part of Turkey.
The hotel was lovely can't complain, food was fine, staff where nice, very good facilities -excellent. This hotel has rooms in the attic space which I believe were added to the resort last year, these rooms are lovely however they don't have any balconies. We were originally allocated on of these rooms but we got it changed which was not an issue, however the hotel was still quite quiet.
The guy in the supermarket is really nice, he's friendly and not pushy at all. The silver shop is also ok, however you will have to barter with him but he's reasonable.
There is another jeweller in the hotel which is owned by the same people that have the Spa. At the beginning of the holiday we mentioned that we may book to have something done. Darren from the spa walks about all day trying to drum up business. The Spa is lovely and diffently worth a visit but if you have no intentions of going don't say you'll think about it as they will ask you everyday about making an appointment. I did have a massage which was really good and I would recommend it.
Side is about 3miles away which you can get to using the Dolmus bus its about 3 Turkish Lira. It has a really nice walk through some ruins before you get to the main street. This is where you have to decide if you want to run the gauntlet. They all expect you to be German, they all really try to get you into their shops. The first time we did this we had such a laugh but I have to say that it really does get to you after a few visits. Nothing in Turkey has a price, everyone is trying to rip you off left, right and centre. You must barter for everything, I explained to one shopkeeper that I was fed up with fighting with them regarding the prices only to be told that I must have money to spend and that they wanted it. There is a market on in Mavgavet on a Thursday and Monday, this is diffently worth a visit, if going go really early as it gets very busy about midday. There is also a Mosque that you are able to visit at the market this is a must - brilliant. The only negative thing I have to say is about the attitude of the shopkeepers which is a shame because other than that it would have been a peace of heaven on earth.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MACDONALDS07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    107
    33
    9
    8
See reviews for
168
129
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2009

everything in this hotel was good, i cant complain about anything.we arrived on a tueday afternoon left our cases and went straight out to explore. we set up base camp at the pool side bar. where we rested for a few hours tryin the local beers n spirits.when we had built our stength back up we continued exploring the bars . we got changed and explored some more till it got late and then went to our room to sleep.

ok this is where it starts. we awoke at 5am to the local mosk blastin out prays, we found this so funny that we couldnt get back to sleep. then the cockeral started crowing ,well that just made things even funnier, then the dog started barking. we only heard this on the first morning, the rest of the time we never noticed it or just slept straight thru.

the hotel was very nice clean and the staff are the friendliest.the service was excellent, as soon as your glass was empty they brought another drink over straight away.they were always happy to help and pleased to see you.

the drink .as you can tell we enjoyed .not a great deal of choice but vodka ,whiskey ,brandey,raki,is the local pernod .beer is efes pils very nice and red n white wine. oh! and loads of soft drinks

food was good but not great. you wont starve. but the snack bar is brill!!! chip ,burgers,pizza,hot dogs and loads more MMMM
if you fancy something different there is a 24hour kebab shop just out side ,bout 100yards to the left. very nice!! they show live football on a huge out door screen, greet for a night out.
dont know what else to say but this is a good hotel a bit out of the way. but you can easily get around on the local buses that runs just out side and go anywhere for pennies

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Billy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2008

We stayed at this great hotel during the 2nd September until the 16th September. The hotel was fantastic, very clean, maids in room everyday even sometimes leaving a sculpture made from bed linen. Our room fridge was filled with water and coke on three occasions in this time, very useful as we didn’t have to buy any drinks for the room during the stay. The shops are a little expensive in the hotel but you would expect this and it wasn’t so bad. Would recommend that you guys see the barber in hotel for a Turkish shave which ends in a flame thrower type experience. The food, well, it was truly very good, plenty of choice and some food was cooked in front of you on some nights. The cakes are to die for and truly tasty. The only two things about this hotel we didn’t like was the amount of room around the pool as all the sun beds are pretty close to each other and you don’t really want to be rubbing arms with a stranger! All the staff were good, the only sour face around was the guy who works the bar at the pool and didn’t smile much. The other thing was the silly bedding. You were given one bottom sheet and a blanket-like thing as a cover which was smaller then the bed which my wife found uncomfortable. There was also a bedspread which was quite rough. Also the hotel was about 75% German and we felt a bit in the minority, especially as everyone spoke to you first in German, not only the hotel but in town too. The entertainment team were very good and there was plenty of laughter round the pool when they were around, not too good at the evening shows though

A WORD OF WARNING. DONT BUY THE TURKISH DELIGHT THAT YOU WILL SEE EVERYWHERE IN BOXES. THEY ARE THE ONES PRINTED ALL IN ENGLISH. WE GOT 6 BOXES AND WHEN WE GOT THEM HOME THEY WERE MELTED AND ALL STUCK TOGETHER IN A STICKY MESS AND TOTALLY RUINED. NOT A BIT OF WHITE ICING SUGAR ON THEM.

  • Liked — fantastic hotel
  • Disliked — nothing all was great
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kingtutdurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2008

I went with a friend (both aged 50) as we just wanted a week in the sun to relax and read. The hotel was great, exceptionally clean, and the staff were friendly. There was no problems getting drinks, and during the day time and evening meal, white and red wine is on tap. It was very drinkable (yes we did have to try a substantial amount to be sure).

Beds were a problem as other people have said but I awake early so reserved them from 8.00 a.m. The beach is a short work away up a steep hill, but there is a bus every half hour in the morning and hourly in the afternoon.

The food was repetitive, but you did not need to go hungry. The hotel has probably 80% Germans but that does not matter, everyone was friendly, and when you met with a fellow Brit you just started chatting. The rooms were to a good standard with a fridge (which was more than I got when I went to Sandals last year). The only draw back was the animation team in the evenings, they seemed to be a "jack of all trades", singing (of sorts) dancing, etc. and it was not really very professional, it was so bad it was funny, we had to turn up to see what they were going to do next!

The hotels sprays regularly at dusk to prevent bites and for the first time every, neither of us had a single bite!

We did get upset tummies towards the end but it was not food posioning, just different water, I think.

All in all a great holiday and exceptionally good value.

Lastly the Thomas rep Pat, was really good a straight forward no nonsense northern person.

  • Liked — All inclusive concept, it was really good.
  • Disliked — entertainment
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank janetEastbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rotherham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2008

we arrived home from can garden resort on the 14th oct after 2 weeks holiday i liked the hotel very much...some of the staff were very nice others liked the germans ...the food was very good we like to try to eat local food which was served in the hotel ...our room was nice clean and a good size but we didnt get it cleand twice... after you have been out all day at 17. 30 we like to go back to our room for a shower [some days the water was cool ] and a relax befor our evening meal .....my husband and i had turkey tummy but i would say it was the heat not the food...would i go back!!! yes if the price was right [but only for 1 week].... the area is purpose built for tourists [and yes they try to rip you off] ...we like to walk but nowhere to walk to only shops [when youve seen one you have seen them all] ....the dolmus is worth a go it will stop out side hotel for you and drop you back there...side has a nice water front ....if you can make it past all the shop keepers.... if you want to buy anything you need to have a price in your head and stick to it .... i would call it little germany !!!!

  • Liked — food
  • Disliked — woke up every morning at 05.50 with wailing from the mosque
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grammatraveler47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2008

We have just stayed (large group )at the Can Garden for two weeks and all of us have said this is one of the best hotels we have stayed in and would go back.
The hotel is really clean, the rooms are very good the food is good too.
the hotel was mainly german but this did not bother us and we did not get treated any different, the staff were great very friendly worked really hard the whole time we were there.
i find it really hard to believe that people got food poisioning from this hotel more likely from day trips out and not being carefull what you eat.
The evenings are low key and entertainment was poor and only had a few good shows but they tried hard and there is plenty of drink flowing and its what you make of it.
we too had a couple of pretty blondes in our party that got alot of attention but they never over stepped the mark, we also had 5/6yr olds and they were great with them too.
All in all a FAB hols sorry to be home.

  • Liked — cleaniness, food and service
  • Disliked — evening could do better
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tweenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2008

just returned fromthis hotel if you are german or speak it you will be welcomed.
The hotel rooms and bars etc are great and newly furbished beautifully clean, drinks not watered down, coffee great.
The pool is clean but just not enough room around it or enough sunbeds. The pool bar is where afternoon tea and biscuits is served but there are not enough tables so you tend to not bother, it would be lovely if the terrace bar were open all day and afternoon tea served here. The meals in the buffet were good lots of choice loads of fattening cakes.
The rooms are sparsely cleaned and a couple of times we came back to the room at about half five to find the cleaner just starting, one night I walked out of the shower in the buff after putting the do not disturb sign on the door to find the cleaner coming in and yet she was not happy when I shooed her out !. Our room was also above the vents and so always smelt of onions and constant noise from the delivery lorries.
The little bus to the beach is handy and if you walk down onto the beach next to the shower are fresh drinks and a little hut with lilos in for guest use. The beach food is fine too. The beach is not the cleanest but it is ok.
On the down side it is full of germans and the animation team would not leave my blond 18 year old daughter alone and pestered her all the time when she was sunbathing .
The hotel is in the middle of nowhere with just a handful of shops so quite boring unless you get the dolmus into side. Please be aware though that side hates the english and we and many other english people we met were ripped of in the restaurants. We had a meal in charlies bar on the left upstairs in front of the harbour and the bill came to 180.00 english pounds for three !! I refused to pay and when I told the owner to get the police he backed down but would not accept less than 100 for the meal a complete rip off DO NOT eat in the town. I even heard one turk say I like nice germans not british. I have been all over turkey but never will i go back to side it is a not nice.

  • Liked — comfy rooms
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jillwild66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colakli
1.9 mi away
SENTIDO Turan Prince
SENTIDO Turan Prince
#5 of 40 in Colakli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aydinbey King's Palace Spa & Resort
1.7 mi away
Novum Garden Side
Novum Garden Side
#12 of 40 in Colakli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alba Queen Hotel
Alba Queen Hotel
#7 of 40 in Colakli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
0.9 mi away
Oz Hotels Side Premium Hotel
1.3 mi away
VONRESORT Golden Coast
VONRESORT Golden Coast
#6 of 40 in Colakli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Can Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Can Garden Resort

Property: Can Garden Resort
Address: Uctepeler mah. Turizm cad. No:15, Colakli, Manavgat 07600, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Colakli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Colakli
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Colakli
#3 Spa Hotel in Colakli
#4 Luxury Hotel in Colakli
#6 Romantic Hotel in Colakli
#7 Family Hotel in Colakli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Can Garden Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With our professional and helpful staff it is our intend to offer our guests a very special holiday experience. With our renewed interior decoration, new units and delicious dishes from the international and Turkish cuisine, the hotel offers their guests an unforgettable time. Can Garden Resort is build on a 15 thousand square meters plot and offers a 100 m long beach.Plain and comfortable furnished rooms, swimming pools, water park, restaurants, bars and more to furfill all your needs on your holiday. 308 rooms / 655 beds 5 stars / All Inclusive 62 km from the center of Antalya 58 km away from the airport 8 km from the world famous Old Town Side 600m from the beach Our goal is to bring you joy, pleasure and entertainment on your holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Can Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Can Garden Hotel Colakli
Can Garden Side
Can Garden Resort Turkey/Colakli, Antalya Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing