We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic for the price we paid!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Side West Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Colakli
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Side West Resort
Ranked #34 of 40 Hotels in Colakli
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic for the price we paid!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Very good price so didn't have hugely high hopes but Side West Resort fully beat our expectations! The food is lovely with a nice variety, the whole hotel is very clean. We had a lovely spacious room with a pool view although we were given twin beds. The pool area is clean and big enough. There is a free shuttle to the beach - which we thought was a really nice added touch - and there are lots of sun beds at the beach with shelter if necessary, as well as a beach bar serving lunch and drinks. The entertainment wasn't great every night but we really enjoyed the fire show. The hotel is in a Ok location, theres lots going on on the beach and you're only a 15 minute drive away from Side. However, if your wanting to go clubbing a lot you're in the wrong place. Finally it must be noted that we were lucky enough to have a friend who spoke German with us. Without this we may have had some issues. Most of the staff speak enough basic English to order drinks, but not much beyond that. Overall, great little hotel - does its job and more for a cheap price!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Georgia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    17
    8
    6
    10
See reviews for
14
13
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Right.. Where do I start..
We arrived. There was no food.. We got whatever was left from dinner service slapped on a plate..
The next day I wanted to go see my best friend who was working out here and she is in the Barut Andiz..
I asked at reception where to get the dalamus and they said they didn't know (turned out it was literally outside the hotel!)
They practically forced us to get a taxi by making it sound horrendously hard to get anywhere...
We got a taxi it cost us 60tl!!!!!!!
We met my friend and explained she wasn't happy at all and told us we had been well and truly ripped off.. It should have been more like 20tl and if we had have got on a dalamus and told them where we wanted they would have dropped us practically outside...
Cost us 16tl to get there and back today!
Can't even describe how boring the food is...
I'm falling asleep at the thought of dinner already..
If you want someone who is English... Good luck finding them.. Cos Noone speaks English!
The hotel is nowhere near a 5* hotel.. I'd say more like a 2 or 3*
The people are rude.. Ignorant because we are English.
I'm sick of being spoken to in German and having to tell them I'm English...
Load of crap!!
My advice... Don't bother!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank victoriarosemayall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Colakli hotels

liverpool
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

This hotel caters 99% for german/dutch guests, hardly any of the staff speak English and therefore just ignore you. The hotel was very clean, bedrooms a little on the small side but ok, food was ok (better at the beach bar than the resturant) for an alll inclusive deal this was very poor in the bar department only offering, vodka, raki, gin, beer or a selection of soft drinks (When the machine was working) oh and cheap wine! Not once did the "Entertainments team" apporch us to join in any activities. We lost our room card and were asked by the guy on reception for €10 to replace it, i explained i didn't have sany money on me as it was in the room Locked! he then gsave me the key and told me to come back and pay, i didn't as i thought he was just trying it on, he never asked me again.... On the night Holland played in the world cup they put bunting up and arrange the seating in the lounge, the following night we asked if the England game was on and practically had to beg them to put on, when the air con was not working in that bar we asked them to switch it to the lounge they asked us for €5 to do this!!!!! IF YOU DESIDE TO STILL GO AFTER YOU HAVE READ THIS REVIEW PLEASE DONT GIVE THEM MONEY AS THIS IS TOTALLY A SCAM FROM THE HOTEL STAFF!

Room Tip: Dont go if you are English - find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lojoLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

The staff here, aside from Adnan and the guy who sorts the sun beds, are all rude. They speak very little English, have attitude problems, ask for tips, and should not be working in the hospitality industry. Adnan speaks exceptional English and should be managing this hotel or at least working in guest relations. When we arrived at this hotel the man on reception stated they did not have our booking and asked us to pay AGAIN!! once they'd "found" the booking the next day, no apology was given, no room upgrade, nothing.
The hotel room was ok, not of a five star standard, more a three. They are small and the mattresses are rock hard. Fresh water is only given once in your fridge, you then have to fill the water bottle yourself in the hotel, it is €12 for the safe...and this is a payment NOT a deposit! I have never stayed in a five star hotel and been expected to pay to keep my valuables safe but then as stated this is nowhere near five stars. You get a towel for the pool, if you wish to change this throughout your stay then yet again you are charged. Food is average at best, very repetitive, and only cheap cuts of meat, and fish.
I had breakfast on the first day, and every mouthful of my omelette had eggshell in it. I threw it away after three mouthfuls. No milk is served with tea except at breakfast so unless you like black tea then buy your own milk. No iron or ironing board either, if you want to iron something they charge.
The hotel only really caters for German guests, very few staff speak English, and I got sick and tired of saying "I'm English" each time I was spoken to in German. Seriously...if you're English and thinking of staying here, think again.
It needs to seriously pull it's socks up before it can even be considered a four star hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Michala S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

we visit this hotel in may 2014 it was a very nice hotel. food was good but could do with a few more options, the rooms were very clean and well maintained. the only draw back was there were no other english people in the hotel and the staff spoke little english and also there was no kettles in the rooms which was a pain having a 3 month old baby with us. but beside those it was a nice holiday with no hassle from sales people. the all inclusive was very good with large amounts of spirits if you like a drink. and also had a free bus to the beach which was helpful, the animation team were excellent and went out of there way to make your stay enjoyable which made our holiday. all in all a nice relaxing holiday :D

Room Tip: try for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iainho00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgique
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2010

I just came back from an 8 days trip in Side. This hotel is situated in Colakli at +/- 10 km from the center of Side. We were 3 girlfriends and it was the worst trip of our life. The hotel is far from a 5 stars hotel, if it gets 3 stars, it is already very much !
The staff is very very impolite and rude (most of the time they are laughing instead of working) and doesn't speak any words in English (so when you ask for a Coke, be prepare to get a Sprite instead), even the boss could not speak English. This is so amazing for such a hotel.
The All-Inclusive formula is more a full pension than a real all inclusive and the buffet was often the same. The sport room is completely out of service, most of the machines were broken or out of use.
Be careful if you have to stay in this hotel because towels at the pool and at the beach are with fee. Moreover, our agency told us that we had to cross just one street to go to the beach but is was more 3 or 4 streets. So the distance of 400 meters said in the description isn't true.
I totally don't recommend this hotel. It was awful.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sephora01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fyn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2008

Our first trip to Turkey went to this new built hotel situated approx. 700 meter from the beach.
The hotel consists of three interconnected houses and a pool area facing north in order to get some privacy from the nearby ‘Bazaar’.
A shuttle brings guests to the strip of private beach, where you’ll also find a beach bar and a shaded area serving lunch.
The outdoor pool is not big but otherwise OK with clean water. The overall depth is 1.40 meter.
There is also an indoor pool (5 x 10 meters) for a cooler plunge. Next to this you’ll find a workout room, a sauna and a Hamam (Turkish massage).
Our trip included ‘All-in’ – another first timer – and it was a pleasant surprise. The restaurant worked like clockwork and produced well made meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner. You get the food yourself, but the tables are busted by a small army of smiling waiters.
For lunch and dinner there are several kinds of hot meat and always a huge selection of vegetables and salads.

Each evening around 21:30 there is entertainment on a small scene close to the pool area. The guests participate more or less voluntarily in the amusement, so don’t seat yourself in the front row if you have stage fright.

The entertainment is delivered in a gibberish of German, English and Russian, but it is a nice break from the lazy life around the pool in the day hours.
A lot of the guests were from Germany, so the most spoken language is German, but English is also understood by the staff. We also noticed many guests from Russia, Holland and Belgium.
In general I was pleasantly surprised by the well-behaved guests. Free drinks could invite to some unwanted episodes, but we saw or heard nothing of that kind. I also noticed the large number of families with children.

If you haven’t been in Turkey before you must brace yourself for the ‘Bazaar’ and the Turkish way of selling goods. The Turkish population is very friendly towards foreigners, but they also know how to squeeze that extra Lira or Euro out of you in every deal, so be prepared to haggle for every item you buy at the market.

By the way Euro and Dollars are most welcome in all shops. I had brought some Turkish Lira with me and was surprised to learn that all prices were in Euros.

This family has never visited a 5 star hotel before, so we can’t compare our impression of this hotel, but we liked what we saw. A well run establishment with an efficient and polite staff. Good food. Clean and tidy everywhere.

Fam. Schultz, Denmark.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank Schultz_Dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colakli hotels
0.0 mi away
Kamelya Selin Hotel
Kamelya Selin Hotel
#9 of 40 in Colakli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Alhambra Palace
Royal Alhambra Palace
#4 of 40 in Colakli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.0 mi away
SENTIDO Turan Prince
SENTIDO Turan Prince
#3 of 40 in Colakli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kamelya K Club
Kamelya K Club
#10 of 40 in Colakli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
0.0 mi away
VONRESORT Golden Coast
VONRESORT Golden Coast
#6 of 40 in Colakli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alba Royal Hotel
Alba Royal Hotel
#2 of 40 in Colakli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Side West Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Side West Resort

Property: Side West Resort
Address: Tilkiler Mah Colakli Beldesi, Colakli, Manavgat, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Colakli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 40 Hotels in Colakli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 177
Also Known As:
Side West Hotel Colakli
Side West Resort Turkey/Colakli, Antalya Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing