We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place to hangout with friend & family” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Poovar Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Poovar Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Puvar
Certificate of Excellence
Kochi (Cochin), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Place to hangout with friend & family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

On the behalf of Whirlpool Cochin team it was an excellent three days at your resort, all the team members were well attended. amenities were great. The stand out thing has been the food ... was excellent.
Will like to share the details of this hotel to friends& family too

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NairR15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    320
    123
    58
    65
See reviews for
342
367
29
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ernakulam, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

On behalf of Nauru Delegation we would like to thank the Poovar Resort Management and Staff for your excellent hospitality and providing comfortable stay. Your cuisine cover the food from every part of India and world. We also would like to convey our special thanks to the Chef for providing the Japanese style food and hosting a wonderful dinner at the floating restaurant. We also experience your Ayurveda wellness program and we would like to convey our special thanks to the Ayurveda Doctor who have examined us before providing the wellness massage which made us fresh and energetic. Overall it was a wonderful and fabulous experience.

With Many Many thanks from Nauru Delegation

Room Tip: You can choose any room since the rooms we stayed are very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nauru2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
86 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

An hour drive from Trivandrum airport followed by a breath taking 15 mins of boat ride to the resort through the back waters. The resort is neat and rooms are good, spacious. Two swimming pools meant basically for kids and non-swimmers as the maximm depth is 4.5 feets. Best part is the many hammocks in the resort where you can lie and enjoy a book. overall a good resort.

Room Tip: Choose rooms facing the pool or first floor rooms which opens to the back waters and the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alokprakash2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

This being the last hotel stay of my 1 week trip in Kerala, it was the worst experience. The bathroom needed cleaning and the jacuzzi was broken and not working. We had to argue with the hotel management for almost an hour before they acknowledged their fault and changed our room.

Reaching to the place is by their private boats, which are at a frequency of almost 30 mins. This sometimes makes u feel disconnected with the main land. The food quality is not so great for the price. There are better local options on the mainland.

But, should say the campus is awesome. The moment we landed, there was a passing shower, which made the location very beautiful and romantic.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fernandesgabriel_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

A visit to Kerala and if not been to Poovar island i will say incomplete.

This place was suggested by my friend and now i am suggesting to the world pls visit.
In Kerala every where this is back water all your stay 80% places have water close by, but this resort is flawless.

Once you reach the place in poovar you have to park your car at a specified jetty and then your names are checked in the guest list (sadly mine was not there some mistake by hotel) never the less took half an hr to explain and call a boat yes you have to go by a boat to the resort... no car no walking only boats can take you, hear you start realizing yes you are going to an island.

The boat arrived and we were taken its a 20 min ride from jetty to the resort, looking at the resort i was stunned, i have stayed in best of the 5stars but this was a diff property all together.

We alighted from the boat and the property was huge, massive everywhere greenery, lovely landscapes. i had booked online for a floating cottage and yes its worth it.

Rooms were beautiful from inside cosy but very nice, perfect amenities and a great experience, as i was staying on a Island and my room was on the waters, there were some movements wen some boat passed but nothing major or anything that may disturb.

dinner and staff were nice and polite, main pool was under repair but they still had another pool operation which was nice, just the major pool had a pool bar which i missed rest was just amazing.

The View from the small sit our had actually taken my breath away as there was my room on the back waters and then a Beach .... yeah a beach and its called silver sand beach and it is a neat and good sand beach.

Lovely stay impressed with the property wanted to stay more... the floating cottages look like the ones we have seen in Maldives .......

Pay a visit to the beach too.... hotel boats will be more than happy to drop you and bring you back a security staff escorted us to the beach to avoid any mishaps which was good.

Dont Miss IT at alll............

Room Tip: Take a Floating Cottage atleast for a night. (the hotel manager said should book by calling them and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hemayur M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vaikkom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

For last many years i was planning an stay at Poovar island resort but last month only i can make to Poovar island resort. We were welcomed by Staffs at the boat jetty. We were transferred in a speed boat to the resort. The transfer from the jetty to resort was an experience of life time as we could see the lake on one side and the sea at other end. The rooms and the service is excellent. The food was delicious. It was an over all an awesome experience an experience of a life time. Thank you Mr Jayakumar ( GM) for making over stay an ever memorable one.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VaikkomAbhilash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

The rooms and amenities are really good. The pick up and drop from the mainland to the island resort is also quite efficient. Trip to the beach had a bit of wait time; as there were many guests when we were there. The ambiance around the resort is also very good. Nice place for a weekend getaway.

Coming to food, the complementary breakfast was very good. The spread was very big :)
The lunch and dinner buffet which we paid for; were not up to the mark and I did not feel they were worth the price they were charging. Many times we were made to wait for items. Some of the dishes were cold and were kept just like that! The live counter during dinner was also not so great!

Room Tip: We stayed in the normal land cottage. It is a bit far from the lake side or the boat jetty! But that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Girish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puvar
0.2 mi away
Estuary Island
Estuary Island
#2 of 3 in Puvar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
10.0 mi away
Uday Samudra Leisure Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#5 of 51 in Kovalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
0.3 mi away
Isola Di Cocco Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Havelia Island Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poovar Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poovar Island Resort

Property: Poovar Island Resort
Address: K.P. VII / 911 Pozhiyoor, Puvar 695 513, India
Region: India > Kerala > Puvar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Puvar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Poovar Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enveloped in serene Kerala backwaters, flanked by the Arabian Sea on the East and the majestic towering Ghats to the West, opening out to the ocean and a dream golden beach, Poovar Island Resort is a tropical paradise. Swaying coconut palms, endless golden sands, the ultramarine of the ocean, emerald backwaters, crimson sunsets and lush green vegetation create a magical ambiance around you. It is the ideal remote getaway location for a quiet holiday in spectacular natural surroundings. You can choose between floating cottages and land cottages for accommodation and enjoy a boat cruise along the palm-fringed shores of bewitching backwaters.Poovar Island Resort has 78 cottages offering a range of accommodation options. 56 rooms can be used as triples. The bathrooms come equipped with Jacuzzis, bathtubs or rain showers. 48 rooms come with a hammock in the terrace.(78 rooms - 39 Land Cottages, 10 Ayurveda Land Cottages, 05 Superior Land Cottages, 08 Premium Cottages, 12 Floating Cottages & 04 Ayurveda Floating Cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Poovar Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poovar Island Hotel Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
Hotel Poovar Island
Poovar Trivandrum
Poovar Island Resort Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing