We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but German hotel ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Seher Sun Beach Hotel
Ranked #29 of 44 Hotels in Colakli
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel is a German hotel, as a young couple this wasn't really an issue apart from when we wanted to order drinks or talk to some staff members as they do not speak English. The bar stuff were very happy to assist and after a few days got to understand the English acent for the drinks we wanted.

For an all inclusive the food was very good, lunch and dinner they had a huge range of salad and different meats. At breakfast it was continental, with different types of eggs, I stuck to the pancakes which were amazing.

The entertainment was very poor, all in German and kids club didn't really exist, the German rep just sat around the pool all day and did the kids disco in the evening.

The Thomas cook rep never showed up and he wasn't English as the board on the wall was in German, we didn't have any issues so no need to see him and we booked day trips with the shop up the road.

The hotel dosent have enough sunbeds for the amount of guests, and certain people left there towels out all the time so few days we had to sit at the pool bar.

The beach is a short walk away, very clean. Great for water sports.

The hotel was very clean apart from the ground floor toilets which were the only toilets available apart from your room, they were dirty from about 10am and blocked by the evening with no toilet paper.

The gym is very limited, your best of using the gym In the sister hotel.

Side is a German and Russian resort, if you want to be with English people then you need to stay in Antalya and mamarias. We had Turkish Money and not euro but Side works on euros so don't worry if you use either currency.

You can't walk to side, have to go by taxi or bus.

Recommend the jeep safari trip, best way to see that part of turkey.

Water planet wasn't great, wish we hadn't bothered, been to much better waterparks.

Shops up the road sell all your fake designer gear, some great trainers etc, make sure you don't take there price and you haggle them down.

We would return to turkey as the weather is fantastic and the local people are nice and friendly but if your the kind of people that like your English food then turkey not for you.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank rebecca w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

This was supposed to be a relaxing week away but was anything but.

I will try to be balanced here. The hotel itself is very nice, big pool, plenty of Sunbeds and really nice beach area.

We booked a double room and were given a large room with double bed and single which had plenty of room. HOWEVER it was facing out the side of the hotel (block 3) and faced the rubbish bins and some waste ground. I don't necessary need a nice view but the smell meant that the balcony was unusable. This is because the rubbish was just thrown there in open bin bags and not covered in any way - this is just poor management. We asked to move but were told because of our booking (double economy - booked with low cost holidays) these were the only rooms on offer.
The shower also leaked everywhere which meant a bit of a clean up exercise after every time you used it! But room was cleaned beautifully everyday.

Food was nice and there is always something to suit everyone's tastes though. Don't bother with the a la carte restaurants as it is the same food taken through from the main restaurant but fawlty towers style as they only had one member of staff trying to serve 22 people all at the same time! I felt sorry for him, some people left midway through (probably to serve themselves from the main restaurant) which was a shame as he was doing his best. But again this is down to poor management.

Another negative were the only toilets in the hotel were on the ground floor by the restaurant - these were also used by people from the pool coming in and out as there were no pool toilets. This meant by 10am there was no toilet paper and the place was generally wet, and not frequently cleaned. In the evenings there was rarely any toilet paper in there so I took to carrying one from the room around in my handbag!

Positives - they will supply you with beach towels and the drinks in the room fridge are topped up (it said this was chargeable but the maid just kept leaving us a large bottle of water each day which was useful for the evenings and mornings, I also used the Turkish bath which was reasonably priced.

The main let down for this hotel is their customer service. The hotel manager and most of the reception staff were nothing short of rude and clearly were not interested in customer service one jot - during the whole week we stayed there there was a constant stream of complaints from other guests about either the rooms not being suitable (one woman had been given bunk beds for her two very small children which were not suitable and was requesting either a cot bed or a change of rooms and the manager just shrugged his shoulders) or other service complaints.
The woman who worked on guest relations, actually sighed if you dared approach her desk and refused to make eye contact with you until you started speaking to her!

This does not extend to the bar and waiting staff who were generally jolly and always smiling.

We have been to turkey many times before and have stayed in much nicer hotels for less money. My rating for the hotel is based on it being more 3 star than 4 and it loses a point for the complete lack of customer care.

Other points to note not necessarily related to this hotel but relevant if you are booking through low cost holidays. Our transfer to resort had no idea where he was going, it was a mini bus with 5 groups on it and what should have been just over an hour transfer took 2 1/2 hours as we drove around in circles, he phoned his friend and generally stopped and asked people on the street for Directions - at 5am after a delayed flight this was not welcomed!
We were also advised by low cost holidays that we had a late check out which the hotel didn't honour and wanted us to pay €40 for. I am yet to bring this up with low cost holidays.

We are fairly chilled out people and just wanted to relax in the sun for a week which we managed to do, but start and end of holiday were somewhat marred by the hotel staffs attitude.

I would not stay here again. Please don't let this influence your views on a Turkey though - we will be back but will choose a different hotel. In the 10 years we have come to Turkey - it's never been like this, so ticking this one off as a bad choice and will return but will book elsewhere.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Eveybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed at the Seher Sun Beach hotel for one week for a family holiday. It was good value for money and standards were very good for a '3 star' all inclusive hotel. Public areas and rooms had been upgraded fairly recently. Rooms were very clean and quite spacious. Comfortable beds. Small balcony which we didn't use. Bathroom had walk-in shower. Toiletries and hair dryer were provided. Towels changed daily. Pool/beach towels provided free of charge but charged 0.5 Euro each to exchange, which we didn't mind. Food choice was good; plenty at breakfast time- pancakes, hot cooked, cold meats, cheeses, bread and fruit. Lunch and dinner were quite similar with good choice for size of hotel. Lots of healthy fresh salads, fruit with plenty hot food choices and desserts if wished. The dining area was well organised and staff cleared tables keeping the place clean and tidy. We found all staff to be friendly and polite. English speaking guests were in the minority but we had no problems. We booked a turkish bath which was very good and would have gone back for massages if we had had more time. Bar service was good. Beach very short walk down private (flat) path- plenty sun beds at beach and pool.
Really we had a lovely holiday at this hotel whose standards compare well with other hotels (5*) we have stayed at in the area. We would consider going back.
After booking the package I priced it up on Travel Republic and could have saved £130 so I would recommend shopping around!

Room Tip: If room view really matters, then pool view is probably best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LM_2014_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Following reviews of this holiday tried to make booking via agent however uncertainty regarding hotel room and facilities. Telephoned hotel and tried to speak to someone at hotel re: hotel room accommodation and special diet requirements etc however passed around from seher sun beach reception to sun palace hotel reception to seher resort reception.. it seemed like no-one around after 4pm local time weekdays or weekend so if you ring in the afternoon from UK then waste of time!! Was unable to resolve query as not all staff can communicate in English... only managed to speak to Customer Relations Officer eventually after some 5 days in which time lost original booking via local agent in UK. Emailed hotel with the query following advise from Customer Relations Officer but no timely response to email. Decided to make booking with hotel following advise provided by Customer Relations Officer that hotel will do best to accommodate. Let see...

Room Tip: telephoned hotel for advise
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank n t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed on an RSD tour package two nights on our way to Cappadocia and one night on our return. The hotel was mainly being used as a base for youth football and other sport training camps - teenage boys and girls - and all quite well behaved too.

There is an indoor gym with reasonably good equipment and a very pleasant heated indoor swimming pool. We didn't get to the pool but would have done if we had time.

The rooms are lovely, beds comfortable and the bathroom with a walk in shower one of the nicest I've been to anywhere (and I've been to a lot). Our view was over the water slides on the way to Cappadocia and at the back of the hotel towards the road on the way back. Not surprising on a budget package. But the rooms were quiet and clean, the TV had BBC World and other English speaking channels and we could pick up the hotel wifi (just) in the first bedroom. Better wifi in the hotel lounge.

The meals were fine for a package tour. Big selection especially at breakfast. Really good bread and freshly made pancakes amongst other things. There was a surprisingly good espresso coffee from a machine plus water and juices from a cool drink dispenser .

Although water from the dispenser was free at breakfast we were going to be charged for it at dinner. The drink prices seemed excessive for a package tour operation in the winter and the attitude was very plainly that that the staff in the dining room were only there to sell expensive drinks - not to clear the tables quickly etc. Shame because it spoiled what was otherwise a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Overlooking the swimming pool - probably nicest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yachtjudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

A second visit to the seher sun 6years since our last. The hotel it self had not changed even a good number of staff still working away. Most very friendly and helpful, the food was good and plenty of choice each meal ,the drink was ok to. The beach area is spotless as is the pool area and the rooms , biggest disappointment wad the view. We had requested a room that used to have a sea view but this year all we could see was a wall of a new hotel built since our last visit. So to sum up we had a relaxing time with great weather in a hotel with good staff and better than average food and drink for a 3 star establishment.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank ggerrd688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Having returned from the seher sun beach hotel this morning I can only wonder after reading a lot of the reviews on here what people want for there money. The food was All inclusive Turkish, bit repetitive & sometimes Luke warm.Having been lots of times & places that's turkey I'm afraid. The pool is large & very nice, sunbeds go pretty fast as many Germans do what Germans do but there's always plenty on the beautiful beach which is couple of minutes walk. There's a bar/restaurant on the beach serving drinks/food most of the day & night. Entertainment at night is the best we've had in any of the a/I hotels we've stayed in,in turkey. Overall a great value for money holiday.If you do go out for a meal/drink don't go to Rafael bar as tried very sneakily to rip us of for 75 liars, beware.

Room Tip: The reason I've put poor sleep quality is we were in rooms 4303/4304/4305 & the noise at 6am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pompey657-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colakli
0.2 mi away
Seher Sun Palace Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Seher Resort & Spa
Seher Resort & Spa
#35 of 44 in Colakli
267 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kamelya Selin Hotel
Kamelya Selin Hotel
#8 of 44 in Colakli
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Yavuzhan Hotel
Yavuzhan Hotel
#25 of 44 in Colakli
32 reviews
0.9 mi away
Club Sidelya Hotel
Club Sidelya Hotel
#17 of 44 in Colakli
123 reviews
2.0 mi away
Orfeus Park Hotel
Orfeus Park Hotel
#33 of 44 in Colakli
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seher Sun Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seher Sun Beach Hotel

Address: Everenseki Beldesi, Colakli, Manavgat 07600, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Colakli
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Colakli
Price Range: £36 - £445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Seher Sun Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Seher Sun Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seher Sun Beach Colakli
Seher Sun Beach Hotel Turkey/Colakli, Antalya Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing