We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay..a few areas if improvement though”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Isola Di Cocco Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Puvar
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Overall had a nice experience, the staff was couteous, the breakfast buffet can definately improve. We were upgraded to the tree house which was quite an experience.
Would certainly recommend people to visit this beautiful resort.

Room Tip: Look for the heritage rooms or rooms facing the sea beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rajonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (627)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

422 - 428 of 627 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

The property is average as not maintained properly. The staff at reception are not very courteous and not informative, due to which we had to incur additional expense for going to the beach across the hotel. The flush was not working for the room allotted to us. Also the hotel does not provide mineral water bottles instead 3 nonidentical bottles filled with filtered water was kept.
Food was above average the buffet spread was also not very elaborate.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank Vishal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isoladicoccopuvar, General Manager at Isola Di Cocco Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Mr.Vishal,

Greetings from Isola Di Cocco!!!

Thank you for your feedback. Regret to know that we couldn't reach up to your expectations. However please note that we always try our maximum to deliver our best care & professional service to all our esteemed guests. In your case may be due to the presence of a big corporate group our team couldn't give proper care, but this is not a justification..once again I apologize for the inconvenience caused & hereby request you to give us another chance to prove our quality .

I wish you and family all the best & looking forward for your next stay with us.

warm regards

Remesh Kumar
General Manager
Mobile 9567776661
Email : gm@isoladicocco.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This is a wonderful place to rest and relax, surrounded by beautiful gardens, a lovely swimming pool, treatments and a beach. Our room was comfortable and clean. However the outdoor shower would have been much better had there not been sand on the stones from a plant - we had to wash out feet in the bidet after showering! I tried to get an Ayurvedic treatment but was told there was no availability - more than 24 hours notice: others had a similar experience. I was recommended to try the beauty salon, where there was one woman working on her own. She had to answer the phone and deal with Russians who didn't speak English while trying to give me a facial, manicure and pedicure. The manicure was probably the roughest I have ever endured and she was so heavy handed with the metal file that she cut my finger. The facial was lovely and I was relaxing wonderfully, until she had to cut a hole in the mask so I could breathe - if I hadn't jumped, she would have cut my nostril with the scissors. The à la carte menu was excellent and delicious at dinner. However I observed the hot buffet was laid out before we arrived, was not checked nor changed and people were helping themselves to the same grilled fish over 2 hours after it had been put in the bain-marie and the buffet actually worked out more expensive than the à la carte. Breakfast was dreadful: overcooked hot buffet that was not checked. Fruit was good. Brown bread sweet. Tea and coffee takes ages and you have to insist to get the pot left on the table for a second cup. The hotel is quite remote and once there, if you don't have transport you are a bit trapped, but if you are happy to stay and relax there, that's fine.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BMS2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isoladicoccopuvar, General Manager at Isola Di Cocco Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Isola Di Cocco!!

Thank you for your feedback & have gone though the same with utmost care. Though you had a comfortable stay the points you have raised for our betterment is really worth appreciation.Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you. Assure you that I will take special care to improve our service at the Beauty Parlor & restaurant.

Thanking you once again for posting your valuable comments & we look forward to host you again in the near future.

warm regards

Remesh Kumar
General Manager
9567776661
Email : gm@isoladicocco.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We were on our honeymoon tour to Kelara in Feb 2013. This was our second destination in the itinerary. We started our journey from Kanyakumai and though we stayed at a budget hotel. Though a budget hotel, but the view offered from the hotel room was so great our expectation were already very high. The entry to Isola is itself gives you a good feeling. One just keeps going into the dense vegetation and all of a sudden you have this huge property. Out check-in was done easily and was taken to our room. Our room had good old home kind of finishing. We entered our room and it was nicely decorated and were very pleased with it. Staff who escorted us to our room was like if we liked our room we would definitely enjoy the next surprise which was an open bathroom. And let me tell you, we both were very thrill to see an open bathroom. It was a new experience for me and my wife. We stayed for two nights at the hotel and quality of service was top quality. Hotel has a restaurant which serves good quality food. The best part of the resort is the location. Once you pass the pool area once would reach the backwaters and on crossing the backwaters there is sea. Its like a private back water and sea this resort has. We spend most of our time on the net swing by the backwater. This stay really worth every penny sends. We would be visiting this place soon.

Room Tip: Take rooms that has open bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mihir99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isoladicoccopuvar, General Manager at Isola Di Cocco Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Mr.Mihir,
Greetings from Isola Di Cocco!!

Thank you so much for your stay at our resort. We have utmost pleasure in reading your feedback & glad to know that you had an excellent holiday experience with us. The Heritage rooms with the open to sky bath rooms are as you know recreated kerala Heritage & I am happy that you could understand & enjoy the concept.

Looking forward to host you again here at our resort in the near future.

warm regards

Remesh Kumar
General Manager
Mobile 9567776661
Email : gm@isoladicocco.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Our five days trip to Kerala ended with a 2-dya stay at Isola Di Cocco at Poovar Beach. Nestled amid lush greenery and tall coconut trees, surrounded by lakes and backwaters, endowed with a magnificent view of the white stretch of Covalam Beach – Isola Di Cocco is nothing less than a mini-Kerala.
Entering through a winding kaccha path into the resort, we were rewarded by breathtaking scenery. By the time we finished a glass of refreshing lemonade at the Reception, our keys were ready to be handed over to us! Another hotel boy was tagging our baggage and then we set off.....
It was a lovely walk to our rooms, through trees and beautiful flora. Several hammocks cuddled up in the folds of nature, beckoned to us as we passed them by. To our delight we had got lake facing cottages. The room itself was very spacious and equally large was the bathroom – traditional Kerala style.
The hotel staff quickly ensured we were all comfortably settled in our rooms and left us with their contagious smiles!
When we proceeded to Lunch, after another heavenly walk, we found the restaurant pleasantly located alongside the pool.
The food that we ordered was just too good! Even north Indian dishes were cooked to perfection. It was the only restaurant in Kerala where I found melt-in-the-mouth phulkas. My kids gobbled up their lunch, to my immense satisfaction.
The Dinner Buffet was equally amazing with a variety of options to choose from. Both the vegetarian and non-vegetarian sections included a good choice of dishes. A little pricey, it was completely worth it.
The breakfast spread was even more awesome. It seemed to include every kind of Indian to continental item including idli, idiappam, poori bhaji(ooh la la!), bread toast, freshly made omelettes (with toppings of your own wish!) . And there were hash brown potatoes, baked beans, yummy vanilla milk shake, excellent coffee... I could go on and on!! Ooh ... and the juiciest pineapples ever, along with other freshly cut tropical fruits! We complemented the head chef for the dishes cooked to perfection and the inexhaustible variety.
The hotel has its own boats that depart from its very own jetty. This boat took us around the exotic backwaters – an adventure in itself and of course on payment basis. We also opted for an elephant ride in a village after 45 minutes boat ride across the back water canal. The children enjoyed the elephant ride very much. The dense growth of mangroves and coconut trees around the banks left us mesmerized. The boat driver patiently waited for us to take pictures of not-so-shy water birds. The people from small settlements around the banks waved at us from the riverside.
The boat alighted us on the Covalam Beach, were we caught the sun-set. And then it was back to the hotel. The hotel also arranges a complimentary boat ride to the sea beach after crossing the back water lagoon.
The hotel organizes regular cultural programmes for its guests at night. We caught some beautiful performances by Bharatnatyam Dancers that really was a fitting conclusion to our memorable stay at Isola Di Cocco.
When I visit Kerala again, I plan to simply go to this hotel and spend all my vacation here, because as I said it is the complete picture of Kerala itself – a paradise in God’s own country.

Room Tip: lake facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank simanchala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isoladicoccopuvar, General Manager at Isola Di Cocco Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Isola Di Cocco!!

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback, happy to know that you had enjoyed almost all the aspects of our resort. Your appreciative comments made us proud & more enthusiastic ...please do recommend us to all your friends & do visit us again in the near future.

with warm regards

Remesh Kumar
General Manager
Isola Di Cocco
Mobile - 9567776661
Email : gm@isoladicocco.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Overall a very relaxed and memorable stay at this huge resort despite the akward start when we arrived and were offered a quite smelly smokers room. But Management reacted fast and efficient and upgraded us to the wonderful Suite No.35. This Suite was very cosy with an open bathroom, separate sitting room and veranda.
The Restaurant Areas in ground and first floor are beautiful ( except the back part in 1. floor which is used when the Resort is fully booked). Service personnel friendly and helpful. The a´la carte food served in the Restaurant is OK, but can be improved in terms of quality and presentation. At this place near the sea fish and seafood should be fresh and not from the freezer.
The separate so called " Seafood Restaurant" near the boat jetty has to be widely upgraded.
The pool is large and nice and very clean.
The beach is reachable with a short ( 3min) boat trip with Hotel boat, but there are no facilities like beach chairs or umbrellas from the Hotel. Even there is an all time warning not to swim in the Arabian see due to the strong and high surf. For one like me who loves to swim in the salt water this was a disappointment. After Swimming in the sea I can confirm that only very experienced and good swimmers should try. There should be a realistic description of the beach in the resort´s web site to avoid disappointments.
But overall the nice setup of the Resort, the nearby Floating Restaurants with pickup and return Service by boat ( a visit is a must for seafood lovers), the lovely rooms and the indescribable quietness and peace which lays over the Resort makes it worth to return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isoladicoccopuvar, General Manager at Isola Di Cocco Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Isola Di Cocco!!

Thank you for posting your feedback . I have gone through the content in detail & noted all the points mentioned. We appreciate your genuine criticism & noted your points on our food quality & presentation. Also as suggested by you we will upgrade our seafood restaurant & will introduce more fresh & live catch as far as the seafood is concerned. We are happy that you had a comfortable stay with us & glad to know that you would like to return to our resort in the near future.

Thanking you once again for your great feedback , such feedback will help us a lot and we can use the same for our own betterment.

Looking forward to host you soon again here in our resort.


warm regards

Remesh Kumar
General Manager
9567776661
gm@isoladicocco.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We’ve just returned from a one week break at the Isola De Cocca resort, I wish we had been able to stay longer. I can’t praise the management or the staff high enough. Nothing was a problem to any of them. We arrived at 05:00 in the morning and the staff were wide awake and ready for us, we were even brought a cup of tea to our room within 5 minutes of dropping our cases. The restaurant was clean and the food was fantastic, the chief and waiting staff supervisors came to the table and introduced themselves and explained the dishes on offer and what a great selection there was as well. The boatman (Babu) who takes you over to the private beach is a lovely man, very friendly and informative. I became good friends with him for our stay, and there were nearly some tears from both sides when we had to leave. The resort is a great place for using as a base to visit surrounding areas and the front desk staff are very helpful in arranging whatever tour takes your fancy, if they can’t arrange it themselves they know someone who can. Before we left home, I had a couple of questions, so I emailed the resort General Manager Remesh Kumar, My questions were answered very quickly and concise. All the staff remembered by face and some by name, were all very helpful and really friendly. They are a credit to the management team and the hotel. I would highly recommend a stay at the resort, it’s a great place to relax and it also seems a place where some couples go for their honeymoon. In a word, Fantastic. Thank you for a great stay.

Room Tip: Just relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keith54_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isoladicoccopuvar, General Manager at Isola Di Cocco Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Mr.Keith,

Greetings from Isola Di Cocco!!!

Thank you so much for posting such a lovely comment. Its really a pleasure reading your letter of appreciation & the entire team can derive great energy from it. Its always a pleasure to have guests like you in our resort & our staff members as you rightly said are still remembering you both very fondly( especially Boatman Babu & Samson from the restaurant).

Happy to know that you are already checking the prices for your next stay with us & we welcome you both from the depth of our heart.

warm regards

Remesh & Team Isola Di Cocco
9567776661
gm@isoladicocco.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puvar
0.1 mi away
Estuary Island
Estuary Island
#3 of 3 in Puvar
724 reviews
9.0 mi away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#5 of 52 in Kovalam
1,015 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Travancore Heritage Beach Resort
The Travancore Heritage Beach Re...
#12 of 98 in Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum)
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
The Leela Kovalam Beach
9.7 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
0.2 mi away
Poovar Island Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isola Di Cocco Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isola Di Cocco Beach Resort

Address: Poovar P.O,Trivandrum | Kerala, Puvar 695525, India
Region: India > Kerala > Puvar
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Puvar
Price Range: £60 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Isola Di Cocco Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
("The Island of Coconuts"), a unique heritage resort cosseted by a coconut grove, residing on the banks of the river Poovar, at the juncture where the tranquil river embraces the roaring Arabian sea!. The resort is virtually encircled by water. Here nature offers you her bountiful best - a riverbank, a beach, lakes, ponds and backwaters. Look out from the resort , and you see the river beyond which is the delightful private beach and yonder, the sea. If you dream of relaxing in a heritage room or lying on the beach, lulled by the sound of waves and the rustling of palm fronds stirred by tropical trade winds, then Isola Di Cocco is just right for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Southall Travel, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Isola Di Cocco Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Isola Di Cocco Beach Hotel Puvar
Isola Di Cocco Beach Resort Kerala, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing