We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Botra!”
Review of Side Sun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Side Sun Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Kumkoy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2009

Side Sun is a fantastic hotel which is set in an excellent beachfront location and is very well maintained and looked after. The hotel in itself is faultless however there is only one problem- the hotel is 99.9% German.
After booking this holiday I was aware of this, yet I was not aware of how much of a problem this would turn out to be. The majority of the staff speak no English which can make the most simplest of things difficult i.e. ordering a drink. Went to the bar, asked for 2 beers and got given a lemonade! The entertainment is all in German and the beachfront games can become quite competative to say the least. One day I made the mistake of participating in volleyball, a game I found the Germans took very seriously indeed. Twice daily they que to play botra on the beach and one could be forgiven for thinking it was the World Championships due to the whole seriousness of the event. Quite amusing.
12 & 7 the restaurants open for lunch and tea. Best avoided at these times as the restaurant is absolutley packed with diners too efficiant to wait a little later for their meals.
Oh and one last point- if I never see another pair of Speedo's again it would be too soon!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kevinh2324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
There are newer reviews for Side Sun Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2009

Overall hotel is quite lovely. Good food, nice interior, free wireless internet, sandy beach. But dont go here with family. There are not so many family suites, and most of them are located right behind backyard of neighbor hotel. It is nothing really bad at day time, except scrapy view (see photos). But it becomes nightmare at nighttime - noise, coming from neighbor hotel conditioning system is really to loud for sleeping with open windows. Conditioner at the room have only two modes - on and off (no automatic temperature support). So you get freezed or overheated. Children can get health problems in such conditions, and sleeping is really troublesome for adults. By the way, starting from 6:00 AM trucks starts coming to the neighbor hotel and noise becomes even louder.
What about good things? It is worth taking taxi or bus and going to Side. Try doing it at daytime and nighttime. A lot of sports activity at the sea - try parasailing for most impressions! It is only 35EUR for two. Take Green Canyon trip for sure - it is really amazing. Short boat trip right from the beach to see big turtles is also good.
By the way - most of personnel speak German only, but they are doing their best if you speak English.
Overall - it is OK to go for couples, but do not recommend for family travelers.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank superglue777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2009

Loud music by the pool all day long, like in a disko! Young male staff behaves like DJ's (party). Most of the staff does not speak any english at all. Rude behaviour by the staff, not friendly.

Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
5  Thank DaisyEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2008

I travelled with Thomsons in Aug 07 to the Side Sun.
Area: Loved Side, took ages to walk into the town but could get a local taxi. (they do drive a bit mad though). Got to haggle with the locals, NEVER PAY WHAT THEY ASK. The excursions were well worth doing especially the white water rafting with was fab!!
Hotel: The hotel is really nice and the private beach is lovely. The food was mostly ok, but a bit repeatative and the breakfast was horrible! The a la carte restaurant was really nice. Animation team was fantastic especially Jack and sebuar! They're really nice to you because your English!! I stayed for 2 weeks and we were the only English in the hotel for the hole time we were there. The language barrier was really hard at times. And unfortunately you do need to get up at 6am to get a sunbed.
People: They can be a bit overwelming at time, especially when youre a girl with blonde hair.
I must say I did have a really good time and the animation team cant do enough for you. Would go back to Side!!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay1_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2007

Nice clean hotel, plenty of food of good quality, but little variety. Local beer good! Amusing, very enthusiastic ents team. Fantastic turkish bath. Takes an hour to walk into Side along the beach, but there are taxis and local buses. Lots of Germans around! Worth going into Side to see the few ruins - but you won't be alone!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank explorerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: 4.kat ve 3.kat deniz ve havuz manzaralı odalar
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank burcu ç
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank gezginnnn006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kumkoy
0.1 mi away
Trendy Palm Beach
Trendy Palm Beach
#57 of 228 in Side
144 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort & SPA
0.2 mi away
Oleander Hotel
Oleander Hotel
#2 of 11 in Kumkoy
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Aydinbey King's Palace Spa & Resort
3.9 mi away
Bella Resort & Spa
Bella Resort & Spa
#16 of 44 in Colakli
148 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dream World Aqua
Dream World Aqua
#3 of 11 in Kumkoy
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Side Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Side Sun Hotel

Address: Ilica Mh. Sahil Cd. 7. Sk. No:2, Kumkoy 07330, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Kumkoy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Kumkoy
Price Range: £65 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Side Sun Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., LoveHolidays and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Side Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Side Sun Hotel Turkey/Kumkoy, Antalya Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing