We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unbelievable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Sweimah
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“unbelievable”
Reviewed 2 June 2011

An enormous,sprawling hotel perched on the banks of the Dead Sea. We were upgraded to a junior suite-fantastic, a free mini bar was also a nice touch. The meals were exquisite.The reception area was vast and spacious unlike so many other hotels in the middle east,the staff were fantastic as well.
All in all a great stay and would heartily recommend a stay here if you in Jordan.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dpk58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,661
    491
    222
    104
    101
See reviews for
612
1,018
129
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
amman
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

i love this hotel. if you like luxury you will like this hotel too ,for me i f i could i would live in it..
the room was spacious...well divided there's like a semi-seperate part for grooming (mirror+bureau) beside a big closet with a safe. the bathroom is very roomy, having a shower and a separated toilet with a glass door, a large tub.
our room opened on a pool..the view was nice..
breakfast is very good ,but don't expect to eat ham or bacon:( pork is not allowed for religious reasons ,,dinner is the only thing that was not good,, you will not like the food variety..staff were professional. ah i nearly forgot the spa .. it was heaven on earth,, it even had a small pool with dead sea water... very much recommended:)

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pariscarver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
554 reviews
228 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 437 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

The overall rating score I use is that if its 58 hotel and 5* pricing its got to be really good to get a good rating whereas if it was a travlelodge for the night if its clean, comfortable and cheap then it earns its 4 rating. So on that basis a hotel charging £200 a night should be very good. With this hotel, touted as 5* and priced accordingly, the building, grounds, pools and rooms are all 5* standard and first impressions are ‘wow very nice hotel’. However, it then took 25 mins at check in due to a queue. And passing through reception on occasions a queue was not unusual. We were then allocated a room 37xx, I can’t remember the last two numbers but this is block three floor seven. All rooms on that floor have the electricity generator plant on the roof above them. The noise is ridiculous. How any hotel with the reputation that the Kempinski chain claims for itself even attempts to let such rooms is ridiculous. If they let these for maybe $100 a night with a noise warning and you get to use their facilities anyway then perhaps, but as normal rooms no way. We refused the room and were moved to a suite. The suite was very well furnished and of a large size, bedroom area, seating area, nice balcony sitting area outside, and did live up to the 5* billing.
Their staff service at the ‘beach’ was also poor. I can’t ever recall being offered a drink in two days. Plenty of employees offering their services for a black mud massage for a few dinar tip but no real service. Buffett dinner was 40JD per person with service and tax, yes $65 for a self service buffet without drinks. Not worth it. But their dinner at the lowest pool for which you had to book a table, has a very good chef, excellent waiter service and actually was a redeeming factor. The bill including wine being less than the buffet cost. Breakfast was also buffet, a good choice of food but not any different to a normal 3 star hotel with service in clearing away etc. The dead sea beach was fun with buckets of mud to cover yourselves and either wet or after baking dry in the sun you can have a dip in the sea to clean it off before showering on the beach, good fun. Overall a quite luxurious place for a relaxing few days by the Dead Sea but their overall service didn’t live up to the price.

Room Tip: do not stay in block three floor seven
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KS&HC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Gorgeous facility, staff most delightful and attentive. We have friends in Amman who have been to the other nearby resorts and said they were all the same. When they got here they were blown away. Do not miss this place!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pwwarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

I stayed at Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea for one night on april 16 with a friend of mine. this was the best hotel i stayed in for a long time. the reception staff are wonderful they great when you arrive with a drink and a wet towel. the process is fast with a big welcoming smile. the rooms are exellent comfy and big with a balcony over looking the poolssss (many pools) and the sea. the restaurant staff are very nice. ath the pools and the sea you will feed people who will help you sit give you towls and shades if you need . they will give free water . they will even pass by to clean your glasses. I forgot the free mini bar. the dead sea exprience is fantastic. the staff will help you swim (float) it is very difficule at the start. Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea is best in the east and the west.

Room Tip: all rooms with a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ali_o_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

In a few words..
Great luxury hotel, with access and great views to the Dead Sea, three amazing pools, very good food, excellent buffet breakfast, high standard rooms, one of the best Middle East spas.
So if you want a couple of days to relax in a very nice environment that's your place!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vrasidakos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

This hotel is surely the best hotel in the area, although the price might reflect this.

Good points:
1- main swimming pool ......no kids allowed!!!!
2- They have, however, 2 or 3 swimming pool for kids.
3- Great service with great hospitality
4- VERY clean facilities

Bad points:
1- The Italian restaurant is hard to book (try the ice cream in there, its just amazing)
2- The prices of food and drinks in the hotel are on the expensive side - Cheese sandwich with some fried for 20JD's/£16!!!

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Komay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sweimah
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
2.5 mi away
No photo provided
0.2 mi away
Dead Sea Spa Hotel
Dead Sea Spa Hotel
#8 of 9 in Sweimah
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Ramada Resort Dead Sea
Ramada Resort Dead Sea
#7 of 9 in Sweimah
481 reviews
7.5 mi away
No photo provided
Ma'In Hot Springs
#1 of 1 in Ma'in
665 reviews
24.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Amman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea

Property: Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea
Address: Dead Sea Road | Dead Sea, Sweimah 11194, Jordan
Phone Number:
Region: Jordan > Dead Sea Region > Sweimah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Sweimah
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sweimah
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sweimah
#1 Business Hotel in Sweimah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea 5*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kempinski Hotel Ishtar gives you the opportunity to enjoy its riches where Queen of Sheba and Cleopatra once strived to unravel mystery. Situated gracefully on the shores of the largest spa in the world the Dead Sea, unique for its ozone-rich air, mineral sea water and ultra-violet filtered sunshine. Surely there is no region on earth where nature and history have more wonderfully conspired, where so exciting drama has obtained a so beautiful theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HRS and getaroom.com so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Amman
Kempinski Hotel Ishtar Dead Sea Jordan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing